BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION & NEWSPAPER ARTICLES
The Chester Pollitts are honored on anniversary in Leesburg, Fla. —
Mr. and Mrs. Chester Pollitt, of Rectorville, were delightfully surprised with a 50th anniversary party arranged in their honor in Leesburg, Fla.
The couple’s daughter, Mrs. John (Joy) Brown, of Cincinnati, had preceded the couple to Florida to make arrangements for the celebration.
Arriving for the weekend were the Pollitts’ other two children, Bobby and Gary Pollitt, their wives and Bobby’s grandson, Amos.
Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt decided to take their family to dinner [and] as they were leaving a 1931 sport roadster Ford arrived at their door. The chauffeur then drove them to the Taste Tempter, the setting for the gala family affair.
John Brown, the couple’s son-in-law, had made arrangements for the car.
Welcoming the couple at the restaurant were 30 couples who included a number of Florida friends and their children.
A floral centerpiece of 50 red roses sentineled by candles was on the serving table. At one end was a beautifully decorated wedding cake and at the other a punch bowl.
Chester Pollitt, son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Pollitt, and Ida Frances Boggs, daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. John Boggs were married Feb. 27, 1935 at the Central United Methodist Church in Maysville by the Rev. Jordan.
Mr. Pollitt was employed for 17 years at the Wald Manufacturing Company and the couple later moved to Georgetown, Ky., where he was employed for 14 years at the Steohn Company.
Mrs. Pollitt was a driver for the Mason County School System for a number of years and was also a nurse aide at the Hayswood Hospital and at the Georgetown Hospital.
Both retired now, the couple spends the winter months in Florida fishing and their summer months at their home in Rectorville. Rounding out the family circle in addition to their three children are 11 grandchildren and eight great-grandchildren.
Calling to wish them well on their anniversary was their nephew, Billy Boggs, and family.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., dated unknown ; see record #600-P.)
Clarys have their sixty-sixth anniversary —
Sixty-six years ago twenty-year-old John Monroe Clary claimed nineteen-year-old Annabel Bullock as his bride. The newlyweds ‘set up’ housekeeping at Mt. Carmel in the home where he was born and the couple have lived there ever since.
The Clarys were married on Dec. 22, 1909 in the parlor of Maysville’s St. Charles Hotel with the Rev. Roger Clark officiating.
Clary is the son of the late George W. and Matilda Ferguson Clary. His wife is the daughter of the late Robert G. and Virginia Coryell Bullock.
Both Mr. and Mrs. Clary are devoted members of the Mt. Carmel Christian Church where they have faithfully served in various capacities since they were married. For more than 30 years, he was superintendent of the Sunday School and for many years he also has served as an elder.
The Clarys are parents of seven living children. They are William, George R., Mrs. Eugene (Kate) Hamilton, Mrs. Minor (Mary) Wikoff, all of Cincinnati, Mrs. Hargis (Alice) Foxworthy, Ralph and Mrs. Howard (Anna Matt) Pollitt, all of Mt. Carmel.
Another son, John Monroe Clary, Jr., died several years ago in Baltimore, Md.
In addition, they have 34 grandchildren, 39 great-grandchildren and one great-great-grandchild.
The many friends will offer Mr. and Mrs. Clary their most cordial congratulations upon attaining this milestone.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Monday, December 22, 1975, pp. 4-B; see record #600-P.)
The Howard Pollitts having open house —
To celebrate the golden anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. Howard D. Pollitt, their children and grandchildren will host an open house from 2 to 4 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 25 at the Unity Baptist Church on Elizaville Road in Fleming County.
The Pollitts were married Dec. 1, 1939 by the Rev. Paul Gillespie at the Methodist Church parsonage in Flemingsburg.
The Pollitts have five children: Billy Pollitt, of Mt. Carmel; Mrs. Hubert (Ann) Six, of Port St. Joe, Florida; Donnie Pollitt, of Ewing; Mrs. Butch (Linda) Tackett, of Lexington, and Caleb Pollitt, of North Augusta, South Carolina.
The couple has six grandchildren.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Monday, November 20, 1989, pp. 11; see record #600-P.)
Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt To Celebrate 40th Anniversary —
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Pollitt will celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary with a reception given by their children from 2:00 to 5:00 p.m. Sunday, September 6th at 252 Winchester Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt were married September 6, 1947.
They have six children: Jackie and Terry Pollitt of Paris; Mrs. Billy (Bonnie) Jolly of Paris, Mrs. Ira (Penney) Fletcher of Booneville, Ky., Danny Pollitt of Germany; and Keith Pollitt (deceased); and four grandchildren.
All friends and relatives are invited to attend.
(From the Bourbon County Citizen, Paris, Bourbon County, Ky., September 3, 1987; see record #611-P.)
Pollitt is named company president —
Leland Allen Pollitt, formerly of Maysville, has been appointed President of Consolidated Rutile Limited, Inc. (U.S.A.) and South East Tisand.
C.R.L. is an Australian-based mining company and South East Tisand is a joint venture between C.R.L. and Becker Minerals of South Carolina. South East Tisand will be mining titanium in southern Virginia and northern North Carolina.
A graduate of Maysville High School and the University of Kentucky, Mr. Pollitt was employed as Assistant to the Vice President of Mining at ASARCO, Inc. in New York City before accepting the position with C.R.L.
He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Leeland A. Pollitt, of Maysville, and is married to the former Ann Morton Moore, also a native of Maysville. They reside in Roanoke Rapids, N. C. with their 16-year-old daughter, Frances Ann Lee.
They have two other children, Leland Allen Pollitt III, who is Area Human Resources Manager for Red Kap Industries of Nashville, Tenn. and Clark Moore Pollitt, a third year medical student at James H. Quillen College of Medicine at East Tennessee State University in Johnson City.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Thursday, June 13, 1991, pp. 3B; see record #600-P.)
Orville P. Pollitt (taken from Johnson’s History of Kentucky and Kentuckians), the present popular and efficient incumbent of the office of county clerk of Lewis County, Ky., is now serving his fourth term in office, and in discharging the duties thereto is acquitting himself with all of honor and distinction. Mr. Pollitt was born at Portsmouth, O., on the 18th of September, 1871, and he is a son of James and Lucy C. (Parker) Pollitt, both natives of Lewis County and both members of old Kentucky families. Alexander H. Pollitt, paternal grandfather of the subject of this review, was born and reared in Maryland, whence he came, with his parents, to Lewis County in an early day, location being made on a farm. James Pollitt studied law as a youth, and became an eminent practitioner of his profession in Lewis County and in Portsmouth, O. He was summoned to the life eternal at the age of forty-seven, his death having occurred at Portsmouth, in 1885. He served as judge of Lewis County for several terms immediately after the close of the Civil War, and was very prominent in public affairs during his lifetime. His widow, who still survives him, now maintains her home at Vanceburg. Mr. and Mrs. James Pollitt became the parents of two children, of whom Orville P. is the only one living in 1911.
Mr. Pollitt of this review was a lad of but fourteen years of age at the time of his father’s death. He was reared to maturity at Portsmouth, his education consisting of such advantages as were afforded in the public schools of that place. He also attended school at Vanceburg, and after leaving school he worked on a farm for a short time. In 1888 he was appointed deputy clerk of Lewis County, remaining in tenure of that office until the fall of 1897, at which time he was elected county clerk, of which latter office he has continued incumbent during the intervening years to the present time, this being his fourth term in office. His administration has been characterized by good judgment, and staunch devotion to the duties at hand, and it is worthy of note here that in the last election he met with no opposition in either the primaries or in the election proper.
In politics Mr. Pollitt is a staunch advocate of the principles and policies for which the Republican party stands sponsor, and he has ever been an ardent supporter of all measures and enterprises projected for the good of the community. In a fraternal way he is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Junior Order of the United American Mechanics. In his religious faith Mr. Pollitt is a devout member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is unmarried.
(Reprinted from the History of Lewis County, Kentucky, by Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1911, pp. 404-405; see record #901P.)
R. C. Pollitt was born at Rectorville, Mason County, Ky., May 10, 1869. He was raised on a farm until he reached the age of twenty, when he went into the music business in Maysville. After staying there six months he went to Ripley, O., and followed the same business for three years. He then went to Muncie, Ind., and remained the same length of time before coming to Vanceburg, in 1894. He has since made his headquarters here, and has sold a large number of pianos and organs in Lewis County and adjoining counties.
(Reprinted from the History of Lewis County, Kentucky, by Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1911, pp. 447; see record #901P.)
Samuel Pollitt was born at Tollesboro, this county, in 1862, and spent his early life on the farm. At the age of seventeen had commenced to drive teams, and has been associated with the horse business ever since. At the age of twenty he commenced to drive an omnibus between Tollesboro and Maysville, which occupation he followed fifteen years, having been in the same business between Germantown and Maysville for three years of this time. While in this business Mr. Pollitt made hundreds of friends, who will forget him only after they have answered the last roll call. In 1898 he came to Vanceburg and has since been closely identified with its business interests, and has conducted his business in such a manner that he enjoys the respect and esteem of all who know him. Since coming to Vanceburg he has been honored by election as school trustee and city councilman, and many other offices in the gift of the people of Vanceburg.
(Reprinted from the History of Lewis County, Kentucky, by Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1911, pp. 441-442; see record #901P.)
Native Son Addresses Orangeburg Graduates —
Gurney Bane Comes ‘Home’ With Message —
Commencement Advice To 29 Member Class Is: Get A College Education —
Orangeburg High School’s 34th graduating class last night had its commencement address from a ‘home grown’ speaker. He was Gurney O. Bane, of Austell. Ga., an attorney with the Southern Railway at Atlanta, Ga., since 1920.
Discussing ‘The Outlook Of Our Present Youth,’ Mr. Bane spoke within a stone’s throw of his parental rooftree for it was at Orangeburg that he was born 58 years ago a week from next Sunday to Dr. G. H. Bane, a country doctor, and Lillian Pollitt Bane.
The scene last night was much the same as it had been that June night 46 years ago when the speaker received his certificate of promotion from the Orangeburg grade school. Missing from the sea of faces were those of his beloved parents but he was still in the bosom of his family. In the audience were his wife, the former Elizabeth Allen, of Cincinnati; his sister, Miss Mildred Bane, mathematics and science teacher at Washington Junior High School; his brother, Elmo Bane, and his sister-in-law, Mrs. Elmo Bane, the home economics teacher at Orangeburg.
Prefacing an appeal to the 29 graduates to extend their frontiers of knowledge, Mr. Bane outlined the present day demands of business, finance, industry and farming.
‘The question today,’ declared the speaker, ‘is not can I afford a college education, but rather can I afford not to get a college education?’
Representing education as a bulwark of security, Mr. Bane emphasized that ‘to make our government better, youth must begin an early participation in civic and political matters.’
The thought he left with the Class of ‘58 was that ‘education does not cease with graduation.’
Charles A. Browning, principal at Orangeburg, introduced the speaker, whose high school work was done at Berea College Academy and who received his Ll.B. degree from Cincinnati YMCA Law School. Mr. Bane, with the L. & N. railway company for two years before going with Southern, is president of the Cobb county (Ga.) Methodist Men, chairman of the Cobb County Planning and Zoning Commission, a past president of the South Cobb Lions Club, and a 32nd degree Mason.
(From the Public Ledger, Maysville, Ky., Tuesday, June 3, 1958, pp. 1, 3; see record #600-P.)
Pollitt and McNutt betrothal announced —
Mrs. Linda Pollitt, of Aberdeen, is announcing the engagement of her daughter, Jeanna Renea, to John McNutt, son of Mr. and Mrs. Joe McNutt Jr., also of Maysville. Miss Pollitt is also the daughter of the late Carl Pollitt, Sr.
Miss Pollitt is a 1991 graduate of Mason County High School and is presently employed at Kroger of Maysville.
Her fiance, a 1979 graduate of Mason County High School, is employed with his father in McNutt’s Plumbing and Heating.
A July wedding is being planned.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Saturday, December 12, 1992, pp. 8B; see record #600-P.)
Bryant-Pollitt engagement told —
Josiah Bryant of Florence announces the engagement of his daughter, Cherri Lynn, to Winford Pollitt, son of Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Pollitt of Mt. Carmel.
Miss Bryant is a 1978 graduate of Boone County High School and is employed at J. B. Spring of Cincinnati.
Pollitt is a 1978 graduate of Fleming County High School and is employed at Browning Mfg., Division Emerson Electric Co.
The wedding is planned for May of 1982.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Tuesday, March 12, 1981, pp. 10; see record #600-P.)
Writing from the home of her sister, Mrs. James H. Craig, (Dorothy Pollitt) in Tampa Fla. on Feb. 20, 1973, Mrs. Mabel Pollitt Adams, says: Today is the anniversary of the birth of our father Samuel Pollitt, born on a farm near Tollesboro Feb. 20, 1862 — 111 years ago. Naturally our minds have been much taken up with the details of his life in Lewis County and with reminiscences of our beloved mother Ella Clark Pollitt, born in the same year but eight months later on a farm near Clarksburg.
We, their four daughters, have spent the day together at the home of Dorothy Pollitt Craig in Tampa. We were joined by Dorothy’s daughter, Mrs. Maurice Burriss Elmore, of Arcadia, Fla. and were in contact with our brother Samuel Pollitt, Jr. of Louisville.
All of us are thankful that there is good report from your valuable co-worker Miss Bernice Willim.
Best wishes to our friends in Vanceburg and Lewis County — and congratulations to Wm. C. Dugan for a remarkable publication.
Mrs. J. B. Lykins (Ollie) Mrs. F. L. Adams (Mabel) Mrs. Jas. H. Craig (Doroothy [sic])
Mrs. Leslie T. Miller (Martha)
Ed: Thanks a million, dear friends, but we sometimes feel that your encomiums are undeserved.
(From an unidentified and undated newspaper clipping (probably a Vanceburg, Ky., paper — the Herald ?; see record #699-P; cross-ref. with article on Robert Pollitt.)
Inquiry From California —
Was reading the article on Mr. ASamuel [?] Pollitt a few weeks ago in the Herald. While visiting in Kentucky this past summer .We brought a antique organ and on the front it is printed made for R. C. Pollitt, Vanceburg, Ky. by Stanton Organ Co., Repaired by Paul Davis 5-14-1914. It had quite a bit of sand in the back. We were wondering if it had been in the 1913 flood. We would like to know a little more of its history. Also wonder if it could have belonged to this Mr. Pollitt family in the article.
Yours Truly, Mrs. Edward Cales (Ruth Dickerson of Garrison), 626 N. Quince, Upland, California 91786.
The organ was made for Robert Pollitt, a piano and argan [sic] dealer who was in business here until 1915 or 1915[?]. He moved somewhere in Illinois, and I think was a distant relative to Samuel Pollitt, Sr. referred to in the Herald article. He undoubtedly sold the organ to a costomer [sic], whose identity is unknown, and it might have been in the 1913 flood, although I would think any sand you speak of would have been removed when it was cleaned and repaired in 1914.
Perhaps some reader can throw some light on the matter.
(From an unidentified and undated newspaper clipping – probably a Vanceburg, Ky., paper — the Herald ? – see record #699-P; cross-ref. with article on Samuel Pollitt dated approx. Feb. 20, 1973. Original clipping found among the genealogical papers of J. J. Pollitt — inscribed on which was the following message, apparently from Mr. Bayard McCann, a member of the Olivet Methodist Church with JJP:
Jay, I remember Robt. Pollitt — Mother Bought organ for Naomi — Later Bought her Piano. Robert and Mother were good friends. Mother would say ‘Robert I am not going to buy organ until I get the money’ — Later she bought organ & [two unintelligible words] — Then He wanted Naomi to have a piano. Mother would tell Robt the same ‘not until get the money.’ He would eat dinner with us sometimes. — see record #812-P.)
Pollitt and Eubanks marriage announced —
Miss Tracy Lee Reese Pollitt, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Donnie Pollitt, of Ewing, became the June bride of Leonard Allen Eubanks II. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Eubanks, of Bald Hill, and Mrs. Roberta Eubanks, of Flemingsburg.
The wedding was impressively solemnized on June 18 in the Unity Baptist Church in Flemingsburg. Rev. Charles Walton heard the repetition of vows during which two rings were blessed and exchanged.
A program of traditional wedding selections was presented by the pianist, Mrs. Helen Fern, of Flemingsburg. Vocal soloists were Mrs. Jan Walton, of Flemingsburg; Miss Heather Pollitt, of McMinnville, Tenn., cousin of the bride, and Robbie Vice, of Flemingsburg. Hayes Gozzard, of Morehead, was the saxophonist.
Mrs. Jennifer Walton, of Lexington, was her sister’s matron of honor and bridesmaids were Miss Angie Christman, of Flemingsburg; Miss Kellie Culver, of Harrodsburg, Ky.; Miss Melissa Saunders, of Hillsboro, and Mrs. Oneida Souder, of Poplar Plains.
The junior bridesmaid was Miss Nicole Marrs, of Flemingsburg, niece of the bridegroom. Flower girls were little Miss Kasey Allen, of Dayton, Ohio, cousin of the bride, and little Miss Jessica Whitlock, of Cattletsburg, Ky. The ring bearers were Master Brent Allen, of Dayton, Ohio, a cousin of the central figure, and Master Carl Durham, of Flemingsburg, nephew of the bridegroom.
Leonard Eubanks served his son as best man and groomsmen were Will Kitchen, of Bald Hill; Larry Purcell, of Flemingsburg, and Rick Souder, of Poplar Plains. Josh Marrs, of Flemingsburg, nephew of the bridegroom, was the junior groomsman.
Presiding at the guest register was Mrs. Julie Doyle, of Ewing. Miss Kristel Clayville, of Frankfort, cousin of the bride, was the program attendant and the wedding coordinator was Mrs. Donna Royse, of Flemingsburg.
A reception followed at the RECC Auditorium. The three tiered wedding cake was decorated with fresh flowers and violet and silver bows. Assisting with the amenities of the occasion were Mrs. Betty Muse and Mrs. Terry Lang, both of Maysville, and Mrs. Geneva Gooding and Mrs. Jan Walton, both of Flemingsburg.
The bride is a graduate of Fleming County High School and Morehead State University. She is a member of Delta Zeta sorority and is employed at Emerson Power Transmission in Maysville. She is the granddaughter of Mr. and Mrs. Howard Pollitt, of Flemingsburg, and the late Mr. and Mrs. Olin Clayville.
Her bridegroom, a graduate of Fleming County High School, is a sergeant in the Carlisle National Guard and is employed at Emerson Power Transmission in Maysville. He is the grandson of Mrs. Ruth Fulton, of Hillsboro, and the late Alex Fulton, and Mrs. Ausel Eubanks, of Flemingsburg, and the late Clifton Eubanks.
After a wedding trip to Lake Erie, the couple has established residence in Flemingsburg.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Friday, September 23, 1994, pp. C1; see record #600-P.)
Nancy Welch, Albert Pope Married At Welch Residence —
Miss Nancy Welch and Albert Pope were married Saturday, July 7 at the home of the bride’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. James Welch, Harlan. Mr. Pope is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Roy M. Pope, Sr., also of Harlan.
The Rev. J. H. Burton performed the single ring ceremony. Vows were solemnized before an improvised altar with the families attending. Yellow and white daisies and yellow roses were used throughout the house.
Edward L. Cawood, pianist, presented appropriate wedding music.
Given in marriage by her father, the bride wore a parchment color street length dress of bone chiffon and carried a bouquet of daisies and roses tied with yellow ribbons.
Junior attendants were Ashley Welch, Brentwood, Tenn., and Lee Lovello, Lexington, nieces of the bride. They wore blue checked cotton dresses and carried nosegays of daisies.
Hansel Groos, Harlan, was best man.
Mrs. Welch, mother of the bride, chose a dress of raspberry silk with matching accessories. Both mothers wore corsages of daisies and roses.
The bride’s parents hosted a reception at the home after the ceremony. Special music was presented by Tony Lovello, accordionist.
The serving table was covered with linen and lace and centered with a huge bowl of shrimp flanked by double candelabrum.
The bride’s table held a three-tiered wedding cake decorated with green, white and yellow.
Guests were greeted by Mrs. Paul Emory. Mary Margaret Howard was at the guest book. Presiding at the punch bowl were Mrs. Bill Gene Cudd and Mrs. Woolford D. Sellers. They were assisted by Mrs. Paul Howard, Mrs. Eugene Cawood, Mrs. Tim Goss, Mrs. George Whitfield and Mrs. Bert Ed Pollitte.
A dinner was held Friday night for the couple and wedding party at the home of Hansel Groos.
Both Mr. and Mrs. Pope are graduates of Harlan High School. Mrs. Pope received degrees at the University of Tennessee and the masters from Union College. She is employed by the Harlan Independent School Board.
Mr. Pope is a graduate of Mercer School of Pharmacy, Atlanta, and is associated with Green-Mill Pharmacy, Harlan.
After a wedding trip to Florida the couple will live on Second Street in Harlan.
Out of town guests were Mr. and Mrs. Tony Lovello and Lee, Lexington; Mr. and Mrs. Charles Welch and Ashley, Brentwood, Tenn.; M. G. Smith, Nashville; Miss Evelyn Welch, Mr. and Mrs. Ed L. Welch, Mr. and Mrs. Harold Johnson, Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Johnson, Mrs. Fred Loving, Mrs. Joe Congleton, Mrs. D. Carpenter, Knoxville; Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Welch, Salisburg, N. C.
Mr. and Mrs. Ray C. Pope and Marilyn, Johnson City; Mr. and Mrs. Sherril Kyker, Newport, Tenn.; Mr. and Mrs. Frank Gravins and daughters, Noel, Nichole and Danielle, Mr. and Mrs. Robert C. Pope, Lexington; Mrs. Fred Blair and daughters, Jodi and Jill, West Chester, Ohio; and Mr. and Mrs. Harold Cudd and children, D. J. and Pope, of Knoxville.
(From the Harlan Daily Enterprise, Harlan, Ky., July 21, 1979; see record #609-P.)
Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Pollitt —
Mr. & Mrs. Pollitt To Celebrate 50th Anniversary —
Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Pollitt will celebrate their golden wedding anniversary on March 15, 1992 from 2:00 - 4:00 p.m. at the Foxport Baptist Church in Foxport, Ky.
Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt were married on March 18, 1942, in Maysville by Bro. King, Methodist Church Minister. Mr. and Mrs. Carl Grigsby, brother-in-law and sister of the bridegroom were their attendants. They are the parents of three children: Mr. Harold Pollitt, Flemingsburg, Winford Pollitt, Maysville and Jane Shindlebower, Flemingsburg; and 5 grandchildren and 2 great grandchildren.
Mrs. Pollitt, the former Mae Clark, is the daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Harry C. Clark of Mt. Carmel. Mr. Pollitt is the son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Winford Pollitt of Mt. Carmel.
All family and friends are invited to celebrate their anniversary/reception given by their children and grandchildren. The couple request no gifts.
(From an unidentified Fleming County, Ky., newspaper; undated; see record #699-P).
Lewis County Man Held On Charge of Shooting Brother —
Brooks Pollitt In Vanceburg Jail For First Degree Murder — Ill Feeling Existed Between Brothers Over Girl — Claims Self-Defense —
Brooks Pollitt, 18, of near Burtonville, was in the Lewis county jail at Vanceburg last night charged with the first degree murder of his brother, Clifford, 22, in what officers said was a fight over a girl.
At a court of inquiry conducted by Judge J. F. McGill at Vanceburg yesterday afternoon, Brooks was held to the grand jury without bond and lodged in jail.
Witnesses at the inquiry testified that Brooks had made several threats to get his brother and that they lived in separate homes. Clifford lived with a cousin in Fleming county, 4 miles from his brother, and arrived in Burtonville shortly before the fatal shooting.
Brooks, authorities said, claimed he shot Clifford when the latter attacked him with a razor. However, eye witnesses to the affair, testified that Clifford did not attack Brooks and that the razor fell from his pocket after the man fell mortally wounded.
The brothers were reported as being in love with Bertha Ginn, 17, of Burtonville, and ill feeling had existed between the two for some months.
The court appointed Attorney Diamond to represent young Pollitt, who made his first trip to Vanceburg when arrested by Lewis authorities following the slaying.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., Tuesday, May 9, 1933; see record #600-P.)
Vanda Melissa Barnes, daughter of Mrs. Nancy Barnes, Sizerock, Leslie County, Ky., and the late Bige Barnes, became the bride October 8th of James Redmond Columbia, son of Mrs. Sandra Pollitte Columbia Moss, of Mason County, Ky., and Mr. Robert E. Columbia, of Frankfort.
The double ring ceremony was performed at 6 p.m. at Shaker Landing, on the Kentucky River near the Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill, in Mercer County. District Judge Renee´ H. Muncy of Kentucky’s 41st Judicial District (Clay, Jackson and Leslie Counties) officiated.
The matron of honor was Mrs. Beverly Barnes Campbell, of Columbus, Ind., sister of the bride. The bridesmaid was Miss Denise Campbell, of New Albany, Ind., niece of the bride.
Mr. Roy Hutchison, of Louisville, served as the best man, and groomsman was Mr. Rodman L. Hughes, Raleigh, N.C., cousin of the bridegroom.
The bride was given in marriage by her brothers, Mr. Harold M. Barnes and Mr. Phillip M. Barnes, both of Columbus, Ind.
Assisting with the wedding were Mrs. Margaret Barnes and Mrs. Linda Barnes, of Columbus, Ind., sisters-in-law of the bride, and Ms. Clara Faye Barnes, of Sizerock, sister of the bride; Mrs. Dana Workman and Mrs. Laura Reed, of Maysville, Ky., and Ms. Cathy Columbia, of Frankfort, sisters of the groom; and Mr. James Moss, of Mason County, and Mrs. Elnora Columbia, of Frankfort, step-parents of the groom.
Immediately following the ceremony a reception cruise was held aboard the sternwheeler Dixie Belle. A one and one-half hour excursion included a ride through the scenic Kentucky River Palisades and under the Southern Railway High Bridge, which towers 308 feet above the river.
A focal point for the occasion was a basket-weave buttermilk wedding cake, from an old Kentucky recipe. Guests were served a reception dinner in individual mahogany or walnut lathe baskets.
Dried floral arrangements were a gift from Mrs. Beverly Barnes Campbell, the bride’s sister. Classical, Big-Band and contemporary music was selected and recorded for the event by the bride and the groom.
Several parties and showers were held to honor the couple. On September 10th, a bridal shower hosted by the Hon. Renee´ Muncy, Robin Barnes Lewis, the bride’s cousin, and Mrs. Aline Sizemore was held at the Leslie County Courthouse in Hyden. A luncheon on September 12th was hosted by the bride’s co-workers at the Jackson County Courthouse in McKee. Another bridal shower hosted by her co-workers was held in Manchester at the Clay County Courthouse on September 15th.
On September 27th, the groom’s family entertained with a small gathering at the home of Sandra and James Moss in Washington, Mason Co., Ky.
On the eve of the wedding a rehearsal dinner, hosted by the groom’s family, was held at the Beaumont Inn in Harrodsburg.
The bride is a graduate of Oneida Baptist Institute, Clay County, Ky., and Morehead State University. She is employed by the Kentucky Administrative Office of the Courts. The new Mrs. Columbia is the granddaughter of Mrs. Mary Barnes, of Sizerock, and the late Mr. John H. Barnes, and Mrs. Martha Bowling, of Hamilton, Ohio, and the late Beverly Pryor Bowling.
The groom is a graduate of Mason County High School, Maysville Community College, and the University of Kentucky. He is also employed by the Kentucky Court of Justice. Mr. Columbia is the grandson of Mr. Eugene R. Columbia, of Wilmore, Ky., and the late Lottie Halfhill Columbia, and the late James J. and Jennie Jo Hughes Pollitte.
The couple departed Maysville on October 9th aboard the Amtrak Cardinal for a wedding trip to Washington, D.C., Annapolis, and the eastern shore of Maryland. They will reside on their historic family farm Windy Hill at 7053 Olivet Church Road, Maysville.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; see record #600-P.)
Harold Anstine MacAllen — The pioneer dealer in bottled gas on the Eastern Shore, Harold Anstine MacAllen has been in this business since 1931 on an ever-increasing scale, with headquarters at Princess Anne. Mr. MacAllen is active in community affairs and takes a keen interest in Eastern Shore politics. He is a member of the state central committee of the Democratic party, and was clerk of the board of election supervisors in Princess Anne.
Harold Anstine MacAllen was born in Somerset County on September 10, 1888, the son of George Upshur and Olivia (Bounds) MacAllen. His father, who is still active, has been a farmer and has engaged in the lumber and mill business and also served as judge of the orphan’s court.
After attending the local schools as far as the ninth grade, Mr. MacAllen worked in the lumber business until he was twenty. He then took up brick-laying and completed three years of apprenticeship, after which he served as foreman on apartment houses in Baltimore. During World War I, when the building of residential buildings was largely put aside for war construction, Mr. MacAllen was made superintendent of the Chemical Construction Company of Charlotte, North Carolina, and for several years he traveled about in the interests of this concern. In 1918 he lived in Toronto, Canada, where the concern put up a large structure, and from there he was transferred to Sheffield, Alabama, where a big nitrogen plant was erected near Muscle Shoals, which today is being used as a baking powder plant. In 1922 Mr. MacAllen returned to his home in Princess Anne to go into the barrel stave and barrel-making business with his father. They had a large plant about a mile out of Princess Anne.
It was in 1931 that Mr. MacAllen first entered the bottled gas business, the first to do so on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. In those pioneer days, he would travel up and down the shore in a trailer, showing the housewives what bottled gas could do to free her from her kitchen. The business prospered, and today, after seventeen years in the field, Mr. MacAllen is operating on a much larger scale than ever, covering the whole Delaware–Maryland–Virginia Peninsula.
Meantime he has become active in the Democratic party, and held office as clerk of the board of election supervisors, as well as being a member of the state central committee of the Democratic Club of Somerset County, a charter member of the Princess Anne Rotary Club and a member of the Lions Club. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Free and Accepted Masons and is a Past Master of his lodge. He is active in the Princess Anne Volunteer Fire Company. His religious ties are with the Methodist Church.
Harold Anstine MacAllen married on June 24, 1914, at Fruitland, Bessie Pollitt, the daughter of Levin Roland and Emma Caroline (Peyton) Pollitt. Bessie (Pollitt) MacAllen was born in Somerset County, and before her marriage she taught school. She is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution and has established eligibility to the Colonial Dames and the Daughters of 1812. Having engaged in genealogical work, the following account of her ancestry is based upon her records.
The Pollitt family came from England to Virginia in 1668, and immediately settled in Maryland, where the Pollitts have resided in and about Somerset County for almost three hundred years. They were all home loving people, devoted to their families, and they maintained large plantations. Pollitts served in all the wars. There were captains in both the Revolutionary and Civil wars, and they favored the South in the latter struggle. Levin Roland Pollitt, born November 8, 1851, in Worchester County, was the son of Josiah Morris and Amanda Pollitt.
Emma Peyton, the wife of Levin Roland Pollitt, was born December 28, 1855, the daughter of John and Ellen (Gilliss) Peyton. Her father was a lawyer, and he lies buried in Harrisonville, Cass County, Missouri. The Peyton ancestors were planters established near Roanoke, Virginia, being friends of the Washingtons, and John Peyton left his native Virginia at the time of the Gold Rush to eventually settle in the vicinity of Kansas City.
The Gilliss and Morris families were also pioneer settlers in Maryland and the proprietors of large plantations. The Gilliss family tree has above seven-hundred names, including that of Governor Levin Winder, of Maryland, and the Morris family is akin to that of Robert Morris, signer of the Declaration of Independence.
(From The Eastern Shore of Maryland and Virginia, Vol. 3, Lewis Publishing Co., 1950; page 309; see record # 904-P.)
Profile of Emmett Raymond Pollitt —
Emmett Pollitt was the first–born son of Ira & Lulu Pollitt, born August 4, 1899 in Brown Co., Oh. in a log cabin. [The] family lived in Russellville area until 1916 and moved to Springersville in Fayette Co., Indiana. Emmett and his father came to Indiana looking for a home for wife and six children. Four of the children were born in Indiana. They lived in other cities such as Hagerstown in Wayne Co. before buying land in Union Co. near to Philomath where Emmett and Martha Allen bought a home in that city. It was real estate Lot. No. 76 & 77 in Plat of town in Philomath, In., Union Co., dated Dec. 14, 1944.
Emmett & Martha Allen were married July 5, 1924 in Wayne Co., In. Martha [was the daughter of] Isaac & Rebecca Allen. To this union were born three children: Raymond, born July 10, 1925, Wayne Co.; Barbara Annis, May 5, 1932; Lois May 13, 1933. Barbara died shortly after birth.
Emmett’s occupations were varied from sheep shearing, truck hauling and general labor. His main income was when he started a grocery store in his home, and bought a large truck and became a traveling huckster wagon. By taking groceries to the housewife, she could trade him eggs and chickens for items she needed without leaving her home. He provided this service from 1935–1941. When the war began he purchased a store in Centerville and lived there till selling, and bought another store in Greensfork. He retired in 1948 and left for Daytona, Florida to live.
The remainder of his years were spent in retirement with his second wife, Mabel Turner of Maine. He died in Richmond, In., in Wayne Co., and is buried in Greensfork South Cemetery. Emmett was the very last and only huckster wagon to serve three different counties at one time (Wayne, Union, & Fayette).
He was a very small man in height but just like his parents. He was a meek, mild, gentle man, and never raised his voice in anger to anyone. He had a great love of automobiles and for many years you knew he was coming for his little blue ‘Henry J.’ Like the first of our line he was a true store owner and keeper.
(Written by Mrs. Lois Marie Pollitt Charles, the daughter of the subject, and contained in her genealogy research papers; see record #903-P.)
JAMES POLLITT was born in July 1798 in Maryland. His parents, Jonathan and Narcissa (Pollitt) Pollitt, were natives of Maryland. They moved to Fleming county, Ky., in 1809, and James married Mary Thomas July 21, 1822. She was born in Fauquier county, Va., March 16, 1802. They came to Fulton county in Sept., 1836, bringing a family of 6 children. James Pollitt died Feb. 14, 1875. The widow is living upon the old homestead with her son James. One son, George E., served in the 55th Inf. during the war for 3 years. Mr. Pollitt was a member of the Baptist Church, as is his widow.
(Reprinted from History of Fulton Co. [Illinois], printed in 1879; quoted from a letter dated May 6, 1984, from William Pollitt, of Ottumwa, Iowa, to Mrs. Lois Marie Pollitt Charles; see records #903-P & 906-P.)
ALVIN POLLITT, farmer, section 6, Liverpool township, is the son of James Pollitt, was born in Mason County, Ky., Oct. 3, 1825. He married Emily C. Estes Nov. 17, 1847. She was a daughter of Lewis and Ann (Farris) Estes, and was born in Franklin county, Ill., Nov. 6, 1831. They have 8 children: Oliver P., John A., James L., Alexander, Wm., Chas. H., Laura A., and Della Josephine. Mr. Pollitt has always taken a deep interest in educational matters and has been school director in District No. 1 for 12 years. He was almost the first advocate of free public schools in the District. He agitated the question and the benefit of building a school-house against great opposition from some, even threatening to shoot him. On being elected Director the first time, he immediately made a contract for and had built a school-house on his own land. It was made of hewn logs. It has since been abandoned and a fine frame erected. This District has a school fund of $4,000, the principal of which was secured from sale of lands.
(Reprinted from History of Fulton Co. [Illinois], published in 1879; quoted from a letter dated May 6, 1984, from William Pollitt, of Ottumwa, Iowa, to Mrs. Lois Marie Pollitt Charles; see records #903-P & 906-P.)
JAMES T. POLLITT — One of the oldest and most respected residents of Fulton county, Ill., who has spent nearly three score and ten years within its borders, and is still an honored occupant of the farm in Section 1, Liverpool Township, to which he was brought by his father in the pioneer days which tried men’s souls, was born in Lewis county, Ky., June 19, 1835. He is the son of James and Mary (Thomas) Pollitt, the former a native of Somerset County, Md., where he was born July 25, 1798, and the latter of Fauquier county, Va., where she was born March 16, 1802. The Pollitt family is of Scotch-Irish origin. Jonathan Pollitt, the grandfather, moved at an early period from Maryland to Lewis county, Ky., where he and his wife died. In the fall of 1835, James Pollitt journeyed with his family to Fulton county, Ill., and settled near the City of Lewistown. In 1837 he bought the farm where his son, James T., now lives, in section 1, Liverpool township, where he spent the remainder of his days, dying February 14, 1875, at the age of 76 years, his wife surviving him until May 20, 1880. They were both held in high esteem by their neighbors and acquaintances, and although James Pollitt was a blunt, outspoken man, he was thoroughly upright and equitable that he commanded the respect of young and old alike. He and his wife were the parents of the following children: Alexander H., who died at the age of 63 years; Alvin A., a farmer in East Liverpool Township; George and Jonathan, deceased; Mary, deceased wife of John Farris, also deceased; Francis M., who died in 1874; James T.; Sarah A., deceased, who was the wife of Wesly Brinegar, a resident of Canton, Ill.; Susan, who died in childbirth, with her infant son also dying; and Nancy A., wife of Martin Hughes, residing near Bridge Station, Fulton Co.
James T. Pollitt was an infant when his parents settled in Fulton Co. He was reared on the farm where he now lives, and received his education in the subscription school of the primitive settlement. His whole life has been devoted to farming in Liverpool Township, and in this pursuit his industrious habits, systematic methods and careful management have been productive of satisfactory results. On his farm of 165 acres his family have grown to manhood and womanhood, married, and moved to homes of their own. Mr. Pollitt still supervises the farming operations, and raises the best bred stock, including Norman horses, Shorthorn cattle, Poland-China hogs and a good grade of mules.
On June 25, 1874, Mr. Pollitt was united in marriage with Arilla Beckstead, a daughter of George Beckstead, a native of Canada, who was for some years connected with a packing house in Canton, Ill., and afterward moved to a farm in Liverpool Township, where he died. Mr. and Mrs. James T. Pollitt have had six children as follows: Harriet C., wife of Theodore Black, a farmer in Liverpool Township; one who died in infancy; James A., who married Martha Kendall, and died in 1896, leaving two sons – James T. and Jesse B.; Ambrose D., who later married his brother’s widow (Martha Kendall) and had five children – Arilla A., Polly K., Dorothy D., Goldie, and Hobart R.; Mary F., wife of James D. Raker, a farmer in Liverpool Township, who has four children – Ambrose, Hattie and Georgia (twins), and James Robert; Georgia (who died in infancy) and Benjamin E., who looks after the home farm. He is a member of Maples Mills Camp, No. 2027, M.W.A.
In politics, Mr. Pollitt has been a Republican, since the organization of that party. Originally he was a Whig, and cast his first presidential vote for Millard Fillmore. Since that period he has voted for the Republican candidates, State and National. He has always taken a deep interest in local affairs, warmly supporting church and school work, and has served as School Director. He has been identified with the development of Fulton County for 68 years and has been prominent in the advocacy of all measures inaugurated for the general welfare. In the wonderful transformation which has completely changed the face of nature in the region to which he was brought as an infant, he has borne a manly and faithful part, and is now reaping the reward of many toilsome seasons, conscious of duty done, and enjoying the good will of all who know him. His worthy and estimable wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
(Reprinted from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Vol. 2 [Fulton County], published in 1908; quoted from a letter dated May 6, 1984, from William Pollitt, of Ottumwa, Iowa, to Mrs. Lois Marie Pollitt Charles; see records #903-P & 906-7.)
OLIVER P. POLLITT — A very enterprising and prosperous farmer and stock-raiser, living in Section 14, Liverpool Township, Fulton Co., Ill., who is regarded as one of the prominent representatives of the agricultural element in Fulton Co., was born in Liverpool Township December 7, 1848. He is a son of Alvin and Emily (Estes) Pollitt, both of whom are living in the township named, where the former is engaged in farming. They became the parents of 9 children, a follows: Oliver P., Laura, wife of Abner Garrens, a farmer in Liverpool Township; John A., a farmer in the same township; James L., who lives in Pekin, Ill., Alexander, also farming in Liverpool Township; William, of Brereton, Fulton county; Charles, a farmer in Banner Township, Fulton Co.; Della J., wife of Oscar McGraw, of Canton, Ill.; and one who died in infancy.
Oliver P. Pollitt was reared to farm life, and received his education in the district schools of his neighborhood. He has always made Liverpool Township his home except for two years spent in Decatur county, Iowa. For several years he worked at farming by the month. After his marriage he located in the south-west part of the township, where he made his home until 1883, in that year moving to his present home of 80 acres. He now owns 320 acres in Section 14, and 80 acres in Sections 22 and 23, a total of 400 acres. On the home farm he keeps the best grades of horses, cattle and hogs, and, in general farming his intelligent, systematic and progressive operations are productive of the most satisfactory results. He is ranked among the notably successful and substantial farmers of Fulton county.
On April 9, 1876, Mr. Pollitt was united in marriage with Mary C. McElwee, who was born near Ripley, Brown County, Ohio, March 7, 1843. She is a daughter of George and Hannah (Bowman) McElwee, natives of that State, where her father was born in Adams county, and her mother in Brown county. The family settled in Fulton county in 1865, locating near the famous Depler Well, in Lewistown. In 1866 they sold that farm, and purchased a place in Putman Township, where Mrs. McElwee died March 9, 1883. After her death, her husband made his home with his daughter, Mrs. Pollitt, and died April 6, 1892. They were the parents of the following children: Mary C.; Elizabeth, who died at the age of 26; Lydia, who died when 15 years old; George, who died at the age of 37 years; Francis M., of Macon, Neb., who married Mrs. Nellie Randell; Minerva M., wife of Albert Roberts, of Canton, Ill.; Amanda, wife of Jacob Anderson, of Pacific Junction, Iowa; Hattie, deceased wife of John Lewis, who lives with their six children, in Oklahoma; and Benjamin F., a physician of Wilcox, Neb.
Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt are the parents of four children, namely: George A., born October 10, 1876, a farmer in Banner Township, Fulton Co.; Madge M., born October 14, 1880; James G., born December 28, 1884, who lives with his parents; and Herbert, who died in infancy. George A. married Eva M. Beckstead, and has had three children: Clifford B., Mary M., and one who died in infancy. Madge M. was married to Sherman Stockman March 7, 1900, and has three children – Orval C., born March 17, 1901; Oral C., July 18, 1902, and Hazel, April 24, 1906. For seventeen years, Mrs. Pollitt was a successful teacher in the schools of Ohio and Fulton county, and is a lady of culture and rare strength of character.
In politics, Mr. Pollitt is an earnest and influential Republican. He has held the office of Tax Collector for two years and that of Assessor for a like period, giving perfect satisfaction to his constituents in both positions. Fraternally he is affiliated with the A.F.&A.M., being a member of the Morning Star Lodge, No. 734, of Canton. Mr. Pollitt is a man of the highest character, and enjoys the sincere respect of a wide circle of acquaintances.
(Reprinted from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Vol. 2 [Fulton County], published in 1908; quoted from a letter dated May 6, 1984, from William Pollitt, of Ottumwa, Iowa, to Mrs. Lois Marie Pollitt Charles; see records #903-P & 906-7.)
My great-grandfather Timothy Joseph Kelty (Kilty), a blacksmith who was born in Maysville and living in Lewis Co., met Idona Irene Davis (Lucy’s daughter) while she lived in Fleming Co. They were married at St. Patrick’s Catholic Church in Maysville in 1894 and then lived in Ribolt, Lewis Co., where the first five children were born. Tim’s Uncle Jim Cotter was already living in Sulphur Springs, Hopkins Co., Texas when Tim came and then he sent for his family to come in 1904 when my grandmother was 3. They came on a train which was a three-day ride. Dennis Francis Kelty, the grandfather of the children, went with them to help his daughter-in-law, Idona, with the children…Tim opened a blacksmith shop in Sulphur Springs and raised his family there. Eight more children were born. My grandmother will be 80 in June and still lives in Sulphur Springs.
(Excerpt of a letter dated March 12, 1981, from Mrs. Pat Culpepper, great-granddaughter of the subject, of Austin, Texas, to J. J. Pollitte, and found among his genealogy papers after his death in 1985; see record #860P.)
Lewis County has been organized as one of the counties of the State for more than one hundred years, and during this time it has been represented in the State Legislature thirty years by citizens of Cabin Creek…A. D. Pollett [served] one term.
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 66-67.)
Until about 1850 Cabin Creek had never had a resident physician…Some time in the sixties Dr. Barnett practiced medicine a few years at Cottageville; also Dr. Barnes tried it a while immediately after Dr. Barnett. After this there was a space of probably ten years, during which time there was not a physician on the creek; then Dr. N. F. Jordan…came and began practicing at Cottageville, and he remained a little over a year. A Dr. Winters succeeded him, and remained about six months. After him came Dr. Honaker…and remained about three years…Dr. Morgan Pollitt came next, and remained two years, and moved to Maysville, leaving his practice to Dr. Dumont, who had already invaded his territory.
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 73-74.)
In the mercantile pursuits there are [today]…two livery, feed, and sale stables—Sam’l Pollitt & Son, and Benjamin Stricklett…
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 128.)
Legislative Acts In Favor of the County: Acts of 1881 —
Chapter 863 is the charter of the Tolesboro and Mt. Carmel Turnpike Road Company, A. D. Pollitt, Isaiah Grigsby, J. Win Parker, A. H. Pollitt, James Thomas, G. W. Reader are appointed commissioners to open books, etc.
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 226.)
Legislative Acts In Favor of the County: Acts of 1881—
Chapter 1149 — J. Win Parker, R. W. Pollitt, and G. P. Bane, and their successors be, and are hereby incorporated, under the name and style of Robert M. Owens Lodge, No. 588, of Free and Accepted Masons. This lodge has built a neat house at Tollesboro.
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 226.)
Legislative Acts In Favor of the County: Acts of 1881—
Chapter 1165 — An act for the benefit of John F. Pollitt. It authorizes the payment of $28.95 out of the school fund belonging to Lewis County.
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 227.)
April Term of the Court of 1832 —
James Pollitt was made overseer from Swearingin’s Mill to where the Salt Lick Road crosses the Three Island Road…
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 317.)
March Term of the Court of 1833 —
On the road from the top of the mountain above Esculapia, to North Fork below Robert’s old mill, lived William Mackey, Thos. J. Sabins, John West, Henry Luman, Jesse Luman, Thomas Osburn, George Sanders, Wm. Rayburn, Louder Pollitt, Thomas Pollitt, James Pollitt, James Warren, Benjamin Williams, Lander Hurst, Nimrod Thomas, Henry Morrison, Staten West, George Johnson, and John Flord.
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 322-323.)
April Term of the Court of 1834 —
Samuel Pollitt [appointed overseer] on the Clarksburg and Williamsburg Road…
(See record #901P, History of Lewis County, Kentucky, Rev. O. G. Ragan, 1912; pp. 326.)
Scholarship in memory of slain student —
The University of Kentucky College of Education has established a scholarship fund in memory of Chandra Pollitt, a University of Kentucky senior killed by her ex-boyfriend March 21 in Nicholasville.
Pollitt and her sister, Sally Steffey, were shot to death at their home by Adam Miller, who killed himself. Gary Pollitt, the sister’s father, resides in Maysville. Their mother, Barbara Spires is from Ripley, Ohio.
The announcement of the scholarship was made by J. John Harris III, dean of the College of Education. Pollitt, who recently had been accepted into the college’s Teacher Education Program in secondary social studies, had worked in the dean’s office at the college since 1993.
In services last week, Harris remembered Pollitt as a gentle person of exceptional worth, intelligence and integrity.
Pollitt recently had spoken with Harris about her hopes of teaching in the inner-city area of New York City.
Rosetta Sandidge, special programs coordinator for the college, described Pollitt as a good student with a bright future. ‘She was so sweet. Chandra really was like part of our family.’
College of Education staff, faculty and students urge those interested to contribute to the scholarship as a tribute to Pollitt. The fund will be permanently endowed when it reaches $5,000.
Donations may be made payable to the Chandra Pollitt Memorial Scholarship Fund and sent to the Office of the Dean, College of Education, 103 Dickey Hall, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Ky. 40506-0017.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., Saturday, April 8, 1995, pp. 4-A; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1894) —
Rev. Hall Pollitt, a young minister of the M.E. Church, and Miss Myrtle Haywood, one of the leading belles of Lewis County were married Wednesday.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., June 24, 1994; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1893) —
A reunion of the old settlers of Mason, Fleming and Lewis counties will be held at Ruggles’ Camp Grounds July 4…The public invited. All are asked to take well-filled baskets.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., July 20, 1993; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1894) —
Mr. B. B. Pollitt, one of the pupils of the Male Department of the high school, has passed the necessary examination for teachers and received a two-year certificate.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., June 1, 1994; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1894) —
Persons visiting to attend Ruggles camp meeting can take Barbour and Pollitt’s bus, leaving Maysville at 2 o’clock every day except Sunday. Fare 50 cents.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., September 3, 1994; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1894) —
L.G. Auxier has sold to S.J. Moody 15 acres on the Orangeburg and Tollesboro Turnpike for $381.25.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., September 16, 1994; see record #600-P.)
50 years ago (1943) —
Members of Leslie H. Arthur Post No. 13, American Legion, re-elected Otto Starrett as Commander last night. Other re-elected officers are Dr. W.E. Hines, D.P. Newell, Lud. C. Baebke, Lt. Col. R. L. Evenburgh, Capt. James A. Kehoe, and Thomas Bayard McCann.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., June 7, 1993; see record #600-P.)
50 years ago (1943) —
Mr. Ralph C. Pollitt, of Fort Worth, Texas, arrived here Tuesday for a visit with his brother, Mr. B.B. Pollitt and Mrs. Pollitt, of East Second Street. Mr. Pollitt is manager of the Milner Hotel in Fort Worth.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 50 years ago, which ran on Wednesday, August 18, 1993; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1893) —
Mr. and Mrs. F.W. Armstrong and Mrs. R.A. Swigert, of Lexington arrived last evening. They will be the guests of Mrs. Dobyns and Mrs. Gray, No. 40 Front Street.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., June 4, 1993; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1893) —
Rev. F.S. Pollitt and wife, of Richmond, came down to attend the funeral of Mrs. Maltby, Mr. Pollitt’s sister.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., July 6, 1993; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1894) —
Mr. George Clinger and son-in-law, Mr. George Pollitt, have bought Wood Bros.’ meat store on Market Street and will carry on the business under the name of Clinger and Pollitt.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on Monday, February 28, 1994; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1893) —
Citizens of the Sixth Ward have organized the Columbian Fire Company. Officers chosen are John W. Clinger, Polk Hicks, Geo. M. Clinger, Simon Croswell, Sam Simonds, James Limerick, James Tolle, Fred Dressal, Louis Harding and George Pollitt. Also, James Dunbar, Wm. Hughes, Ed. Kenney and George Limerick.
(From the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky., December 4, 1993; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1892) —
Dr. W. M. Pollitt, late of Cottageville, has moved to this city and taken up residence in the Sixth Ward, where he will practice his profession. He comes well recommended, both as a citizen and physician.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on May 26, 1992; see record #600-P.)
50 years ago (1942) —
Stonelick News: Mr. John Robert Pollitt and family have returned home to Williamsburg, Va. after spending two weeks vacation with parents Mr. and Mrs. Oscar Pollitt.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 50 years ago, which ran on Thursday, July 30, 1992; see record #600-P.)
50 years ago (1942) —
Mr. B. B. Pollitt of this city has been appointed clerk in the office of State Auditor Greene at Frankfort to succeed Ike Sallee who was named State Treasurer.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 50 years ago, which ran on November 18, 1992; see record #600-P.)
50 years ago (1942) —
Marriage license was granted yesterday to Mr. Robert H. Pollitt and Miss Lula C. P. Evans, both of this city. The wedding will take place Wednesday.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on November 3, 1992; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1892) —
The firm of Pollitt and Tolle has been dissolved by mutual consent, Mr. Tolle retiring. The livery business will be conducted at the old stand by Mr. Pollitt, who assumes all the liabilities of the old firm and is authorized to collect all back claims and demands.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on August 28, 1992; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1895) —
James Pollitt and Miss Nettie Hughes were married at Tollesboro, Rev. Mr. Stratton officiating.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on May 29, 1995; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1895) —
Mr. and Mrs. James Pollitt and sons, who have been visiting Mr. Pollitt’s sisters, Mrs. Thomas Russell and Mrs. Ernie White, have returned to their home in Fleming County.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on June 10, 1995; see record #600-P.)
50 years ago (1943) —
Ten substitute teachers were employed by the Mason County Board of Education at its meeting Monday. The list includes Miss Mary Foley, Miss Lelia Webster, Rev. Elmo Russell Figgins, Mrs. Grace Mullikin Whaley, Miss Gene Frances Boyd, Mrs. Ward W. Boyd, Mrs. Charles Taylor, Mrs. Frances Goggin, Mrs. Harry Pollitt and Mrs. Carl Osborne.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 50 years ago, which ran on October 29, 1993; see record #600-P.)
50 years ago (1945) —
Miss Blanche Porter and her sister, Mrs. Morris Willis, of Cincinnati, arrived Saturday for a week-end visit with Mrs. E. L. White, of East Third Street.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 50 years ago, which ran on June 29, 1995; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1895) —
Mrs. S. A. Piper has resigned as officer of elections in Maysville Precinct No. 6 and the County Court appointed Dr. William M. Pollitt to fill the vacancy.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on October 9, 1995; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1895) —
Born, this morning, to the wife of ex-pressman R. H. Pollitt, of the 6th ward, a fine daughter.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on February 5, 1996; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1895) —
Mrs. Lizzie Pollitt, wife of Mr. Abner Pollitt, of Rectorville, died yesterday. She was about forty years of age. The funeral occurs this afternoon at 2 o’clock at Olivet Church.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on August 15, 1995; see record #600-P.)
Mr. Thomas Pollitt died Sunday night at his home in Mt. Gilead. He was related to Mr. Robert Pollitt of this city.
(From the weekly Maysville Bulletin, Maysville, Ky.; Thursday, June 22, 1916; pp. 7; see record #606-P.)
Clarence Mains, S. E. Pollitt and Robert Pollitt, late partners under the firm name of Mains & Pollitt, of Minerva, vs. W. F. Strausbaugh, is the style of a suit filed in Mason Circuit Court Wednesday, to recover $298.50 with interest on note from March 1, 1916.
(From the weekly Maysville Bulletin, Maysville, Ky.; Thursday, December 28, 1916; pp. 3; see record #606-P.)
This church [Christian Center] is located near Gwynneville, in Hanover Township. This society was first organized at Beech Grove, probably as early as 1850, by the Rev. James Conner. Active in the organization were the Darmers, Swains, Pollitts, McConnells, Wests, Bogues, Alexanders and Rigbees…In 1870 a frame church costing one thousand five hundred dollars, was erected on a lot donated by Mr. Gwynne. This is located three-fourths of a mile east of town. The present membership is about forty. The officers are: John Alexander, Benjamin Duncan, Alfred Pollitt, George Hayes and J. R. Harris, trustees; J. W. Alexander and Hamilton Watson, deacons.
(From Chadwick’s History of Shelby County, Indiana, Edward H. Chadwick, B. A.; B. F. Bowen & Company, Indianapolis, Indiana; 1909; pages 130-131; see record #914-P.).
Gwynneville was laid out as a village by Alexander D. Pollitt, January 25, 1881, and to the orginal plat Mr. Pollitt added more lots in May, 1881. This town was named in honor of O’Brien Gwynne, a merchant and excellent business man of Carthage, Rush county, Indiana, who had large landed interests in the vicinity. It was platted in Hanover township, on the Brookville road…
(From Chadwick’s History of Shelby County, Indiana, Edward H. Chadwick, B. A.; B. F. Bowen & Company, Indianapolis, Indiana; 1909; page 272; see record #914-P.).
Moses M. Logan —
The subject of this sketch has long been recognized as one of Shelby county’s foremost agriculturists, holding high rank among the business men of the community in which he lives, and in giving the life record of Mr. Logan the biographer believes that it will be an incentive to the young who may peruse it to lead nobler lives, have higher ambitions and accomplish more for themselves and their fellow men, for his life has always been led along a high plane of endeavor, always consistent with honorable principles. He is the scion of pioneer ancestors of the most sterling qualities who did much in their day for the communities in which they lived, and many of their noteworthy traits of character are exemplified in the life of our subject.
Moses M. Logan is a native of the Buckeye state, having been born in Somerville, Butler county, Ohio, December 12, 1845, the son of Paul and Ruth (Smith) Logan, the former a native of Harper’s Ferry, Maryland, from which place he removed to Butler county, Ohio, in an early day, locating in Somerville, where he lived the remainder of his life. He was a carriage-maker by trade, which he followed all his life. He worked the timber from the green state through all the necessary stages into a carriage. He was one of the best workmen in this line in his country, and the carriages he turned out were eagerly sought. However, he died practically a poor man, when seventy-four years old, after rearing a family of nine children.
When a boy Moses M. Logan assisted his father in his wagon shop, painting until he was fifteen years old. Then he worked as a farm hand for one year, and when only sixteen years old he gave way to his patriotic fervor and enlisted in Company B, Sixty-ninth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, September 5, 1861, and was in the Army of the Tennessee, under Sherman and Thomas. His first great engagement was that at Stone River; he also fought at Resaca, Missionary Ridge, took part in the Atlanta campaign, and was at the fall of Atlanta. From there he went through North Carolina to Washington, D. C. He was never wounded, but was shot through the hat, and he was in the hospital for a short time.
After his services in the army, Mr. Logan returned to Butler county, Ohio, where he remained for a short time, then removed to Preble county, that state. After remaining there with his sister for some time he came to Shelby county, Indiana, in 1877, and he has lived here ever since.
Mr. Logan was united in marriage with Amaret Pollitt, February 11, 1877. She was born and reared upon the farm where our subject and wife now live. When Mr. Logan landed in Shelby county he had only about fifty-five dollars. The old farm was divided and he began purchasing it, selling a portion from time to time, and thereby soon had a good start. He now owns one hundred and eighty-four acres where he now lives, having made all the improvements on the same until it is well worth the sum of twenty-five thousand dollars and ranks among the best farms in the county. All this he has made by dint of hard toil and good management. He handles stock of various kinds and good grades. He has made much of his competency handling hogs, being an especially good judge of this department of the live stock business. He has a comfortable and substantial dwelling, and everything about the place shows prosperity. He has been a hard worker and has succeeded because he has perservered. However, he attributes all his success to his wife, who has faithfully assisted him in all his undertakings.
To Mr. and Mrs. Logan one daughter, Ina, was born in 1881, and she graduated from the Morristown high school. She is living in Hanover township, the wife of Howard Gordon, whom she married March 15, 1905, and they are parents of two children, Julia Ann and Henry Logan.
In his fraternal relations Mr. Logan is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Morristown. He is a member of Morristown Lodge, No. 193, Free and Accepted Masons; the Rushville Chapter, No. 24, Royal Arch Masons; the Rushville Council, No. 41, Royal and Select Masters; also he is a member of the Scottish Rite, at Indianapolis; also the Murat Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of Mystic Shrine, and he is a thirty-second degree member. Mr. Logan takes a great deal of interest in Masonry, and one would judge from his daily life that he believes in carrying out the sublime and noble precepts of these worthy orders. In politics he is a Republican, but has never held office.
(From Chadwick’s History of Shelby County, Indiana, Edward H. Chadwick, B. A.; B. F. Bowen & Company, Indianapolis, Indiana; 1909; pages 512-514; see record #914-P.).
Mrs. Ann Pollitt.
This estimable lady who, previous to her marriage , bore the name Ann Evans, comes from the historic island of Great Britain, and combines in her personality the sterling attributes characteristic of the sturdy race to which she belongs. She was born February 21, 1848, in the town of Dudley, Worchestershire, England, and when five years old accompanied her parents, Thomas and Mary A. (Pitt) Evans, to the United States, the family settling, September 1853, in Shelbyville, Indiana, thence a little later removed to Indianapolis, where they remained until 1854. In August of the latter year Mr. Evans entered the employ of Mr. O’Brien Gwynne, to operate a stationary engine in that gentleman’s mill at a point in Shelby county which, in compliment to the proprietor, was called Gwynne’s Mill, afterwards Gwynneville, by which name the place has since been known, although at that time there was nothing but the mill by which to designate the locality. In due time the mill became the nucleus of a thriving local trading point, and in the course of a few years a number of dwelling houses were erected which gave to the place the dignity of a village. Meanwhile, Mr. Evans, who worked for Frances Bros., moved his industry to Fairland, where Mr. Evans continued in the capacity of engineer until his return to Gwynneville, in 1859, where the two gentlemen formed a partnership in the manufacture of drain tile and built up a large and lucrative business. Mr. Evans continued the tile business with encouraging success for a number of years and was also quite fortunate in various other lines of enterprise. He succeeded admirably in all of his undertakings, accumulated money readily and rapidly, and it was not long until he was one of the financially strong and solid men of the county, leaving at his death quite a large fortune, also a reputation for honorable dealing which causes his memory to be revered in the community where he lived and achieved success.
Of the four children born to Mr. and Mrs. Evans, all died in England except the subject of this sketch, who is now the only surviving member of the family. Anna Evans spent the greater part of her childhood and youth at or near the village of Gwynneville, received her education in the public schools and since her arrival in this country in 1853 has resided continuously in Shelby county. From her youth she was instructed in the humble arts and homely virtues which dignify the sex and make for upright conduct.
On June 6, 1881, Miss Evans became the wife of Alexander Pollitt, who came to Indiana from his native state of Kentucky in his boyhood and grew to maturity in Shelby county. He possessed keen, practical intelligence, well-balanced judgment and for a number of years took an active interest in the growth of the country and the development of its resources, devoting especial attention to the village of Gwynneville, which he laid out in the year 1880, and which was indebted to him for much of its subsequent prosperity. For some years Mr. Pollitt was employed by a manufacturer of drain tile, subsequently became a partner in the business and still later operated a factory of his own, which returned him a liberal income. In connection with this industry he was also engaged in agricultural pursuits, and for several years cultivated the beautiful and highly improved farm of one hundred and eight acres in Hanover township, which he owned, the land being in his widow’s possession since his death. Mr. Pollitt was not only a successful farmer and enterprising business man, but was also a local politician of considerable note, a leading Democrat of the township in which he resided, and stood height in the confidence of party councils, besides rendering efficient service in county, district and state affairs. He was public-pirited in the sense of assisting every worthy enterprise, which appealed to his judgment and, as already stated, was alive to the material advancement of his township and county, also in the social and moral welfare of his fellowmen. Fraternally he was an Odd Fellow, and a zealous worker in the lodge with which he held membership. Religiously he was in sympathy with the plain simple teachings of the Christian church, belonging to the congregation at Morristown.
To Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt one child was born in 1885, and died in 1889, the husband and father departing this life in the year 1892. After the death of Mr. Pollitt his widow occupied the home place near Gwynneville for four years; she is now residing in Gwynneville, and gives personal attention to the large business interests which she assisted in building up and in the management of which she has demonstrated judgment, discretion and executive ability of a very high order. In addition to the farm alluded to she owns other valuable real estate, her lands amounting to five hundred acres, all in Hanover township, and containing as fertile soil as any like area in Shelby county. She has also been interested in Gwynneville, having laid out her first addition to the town, September, 1898, and the second some time afterward, the former consisting of twenty-one and the latter of forty-five lots. Although in her sixty-first year, Mrs. Pollitt is a well preserved woman, retaining the possession of her physical powers to a marked degree, while her mental facilities are as keen and alert as in the days of her prime. Her interest in material things has not abated by the passing years, as is indicated by her connection with her two cousins, Edward and John T. Evans, in the ownership and management of the Gwynneville Natural Gas Plant, of which the former gentlemen is superintendent. As stated in the preceding paragraph, Mrs. Pollitt gives personal attention to her business affairs, which have always been successful, and her valuable real estate and other property at this time represents a fortune conservatively estimated to be in excess of one hundred thousand dollars, a goodly portion of which is the result of her rare foresight and management. Although wealthy far beyond the average man or woman, Mrs. Pollitt is free from the slightest tinge of vanity and never allows her possessions to interfere with her daily routine of duty. She is the embodiment of whole-hearted hospitality, always meeting her neighbors and friends on a common social plane, she has endeared herself to them by many kindly acts and loving ministrations. Many years ago she made a public profession of religion and has ever since lived the humble devoted life of a true disciple, being a member of the Christian church of Gwynneville, for which she is an earnest worker and liberal contributor.
In closing this brief sketch of the career of one of Shelby county’s most enterprising and highly esteemed women, it is proper to glance hastily at the village, which her husband founded, and to the growth of which she has contributed as much, if not more, than any other individual. Since the platting of Gwynneville by Mr. Pollitt in 1880, it has grown into a thriving country village with a population considerably in excess of three hundred, and it is now the principal trading point of a large and thickly settled section of country. The business interests, which are in the hands of enterprising and capable men, are steadily advancing and, judging from present indications, it is safe to prophesy for the village a growing and prosperous future.
(From Chadwick’s History of Shelby County, Indiana, Edward H. Chadwick, B. A.; B. F. Bowen & Company, Indianapolis, Indiana; 1909; pages 718-720; see record #914-P.).
Eliza Jane Smith —
Eliza Jane Smith was the daughter of Ellison and Lucinda West. Her grandparents were Nehemiah and Jane Hoffer Pollitt natives of Maryland and Virginia. At an early age Nehemiah and Jane emigrated to Kentucky and were married in 1829. They moved to Indiana with Lucinda and her two brothers in 1834 and located in Hanover Township, north of Morristown.
Eliza Jane was born in 1850 in a log cabin which stood a short distance south of Gwynneville on what was later known as the Pitts farm. She was the oldest of a large family, two sisters and five brothers, Ann Smith, Susan Hayes, Parker, Alec and Walter West (names of two brothers unknown).
Eliza Jane spent her entire life in Hanover Township, most of it in Gwynneville. Eliza Jane was 11 years old when the Civil War, and a cruel twist of fate, put Ellison West, her father, in the army. Homesick, Ellison took an unasked leave of absence from the army to visit his family. The family never saw him again.
(From the Civil War files of Ellison West), March 21, 1865 – Ellison West, Co. E. 79th Indiana Regiment Parole Corp. near Vicksburg to wife Lucinda, ‘Taken prisoner near Huntsville, AL., marched 200 miles to railroad. Taken to Salem from the to Chaba. Kept in stockade for several days, no blankets, not much to eat. Sent by rail to Jackson, MS. Then marched to Vicksburg where we are living well now. Hope to be home soon.’ April 25th., cruel fate again met Ellison West. Bound for home on the infamous Sultana, he was one of the 1600 who died in one of the worst marine disasters in history.
Eliza Jane met Tobias Smith (1844-1924), a Civil War veteran, Co. A. 146th Division, who was one of the first to enlist, when Abraham Lincoln sounded a call for men. Tobias Smith served his country until the close of the war.
Eliza Jane and Tobias were married Aug. 17, 1871. They enjoyed over half a century of wedded bliss. Mr. Smith worked at Gwynne’s Mill. In 1881 Eliza Jane and Tobias bought a house and lots on King Street in Gwynneville, where they raised apples. The house is still lived in today.
Eliza Jane and Tobias had three children, Almina, 1872, Mary, 1875 and Paul who was born on Almina’s 18th birthday, Oct. 24, 1890. Almina had six children: Raymond, George, Tom, Wayne, Kenneth, and Emma Wilcoxon. Mary had one daughter: Fern Poston Henderson. Paul had six children: Lois, Russel, Jane, Amy, Sue and David Smith.
Tobias died while working in the yard, June 1924. Eliza followed in death one week later. They are buried in Hanover Cemetery.
Submitted by Amy Smith Whitmer.
(From Shelby County, Indiana: History & Families, compiled and produced using available information by Mark A. Thompson, the Shelby County Historical Association, and the publisher; Turner Publishing Company, Paducah, Kentucky; 1992; Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 91-67150; see pages 404-405; see record #915-P.)
Evans Family —
The first ancestors of Edward (Ted) Evans to come to America came to Shelby County, IN from England in 1853. They crossed the Atlantic on The Black Star, a sailing ship. Richard Evans (Feb. 10, 1791-Oct. 1, 1865) and his wife Margaret Butler (Jan. 29, 1799-July 29, 1880) brought six of their 12 children and their families. One of the children was Thomas Evans. Thomas (1829-1896) was accompanied by his wife Mary Ann (Pitt) (1825-1890) and daughter Ann (1848-1931). Ann married Alexander D. Pollitt (1833-1892) who established the thriving little town of Gwynneville. Richard is buried at Boggstown, IN. Thomas and Mary Ann Evans and Ann and Alexander Pollitt are buried at Hanover Cemetery near Morristown, IN.
Richard’s seventh child, Edward (April 12, 1831-Jan. 13, 1915) stayed in England. His wife was Sarah Hartsorn (Nov. 23, 1841-Feb. 16, 1906). They had five children, four boys and one girl. Their third child, Edward, was born May 21, 1871. He was a blacksmith in England before coming to America and Indiana in July 1896 at age 25. He started Gwynneville Natural Gas Co. and also acquired 500 acres of fertile Shelby County farm land which he managed. Edward, known as Ted, married Pearl Euanna Earnest (Oct. 28, 1878-June 10, 1969) on Dec. 7, 1911. Edward (Ted) died Feb. 28, 1951. Three sons were born to Edward and Pearl…Joseph Edward (Sept. 19, 1914-Jan. 13-1976)…Thomas was born in 1915 and died in 1916 at age 15 months…Robert was born Feb. 15, 1921…
(From Shelby County, Indiana: History & Families, compiled and produced using available information by Mark A. Thompson, the Shelby County Historical Association, and the publisher; Turner Publishing Company, Paducah, Kentucky; 1992; Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 91-67150; see pages 303-304; see record #915-P.)
Married: Dr. H. M. Bertram, son of Judge M. Bertram, and Miss Robena Pollitt, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Pollitt, married May 24.
(Photocopy of clipping from an unidentified [possibly the Vanceburg Sun], undated [note: handwritten date on clipping is 5-25-1916] newspaper submitted as part of record #713-P; see record #699-P.)
Josiah Pollitt —
Answered the call to arms from Lewis county, Ky., enlisting in Sept. 1861, at the age of 18, in Co. R, 23rd Ky., Inf., as private, and was actively engaged in skirmishing and scouting all during enlistment; was sick in Pulaski, Tenn., in July 1862, 10 months with measles; in Jan. of same year was furloughed 12 days at expiration of which he rejoined his command at Covington, Ky.; was finally discharged July 6, 1862, at Pulaski, Tenn. Mr. Pollitt was united in marriage in Lewis county, Ky., Feb. 19, 1867, to Matilda F. Pruitt, who was born in Morgan county, Ky., Nov. 15, 1849, and their union has been blessed with eight children, born in the order named: Alvin M., April 24, ‘68; James E., June 8, ‘73; Lucinda A., May 6, ‘75; Leona, Dec. 7, ‘77; Frances M., April 10, ‘81; Netty P., April 27, ‘83; Ida M., Feb. 24, ‘85; and Bertha L., Oct. 24, ‘87. The parents of Mrs. Pollitt, John W., and Alice J. Spencer, are yet living; she had two uncles in the Union army, Daniel C., and William P. Comrade Pollitt is a member of Hamrick Post No. 22, Dept. Ky., G. A. R.; he draws a small pension, his occupation is farming, and his address is Burtonville, Lewis county, Kentucky. He was born in Lewis county, Oct. 5, 1842, his father Johnathan Pollitt is yet living, his mother, Lucinda (Burris) is deceased.
(From Presidents, Soldiers, & Statesmen, 1776—1889, Vol. 11, pp. 9; see record #916-P)
On April 20, 1695, Thomas Pollitt  was issued a patent for 220 acres of the tract Presteine back in the woods from Rockawalkin River [BB#3:119]. Thomas Pollitt was one of the signers of the ‘Address of the Inhabitants of the County of Somersett’ on November 28, 1689, pledging loyalty to King William and Queen Mary and to the Protestant religion [Torrence:350]. Margaret Tull, relict of Richard Tull, Sr., was the administrator of the account of Thomas Pollitt on May 2, 1711 [Ann. Inv. & Accts. 32B:256].
The will of Thomas Pollitt , witnessed by David Polk, John Alexander and James Pope and made November 23, 1743, devised to son Thomas land and plantation ‘where he now liveth being part of two tracts called Trouble and Dentery (175 acres); to son George ‘my now dwelling plantation, being part of three tracts called: Smithfield, Tamaroons Ridge and Come by Chance;’ wife Sarah as executrix to have the use of said plantation. He also named sons William, Jonathan and John, daughters Mary Disharoon, Margaret Stevens, Elizabeth, Sarah, Nelly and Priscilla Pollitt [EB9:236].
Sarah Dowdle made her will December 4, 1771, naming her sons Jonathan and John Pollitt, and daughter Mary Disharoon, with bequests to Mary Stevens and Elisabeth Finch [EB5:39].
In her will made November 12, 1753, Priscilla named mother Sarah Dowdle, sisters Sarah — a bond passed from Christopher Dowdle — and Nelly Pollett, brothers George and John Pollett [EB14&4:25].
Thomas Pollitt  was aged 52 on March 1, 1771, when he deposed about the boundaries of the tract Tamaroon and said he was the son of Thomas Pollitt  [JR1767/72:198]. Thomas Pollitt was aged 54 on July 12, 1773 when deposing about the boundaries of the tract Brereton's Chance for William Brereton [JR1774/5:205].
On July 9, 1796, Levin Pollitt, farmer, and Eleanor his wife sold to Stephen Right, carpenter, for £22.10, 12 acres of John’s Hill, which was eastward of Wicomico Creek between tracts Second Addition to Hog Quarter and Trouble and Dorman's Conclusion, beginning at a marked oak on the northeast end of a willow pond 30 yards to the east of the main road that leads from Princess Anne to the Upper Ferry of Wicomico River [K:440].
On December 13, 1806 Levin G. Pollitt and Nelly I. Pollitt his wife sold for $2,000 to Samuel Polk, two lots laid off by virtue of a commission to divide the real estate of Capt. Joseph Gilliss among the representatives of said Gillis, the lots out of tract Brereton's Mistake [R:106].
Nelly I. Pollitt made her will on November 30, 1836 wherein she devised to her son Levin I. Pollitt 150 acres of the tracts Hacklah and Venture left her by William Pollitt, and named her daughters Elizabeth Esther Byrd, Nelly G. Byrd and her son Gillis Pollitt (JP5:65).
William Pollitt (of Thomas) was aged 45 on October 6, 1801, when testifying about the tract Partnership [MD Chancery Case #3567:110].
On August 30, 1862, Levin I. Pollitt sold for $2,000 151 acres to William Birkhead Hackley and Venture ‘where I now reside that was devised to me by my mother Nelly I. Pollitt.’ The same day he sold to Birkhead his horse, 8 cattle, ten hogs, six sheep and the crop of corn now growing in the field, all household and other furniture and all personal property for $200 [LW7:434, 435].
(See record #716-P: Judie Satterwhite Balacke (resident of Richmond, Virginia), family information and genealogical research contained in a personal ancestry printout dated October 27, 1994, and sent by subject to the Pollitte Family Reunion Secretary by letter dated May 15, 1996; 4 pp.)
My name is Carol Ricci, nee Pollitt. I am very interested in the family tree. I [am] a novice at genealogy, but I would like to do this for my 78 year-old father, who unfortunately was raised in foster homes and knows only bits and pieces of family history. Anything that can be done to assist me in this will be greatly appreciated.
My father’s name is Jack Vernon Pollitt. He was born in Salisbury on Sept. 14, 1918. His father was Andrew Louis Pollitt, born in Pocomoke City in 1872, I think. Andrew’s brothers were Frederick, Wilmer and Isaac. His father was Anthony Pollitt, who had a farm in Allen.
Anthony’s father was Louis, maybe spelled Lewis, wife unknown, as are Anthony’s siblings, if any. Louis’s father may have been named Josiah. Andrew’s mother was Mary Virginia Anderson, the second wife of Anthony. Anthony’s first wife was Henrietta Huffington, by whom he had two daughters, Annie Laurie, who married a Nichols; the other sister’s name we’re not sure of.
Mary V. Anderson’s parents were Wilmer Anderson and Eliza Chase Fletcher, said to be a granddaughter of Samuel Chase. We visited Allen several years ago and talked with Jesse Politt, who claimed not to be a relative, but I’m sure that he was, but from a different branch of the family.
There are Pollitts from both branches buried at the Methodist Church in Allen, although our relatives were supposed to be Presbyterians.
I would like to do the family tree as a gift for my Dad while he is still with us, especially the Samuel Chase connection. There is also supposed to be Native American blood on the Pollitt side.
(See record #717-P: Robert Elliott Simms (resident of Pickens, South Carolina), family information and genealogical research contained in a personal ancestry printout dated March 20, 1996, and sent by subject to the Pollitte Family Reunion Secretary by e-mail through America On-Line the same date. 3 pp. Cross-ref. with record 715-P.)
50 years ago (1946) —
Mr. Robert Pollitt, who celebrated his eightieth birthday yesterday, has returned to his home in Covington. Mr. Pollitt lays claim to being the oldest active bass drummer of the Masonic Lodge in the United States and Canada.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 50 years ago, which ran on May 25, 1996; see record #600-P.)
50 years ago (1946) —
Mr. Sam Pollitt will run a bus from Maysville to Ruggles Camp Grounds Thursday and Friday morning, leaving here at 7 o’clock, to accommodate those who wish to go out to the meeting.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 50 years ago, which ran on July 31, 1996; see record #600-P.)
Mrs. Sudie Pollitt Tolle, wife of Arthur Tolle, well known Lewis County farmer, died Tuesday night following a nine-weeks’ illness.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Daily Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 25 years ago, which ran on Wednesday, May 8, 1955; reprinted in the Mason County Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 10, No. 2, pp. 43.)
The following is a speech presented in 1988 by Dr. William M. Talley at the Vanceburg home of the late Judge George Morgan Thomas. The house is now known as the Commercial Hotel in Vanceburg and was restored several years ago by a local group.
‘It is a pleasure and an honor to be here today to give the historical background on the Judge George Morgan Thomas house, and I wish to compliment those people who have been responsible in doing some restoration of the building. In the name of development, much of our heritage, such as this historical home, is being destroyed.
‘The architecture is typical of the period around the late 1880s and early 1890s. The turreted corner, peaked roof, ornate porch railing, and the trim were commonplace house ornaments of that period. At one time several houses in downtown Vanceburg had similar features. Some have been torn down, others have had the ornaments and features removed.
‘The late Bill Dugan once told me that the house was built in 1883. It faces Third Street (Railroad Street), but at the time it was built, Third Street was different. No railroad came through town and houses stood on what is now the northern side of Third Street. When the double track was put through in 1913, another strip of Third Street was taken and homes were removed from that side. So, when Judge Thomas built his home, it was situated in much different surroundings than where it stands today.
‘It is difficult to determine who G. M. Thomas bought this lot from, but it was probably one of the lots originally owned by W. C. Halbert, who built the Pugh home across the street (Main Street). Originally this lot was on the outer edge of the original city plan. The lot next door, on the west, was Judge Thomas’ law office and was purchased from G. W. Stamper and wife in 1902.
‘Judge George Morgan Thomas was a remarkable man for his time and was brilliant and intellectual. He was descended from an old Virginia family, being the son of Elijah H. Thomas and Araminta P. Boggess. Judge Thomas married Catherine Helen Willim in Lewis County in 1850. He was educated in little country schools within this county, then studied law. He taught several sessions of school, and he worked a short while on the river.
‘Judge Thomas got his license to practice law in 1851, the year after his marriage. In this county he served in many local and state offices: school commissioner, county attorney, state legislator, commonwealth attorney, county judge and circuit judge. He was appointed by President Garfield as U. S. attorney and was elected to Congress in 1886. President McKinley in 1897 appointed him Solicitor General of Revenue. He returned in 1901 and died in 1912 and was buried in Woodland Cemetery, overlooking Vanceburg.
‘It is interesting to look back at some of the events which have taken place around this house since its erection in 1883. The house was flooded in 1913 and 1937, and may have been flooded in 1883. The first train came by this house exactly 101 years ago today on July 1, 1888, when the house was 5 years old. The railroad was known at the time as the Maysville and Big Sandy Railroad. Many distinguished visitors came here through the years and many famous people have passed by this house as they rode on the passenger trains in those early years.
‘At Judge Thomas’ death the house was inherited by his grandson, George M. Thomas Jr., and his daughter, Mary Araminta Pugh. They sold it to Claude Ruggless and wife in 1919, and Ruggless sold it to H. W. McGill and wife, Lucy, in 1920. McGill and wife sold it to Dorothy Pollitt Burriss in 1922, and D. P. Burriss conveyed it to Mable H. Pollitt in 1925. Ms. Pollitt conveyed it to Maurice Burriss later that year. It was at this time that Maurice Burriss did some renovations and converted it to a hotel.’
William M. Talley, formerly of Vanceburg, is a faculty member at McGill University in Montreal, Canada, and is the author of several books.
(The preceding article is a condensed version of one appearing in the Maysville Ledger-Independent, Bygone Days insert, page 7, of Tuesday, September 3, 1996.)
Pollitt Families of Orangeburg —
John Handy Pollitt and Emma Cropper — There were Pollitts in Orangeburg very early. However, John Handy Pollitt seems to have moved there sometime later from the Mt. Zion area of Lewis County.
James M. Pollitt was born ca. 1842, died 1919 and is buried in the Burtonville Cemetery. He was the son of Thomas and Nancy Pollitt and married in 1865 (Lewis County) Elizabeth Esham. She was born 22 April 1841, the daughter of John H. Esham and Elizabeth Arthur. She died 25 January 1911 and is buried in the Burtonville Cemetery.
Their known children were Rosetta, born 1867; John Handy, born 1868; James, born 1870; Minnie Florence, born 1874; and Charley, born 17 June 1877, died 8 February 1903, buried in Burtonville Cemetery. [References: 1870 and 1880 Lewis County, Kentucky Census; tombstone inscriptions, Burtonville Cemetery; and Lewis County marriage records.]
The John Handy Pollitt family lived on the Taylor Mill/Old Halfhill Road west of Orangeburg. In later years he and his wife, Emma, moved to Orangeburg. They lived on Main Street in the house directly across from the Christian Church.
John Handy Pollitt was born 18 May 1868, the son of James Pollitt and Elizabeth Esham (daughter of John H. Esham and Elizabeth Arthur). He married Emma R. Cropper, the daughter of Wheatly Dennis and Amanda (Crawford) Cropper. Her paternal grandparents were George W. Cropper and Sarah Wallingford (daughter of John Wallingford and Sarah Mark). On her mother’s side her grandparents were William Crawford and Sarah Builderbrick. She was born 28 December 1874, and died 28 July 1954. John Handy Pollitt died 25 November 1958. They are buried in the Maysville-Mason County Cemetery.
Their children were: Arthur E., born 1892, died 1919, married Jennie C. Bullock; James, born 10 May 1894, died 22 June 1898; C. Hobert, born 7 October 1896, died 19 June 1977, married Lovell Seddon; Heber, born 1 March 1902, died 16 January 1967, married 5 August 1922, Blanch Knight; Leelan, born 25 January 1911, died 1992, married 5 November 1932, Mary Lee Crawford; Orville, married Norma Lee Hughes; and Elizabeth, married Cooper DeVaughn. [References: 1880 Mt. Zion, Lewis County, Kentucky school census; tombstone inscriptions, Mt. Zion Cemetery and Maysville-Mason County Cemetery.]
Thomas Alexander Pollitt and Eliza J. Deatley — Thomas Alexander Pollitt was born 10 September 1825, the son of Alexander H. (1807-1894) and Nellie Pollitt (1807-1892). He married Eliza J. Deatley who was born 1827 in Lewis County, Kentucky, the daughter of Henry L. Deatley and Rebecca Hobbs. She died in 1912. Thomas Alexander Pollitt died 18 November 1895.
Their children were: Charles A., born 1849, Lewis County, Kentucky; William H., born ca. 1850; John F., born 1851, married 24 December 1879, Mary Frances Applegate; Laura Belle, born 1855, married 4 May 1874, William S. Boyd; Lucy A., born 1858, married 11 October 1871, George M. Davis; Richard P., born 1859; Emma, born 1863; Milton, born 1865, married Nancy Teager.
Milton Pollitt, born 1865, married Nancy Teager. She was born 1858, the daughter of Thomas Mitchell Teager and Eliza Adaline Teager. She died 1912 and is buried in the (Mt.) Olivet Cemetery.
Their children were: Arbra Frank, born 21 September 1882, died 9 June 1950, married Mary Jarenda Tolle; Walter, born 1885; and Thomas A., born 20 May 1888, died 2 December 1978, married Laura Williams.
Arbra Frank Pollitt, born 21 September 1882, died 9 June 1950, married 3 December 1906, Mary Jarenda Tolle. She was born 23 December 1889, the daughter of Gus Lynn Tolle, Sr., and Ora Alice Tucker. Her paternal grandparents were Richard Presley Tolle (son of Lewis Tolle) and Jarenda Wallingford (daughter of Lewis B. Wallingford and Cecelia Ellen Tolle). Her maternal grandparents were Campbell Tucker and Mary E. Rumford. Her great-grandparents were Thornton Tucker and Jemima King, and Joseph Rumford and Elizabeth Reed. Mary Jarenda Tolle Pollitt died 24 October 1971. Arbra Frank Pollitt died 9 June 1950.
Arbra Frank and Jarenda (Tolle) Pollitt made their home on Day Pike. Their children were: Ella Marie, born 3 December, 1908, died 3 January 1973, married Charles Calvert; Harry Wood ‘Bud’ Pollitt, born 17 March 1917, died 22 February 1973, married Bernice Ferguson; and Thelma Lynn, born 1917, married 23 April 1938, Porter Grant.
[Note: A copy of the marriage license of Arbra F. Pollitt and Mary J. Tolle accompanies this article.]
(From Historical Collection, Williamsburg/Orangeburg, Mason County, Kentucky; see record 919-P.)
Cornelius Thomas Coryell, son of Joseph and Jemima Voshall [Coryell], was born in New Jersey, married 24 September 1806, Rachel Gorsuch, the daughter of Charles and Delia (Dimmitt) Gorsuch. Cornelius Coryell built one of the first brick houses of the Williamsburg/Orangeburg area of Mason County, Kentucky. He was a tanner and owned several hundred acres of land. The ten children of this family were: William Dimmitt, Charles Gorsuch, James, Joseph, Benjamin, Adelia, Cynthia, Elizabeth, Sevilla and Sarah. Cornelius Thomas Coryell died 1851, Orangeburg, Mason County, Kentucky…Rachel Gorsuch died 1851.
William Dimmitt Coryell, born 1807, son of Cornelius and Rachel (Gorsuch) Coryell, married (1) Ann Bryan of Frankfort, Kentucky. Their children were: Cornelius Thomas, Rachel Rosette and Ann William. William Dimmitt Coryell married (2) Emily O’Bannon from Mt. Carmel, Fleming County, Kentucky. Their eight children were: Edwin, William O’Bannon, James, Susannah Thompson, Anna William (?), Mary Virginia, Cordellia Tebbs, and Alcanon.
(From Historical Collection, Williamsburg/Orangeburg, Mason County, Kentucky; see record 919-P.)
July 6, 1964, Joe Jody and Evelyn (Pollitt) Sherman purchased nine-tenths of an acre, joining their property, from the Arthurs where they built and operated a country store and gas station known as Sherman’s Grocery. The store was actually started by Evelyn Knight (Pollitt) Sherman, while Jody was working at Ready Mix Concrete Company. In recent years the store has been operated by Joe and Ann (Lawwill) Sherman. The business was closed in March or April of 1996 by Ann Sherman due to the illness of her husband, Jody Sherman. He died May 11, 1996.
(From Historical Collection, Williamsburg/Orangeburg, Mason County, Kentucky; see record 919-P.)
Dr. Gabriel Bane and Family — by Norrine Bane, 1995 —
In the late 1890’s, a young country doctor and his wife moved from Tollesboro, Kentucky to the south side of Orangeburg. He was Doctor Gabriel Henry Bane (1871-1909) and his wife, the former Lillian Pollitt. Their son, Gurney Bane was born there in 1900. He was later to graduate from the University of Cincinnati Law School. Most of his life was spent as a lawyer with Southern Railroad in Atlanta, Georgia.
Later, the Banes moved to the Main Street in Orangeburg. Their daughter Mildred was born there in 1902. She attended the old Orangeburg school and graduated from Midway College. Her Bachelors and Masters degrees were from Morehead State University. She taught school for 57 years.
In 1904, Dr. Bane bought the present property, eight acres across from a Mrs. Ensor (grandmother of Mr. Bob and Mr. Russell Ensor). This property was bounded on the East by a country road, on the south by property now owned by Mrs. Gertrude Hutchison, on the west by the present Orangeburg Road and on the north by Melvin Carpenter.
The property was in the shape of a mis-shapen T. The object from 1904 on was ‘to square it off.’ In 1955 Elmo Bane bought 25 feet and in 1958 another 25 feet from Charles Tucker on the north. Mrs. Elmo Bane bought a lot on the south side from Miss Lucy Shipley. Still not a ‘square.’
Dr. Bane, died in 1909 from tuberculosis, a very young daughter Lou Ella, died soon after Dr. Bane. Many of his family died from same disease. Mrs. Lillian Bane died in 1930. She had married again and had one daughter, Marion Ball Ennis. Marion spent most of her time in Georgia.
Elmo Bane was born at the home place in 1906. He had two daughters, Eleanor Irvin and Emily Hutchison. Until two or three years ago, they lived away - Florida, etc. Now both of them are living in Lewis County, Kentucky. Elmo Bane’s work was as a meat cutter in Covington, Louisville and Frankfort, Kentucky. In Frankfort, in 1946, he married Norrine Wasson of Bourbon County, Kentucky, a Home Economics teacher. After a year they, with their two week old son, Joe, moved to Elmo’s birthplace in Orangeburg. He built a new building for a store, but three groceries proved to be too much for Orangeburg. He worked there for some local meat men. He died November 14, 1959.
Mrs. Bane went back to teaching and school lunch in 1953. She was born in Nicholas County, Kentucky and moved to Bourbon County, Kentucky at two years of age. She went to Little Rock School in Bourbon County, Kentucky and graduated from Old Bourbon County High School in Millersburg. A Bachelors degree from Eastern University and some graduate work at the University of Kentucky, Lexington. She was assistant cafeteria supervisor at Eastern for three and one half years and taught Home Economics for 26½ years. She retired in 1975.
Joseph Henderson Bane, pharmacist at Rite Aid over on the hill, went to school at Orangeburg and to Mason County High School. He received a Bachelors degree in Biology from Eastern and another Bachelors degree in pharmacy from Butler University in Indianapolis, Indiana. He married Debbie Lawler, a nurse. They have two daughters, Christine, now a sophomore student at Transylvania University, in Lexington, Kentucky, and Pamela, now a third year student at Mason County High School.
(From Historical Collection, Williamsburg/Orangeburg, Mason County, Kentucky; see record 919-P.)
ORANGEBURG — Mr. Richard Pollitt of Maysville was the guest Sunday of Mr. R. L. Cooper.
(From Maysville Daily Bulletin, Maysville, Ky., Thursday, June 28, 1923; see record #612-P.)
ORANGEBURG — Mrs. Omer Pollitt and family spent Sunday with Mr. and Mrs. Robert Duzan.
(From Maysville Daily Bulletin, Maysville, Ky., Thursday, June 28, 1923; see record #612-P.)
HEALTH CONFERENCE AT DOVER THURSDAY —
Thursday afternoon of this week the child health conference for the county will be held at Dover from two to three o’clock.
Dr. S. M. Pollitt of Minerva will be the physician in attendance.
(From Maysville Daily Bulletin, Maysville, Ky., Wednesday, June 6, 1923; see record #612-P.)
RECTORVILLE — Rev. Hall Pollitt of Amelia, Ohio, accompanied by his son Stanley, of Akron, O., motored up here, the first of the week, and visited relatives and friends in this and [the] surrounding community.
(From Maysville Daily Bulletin, Maysville, Ky., Wednesday, May 23, 1923; see record #612-P.)
MAYSVILLE — Mr. B. B. Pollitt, of Louisville, formerly of this city, is spending a few days here on business.
(From Maysville Daily Bulletin, Maysville, Ky., May 15, 1923; see record #612-P.)
100 years ago (1896) —
Mr. John Pollitt won a $2,000 purse with one of his fine racers at Bloomington, Ill. races on Wednesday of last week. He is the son of Mr. R. H. Pollitt, of this city.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on October 28, 1996; see record #600-P.)
Flemingsburg couple are parents of son —
Mr. and Mrs. Rodney Pollitt, of Flemingsburg, are announcing the birth of a son, who made his advent August 28 at Columbia Hospital Maysville.
The little boy weighed seven pounds and 14 ounces at birth and has been named Jordan Taylor.
Mrs. Pollitt is the former April Hickerson and is employed by Emerson Power Transmission. The baby’s father is employed by Response Restoration Inc.
Grandparents sharing in the happiness of the birth are Mr. and Mrs. Jesse Hickerson Jr. and Mr. and Mrs. Wayne Pollitt.
The baby’s great-grandparents are Mr. and Mrs. Russell Doyle, Mr. and Mrs. Jesse Hickerson Sr., Mr. and Mrs. Tom Muse and Mrs. Mildred Pollitt.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Friday, November 1, 1996, pp. C-1; see record #600-P.)
Tollesboro couple will have 50th anniversary—
Alton Robert and Eleanor Ann Irwin, of Route 1, Tollesboro, will observe their 50th wedding anniversary on December 7.
The couple were married Dec. 24, 1946 at the Methodist parsonage of Rev. Raymond W. Mowbray, of Forest Hill, Maryland.
Mr. and Mrs. Irwin have one son and daughter-in-law, Pastor Robert Michael Irwin and Cinda Lee Irwin, of Huntington, W.Va. Their only grandson, Pastor Robert Michael Irwin Jr. and his wife, Jamie Erin, and their son, Zachary Michael, reside in Hillsboro, Ore.
An open house and reception will be held Saturday, Dec. 7, at the couple’s home on the Maysville Road, Tollesboro. The hours will be 2 to 4 p.m.
All family members and friends of the couple are cordially invited to attend and their presence is the only gift desired.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Friday, November 29, 1996, pp. C-1; see record #600-P.)
100 years ago (1896) —
Miss Lida Pollitt, of Maysville, and Miss Mattie Sidwell, of Tuckahoe, were guests of the family of Mr. Sam Pollitt at Tollesboro Sunday.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on November 27, 1996; see record #600-P.)
Lincoln Inn on Trail Razed —
CHILLICOTHE — Fire wrote an end to the 18-year history of the Lincoln Inn on Route 23 South near the Divide Hill Wednesday. The owner, his wife and nephew barely escaped before flames roared through their three-room living quarters in the tavern.
Melvin Pollitt, who built the log-style tavern in 1934, said he and his wife and a 13-year old nephew were preparing for bed about 1:15 a.m. when someone pounded on the tavern door and the telephone began to ring.
Neighbors had spotted flames on the roof and were trying to warn the Pollitts. Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt saved only a few pieces of household goods.
(From an unknown, Chillicothe, Ohio, newspaper account cited in record #923-P [personal notes about Melvin Harrison Pollitt]. The citation indicates the article was taken from the Chillicothe newspaper in 1952. A note included states that the nephew is William E. (Sonny) Willis. The Lincoln Inn was later rebuilt and operated by Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt for many years. At this time (May 1994) the building is being used as a church.)
If the Russell Theatre is architecturally the most interesting commercial building in downtown Maysville, then the Gothic Revival home directly across Third Street is perhaps the most intriguing residence.
It too shares a heritage with the Russell family of Maysville and was home to at least three generations of the Tom Russell family. Older folks can remember Tom Russell and his wife, Beatrice, who lived in the house for many years. Tom Russell died and Trice leased rooms to tobacco buyers and others before her death.
The Tom Russells had three sons, Chris, Barbour and Milton Russell, and it was Milton and his family who inherited the rambling three-story home built of red brick, gray stone and pink marble. Woody Russell, Milton’s wife, had lived in the home for many years before her death.
Actually, the house was built in 1886 by two brothers, George and William Cox…
Rooms on the lower floors are huge with massive woodwork and large openings between the double parlors on the ground floor. Stained-glass windows and inlaid stone are other features that make the Russell house unique and unforgettable…
(Portions of an editorial by Bob Hendrickson, editor of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., which ran on Wednesday, February 12, 1997, pp. 4B; see record #600-P.)
Cooper and Pollitt vows will be exchanged Aug. 1 —
Announcement is being made of the approaching marriage of Christina Cooper and Estill Pollitt.
The wedding to be in the Western tradition of blue jeans and cowboy style clothes will take place at 8 p.m. August 1 at the home of Ms. Cooper, of Burtonville.
Family members and friends of the couple are cordially invited to attend.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Thursday, July 17, 1997, pp. 4-B; see record #600-P.)
Mason County Militiamen from 1864 — Orangeburg Precinct:
N. Phillips, Gabriel Phillips, Robert Pollot, Addison Pollot, Moses Phillips, James Pollot, David Polly, Thomas O. Parry.
(From the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., March 13, 1985, see record #600-P; reprinted in record #919-P, Historical Collection, Williamsburg/Orangeburg, Mason County, Kentucky, Orangeburg Bicentennial Committee, 1996.)
100 years ago (1897) —
Good news for the people which want to attend Ruggles Camp Meeting. Mr. Samuel Pollitt, the accommodating ‘bus driver’ has reduced his fees to 75 cents round trip.
(From the Looking Back … column of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky.; 100 years ago, which ran on July 25, 1997; see record #600-P.)
John Kercheval, the eldest son of John and Frances (Gholson) Kercheval, was born in Spottsylvania County, Virginia, Sept. 12, 1762. Several years later the family moved to Frederick County and it was there that he enlisted at the age of fourteen in a company raised by the Rev. Charles Mynn Thruston in December, 1776. After six months’ service in New Jersey and Pennsylvania with Washington’s Army he was discharged and shortly afterward joined the Company of his future father-in-law, Capt. Thomas Berry of the 8th Virginia Regt., with which he continued to serve until the fall of 1778, when he returned home. In 1780 he enlisted under General Lafayette and was at the siege of Yorktown, after which he returned to Winchester in charge of a company of prisoners. In 1784 he states that he made a trip to Kentucky. Shortly after his return he married Jane Berry (Jan. 23, 1785). In 1798 he removed with his family, his mother, and his younger brother, James, to Mason County, Kentucky. Part of the journey was by flatboat down the Ohio, the party landing at the mouth of Limestone Creek. They moved about seven miles to the interior and land was cleared and a log cabin built on the high ground about a half mile above the North Fork of Licking River.
John Kercheval was elected to the State Legislature in 1802 and represented Mason County until 1808. In 1812 he raised a company for service in the War of 1812, calling two of his sons home from Virginia. For his services in the Revolutionary War he was pensioned on April 29th, 1834. He died Oct. 1, 1839, at Orangeburg, Ky., and is buried in the family burying ground a mile east of the bride over the North Fork of the Licking River, on the Maysville-Lexington Pike, in Mason County. His wife, Jane, survived him eleven years. The land upon which John Kercheval settled in 1798 had been purchased for Capt. Thomas Berry by his friend Edward Dobyns, and earlier settler, from Col. John Grant, ‘being part of Bartlett’s preemption.’ Capt. Berry, in his will, devises his extensive properties in Mason and Fleming Counties to his children and grandchildren.
The eldest of twelve children of John and Jane (Berry) Kercheval was Thomas Berry Kercheval (1786-1849) who married Mary Edmonson Mosby (widow of General James Mosby of Virginia and daughter of James Edmonson, an early settler of Kentucky)…He died in 1849 and his wife went to spend the remainder of her life with her youngest daughter, Harriet Farrar, near Concord, N. H.
Lewis Craig Kercheval, the second son of John and Jane (Berry) Kercheval, was one of the committee appointed by Governor Desha to escort General Lafayette on his tour of Kentucky in 1824. The noted Frenchman drove a mile and a half off his route to greet John Kercheval at his home, who had served under him more than forty years before. Lewis Craig Kercheval later went to Fort Dearborn (Chicago) and soon was one of the leading men of the community…
Lucinda Kercheval, the third child of John and Jane (Berry) Kercheval, was born Aug. 30, 1789, in Virginia and when nine years old was taken to Kentucky. She returned to Virginia in 1802 and remained with her mother’s parents until their death in 1818. The following April 19th she married Elijah Groves, the son of William Groves (one of General Daniel Morgan’s riflemen in the Revolution). They made their home in Mason County, Kentucky, near Mayslick. He died in 1844 and Mrs. Groves in 1871. They had seven children, the first being Jane Ann Groves (1821-1850) who married Benjamin Dobyns Parry (1820-1907), son of Thomas and Mary (Dobyns) Parry.
Benjamin Berry Kercheval, the fifth child, was born in Clarke County, Virginia, April 9, 1793. He and his brother, Lewis, and their cousin Samuel Kercheval, Jr., attended the Academy at Winchester. In 1812 the two brothers were called home for service in the west in the War of 1812. Benjamin Berry Kercheval became acquainted with Lewis Cass and was persuaded by him to locate in Detroit. There he married Maria Forsyth Jan. 18, 1821…Kercheval Avenue, a long and beautiful thoroughfare in Detroit was named in his honor. He died March 23, 1855. Of their nine children, three raised families…
Evalina Anniville Kercheval, eighth child of John and Jane (Berry) Kercheval, was born in Mason County, Ky., Oct. 2, 1799. Nov. 9, 1830, she married her cousin William Kennan, son of William Kennan and Sarah Berry. He was born near Flemingsburg Jan. 12, 1800. Evalina Kennan died April 4, 1869, at Orangeburg following the death of her husband on the 16th of the preceding month. Of their seven children, four raised families. (Wm. Kennan, Sr., was one of the earliest settlers in Fleming County, Ky. His daughter, Louisa, was the wife of Genl. A. P. Hill, C. S. A…) The eldest child of William and Evalina (Kercheval) Kennan was Sarah Jane, who married Robert A. Toup and lived in Mason County. They had John K., Eva Maria (Nute), and Robert Toup. The second child of William and Evalina Kennan was Wm. Franklin who married Kate Pollitt; the fourth was Charles Kennan, born in 1837 and died recently near Maysville, leaving a large family in Mason County. The sixth, Frances Catherine, married Garland Rice Bullock.
Sophia Kercheval, ninth child of John and Jane (Berry) Kercheval, was born Nov. 1801 in Mason County, Ky., and married Henry B. Dicken. They settled in Kenton County…
Franklin Kercheval, the tenth child of John and Jane Kercheval, was born in Kentucky Dec. 24, 1803, and married there Matilda Berry, daughter of Geo. and Joanna (Clift) Berry. He died in 1832 leaving one daughter, Sarah Jane…
The youngest son of John and Jane (Berry) Kercheval was Gholson Kercheval, born in Mason County, Ky., December 4, 1805. He was one of the earliest settlers of Chicago…
The youngest daughter of John and Jane (Berry) Kercheval was Frances Katherine Jane Kercheval, born April 10, 1807, in Mason County, Ky., and married Aug. 30, 1830, at Mayslick, Ky., Edward Groves, son of Wm. and Anise (Dundy) Groves. He died at Mayslick June 1, 1833, and she August 8, 1899, leaving two daughters…
(Something About the Kercheval Family, by Buerdon Groves Parry and Lee Kerchval Carr, included in the book Genealogies of Kentucky Families (Volume 1: A–M), reprinted from The Register of the Kentucky Historical Society; reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., Baltimore, 1981; copied from Family Tree Maker CD-ROM, Broderbund Software, Inc., Banner Blue Division; pp. 635-641; see record #929P.)
A HOT BLAZE —
The Building Occupied by Mr. George Pollitt Badly Damaged – A Narrow Escape —
The small two-story brick building occupied by Mr. George Pollitt as a meat store and residence at 110 East Third street, opposite Martin Bros.’ confectionery, was badly damaged by fire last night.
Mr. and Mrs. Pollitt sleep in the front room on the second floor. At 11:30 o’clock they were aroused by the cry of fire, and awoke to find that the rooms in the rear were in flames. The smoke was so dense and the fire so hot that their escape by the stairway was cut off. Mr. Pollitt threw some bed clothes out the front window and then assisted his wife out. Parties on the pavement caught her as she dropped and she escaped unharmed. Mr. Pollitt then made his exit by lowering himself from a window and dropping to the pavement.
Before the fire department succeeded in extinguishing the flames the rear of the building was gutted.
Mr. Pollitt lost most all his household goods, and places his damage at about $300. It was covered by a policy for that amount in the Phoenix of Hartford, Mr. W. N. Howe agent. Mr. Pollitt saved his stock of meat and the store fixtures.
The loss on building is placed at $500; insured in Phoenix of Brooklyn, Dr. Fleming agent.
The fire started from a defective flue.
(From the weekly Maysville Evening Bulletin, Maysville, Ky.; November 7, 1895; see record #606-P.)
Rectorville News — The remains of Mrs. Kate Kennan of Orangeburg were interred in Mt. Olivet Cemetery Saturday and Miss Jane Thomas of Lewis County on Monday.
(From the Maysville Daily Public Ledger, Thursday, January 19, 1899.)
Bridgeport News — Miss Geneva Pollitt spent the holidays with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Omar Pollitt.
(From the Maysville Daily Independent, Saturday, January 5, 1929.)
A. C. Pollitt and wife visited Rev. Hall Pollitt of Mount Olivet Saturday and Sunday.
(From the Maysville Evening Bulletin, Wednesday, July 26, 1899.)
Daniel Webster has sold his farm to Louis Bean and has purchased another one near Rectorville.
(From the Looking back… column, 100 years ago, of the Ledger-Independent, Maysville, Ky., Saturday, February 14, 1998, pp. 2-C; see record #600-P.)