Starting Sept. 30, 2014, Genealogy.com will be making a big change. GenForum message boards, Family Tree Maker homepages, and the most popular articles will be preserved in a read-only format, while several other features will no longer be available, including member subscriptions and the Shop.
 
Learn more


[ Home Page | First Page | Previous Page | Next Page | Last Page ]

Ancestors of Margaret May Harvey


      6. Robert Findlay Reid, Jr, born 27 Nov 1842 in Indianapolis, Marion County, IN93,94,95; died 30 Oct 1924 in Altus, Jackson County, OK96,97. He was the son of 12. Robert Findlay Reid, Sr* and 13. Sarah Ogle. He married 7. Henrietta Bradshaw 04 Jul 1866 in Rock Island County, IL98.

      7. Henrietta Bradshaw, born 10 Oct 1845 in Groveland Township, Tazewell County, IL99,100,101; died 11 Mar 1917 in Altus, Jackson County, OK102,103,104. She was the daughter of 14. Robert Bradshaw, Sr and 15. Sarah Owens.

Notes for Robert Findlay Reid, Jr:
ROBERT FINDLAY REID, JR

Robert was orphaned at an early age and was raised by his sister in Harrisburg, PA, until her marriage. He was then indentured out until he ran away to live with an uncle in Peoria, IL. It was there that he enlisted in the Union Army at the outbreak of the Civil War.

Robert was a sergeant major in the Union Army (45th Illinois Infantry) during the Civil War. He kept a journal from October 28, 1864, to January 2, 1865, while serving with General Sherman in Georgia. The journal chronicles their journey from Marietta, GA, through Atlanta, to Savannah.

Robert also served at Vicksburg, MS.

Robert participated in the Grand March in Washington, DC, at the end of the war before being mustered out.

After the war, he married and moved to Rock Island, IL, and worked at the Rock Island Arsenal and served as Rock Island County treasurer, before moving to Kansas. Robert arrived in Greer County from Kansas with his family in 1888. A prairie fire wiped out their Kansas wheat crop and they were unable to make the payments on their land. He first looked at land in Colorado but decided to move to Greer County.

On 7/24/1888, he purchased two mules, a wagon and a Winchester rifle in Vernon, TX, and filed on a homestead four miles north and one mile east of Altus. His first house was a dugout on the southeast quarter of the property where he and his wife and nine children lived. ---"A Reid Family"
[]

1850 DAUPHIN COUNTY, PA, CENSUS
559/619
line 25
Sarah Reed, 42, f, seemstress, real estate value=$700, born PA
Jane F., 19, f, born PA
John W., 14, m, born PA
Jane, 10, f, born PA
Robert, 7, m, born PA
[]

1860 PEORIA COUNTY ILLINOIS CENSUS

Reid, Robert F. IL PEORIA CO. 4W.PEORIA CITY 291 1860
living with brother John W. Reid & family, including Catherine Ogle
2356/2359
line 26

ROBERT F. REID; 18; m; farmer; $300; $25; Penn.
[]

THE GRAND REVIEW
23-24 May 1865
Washington DC

The following are two views of the Grand Review or Grand March of the victorious federal armies in Washington DC after the final Confederat surrender. The armies marched for two days through the city and in front of a grandstand containing the president, local and national dignitaries and the victorious generals.

from the GRANT MEMOIRS, by Ulysses Simpson Grant, CH 46-70, html coding by Richard Jensen 7-28-98

"On the 18th of May orders were issued by the adjutant-general for a grand review by the President and his cabinet of Sherman’s and Meade’s armies. The review commenced on the 23d and lasted two days. Meade's army occupied over six hours of the first day in passing the grand stand which had been erected in front of the President’s house. Sherman witnessed this review from the grand stand which was occupied by the President and his cabinet. Here he showed his resentment for the cruel and harsh treatment that had unnecessarily been inflicted upon him by the Secretary of War, by refusing to take his extended hand.

"Sherman’s troops had been in camp on the south side of the Potomac. During the night of the 23d he crossed over and bivouacked not far from the Capitol. Promptly at ten aclock on the morning of the 24th, his troops commenced to pass in review. Sherman’s army made a different appearance from that of the Army of the Potomac. The latter had been operating where they received directly from the North full supplies of food and clothing regularly: the review of this army therefore was the review of a body of 65,000 well-drilled, well-disciplined and orderly soldiers inured to hardship and fit for any duty, but without the experience of gathering their own food and supplies in an enemy's country, and of being ever on the watch. Sherman’s army was not so well dressed as the Army of the Potomac, but their marching could not be excelled; they gave the appearance of men who had been thoroughly drilled to endure hardslups, either by long and continuous marches or through exposure to any climate, without the ordinary shelter of a camp. They exhibited also some of the order of march through Georgia where the "sweet potatoes sprung up from the ground” as Sherman’s army went marching through. In the rear of a company there would be a captured horse or mule loaded with small cooking utensils, captured chickens and other food picked up for the use of the men. Negro families who had followed the army would sometimes come along in the rear of a company, with three or four children packed upon a single mule, and the mother leading it.

"The sight was varied and grand nearly all day for two successive days, from the Capitol to the Treasury Building, could be seen a mass of orderly soldiers marching in columns of companies. The National flag was flying from almost every house and store; the windows were filled with spectators; the door-steps and side-walks were crowded with colored people and poor whites who did not succeed in securing better quarters from which to get a view of the grand armies. The city was about as full of strangers who had come to see the sights as it usually is on inauguration day when a new President takes his seat." ---http://home.nycap.rr.com/history/grant4.html
[]

FROM http://pw1.netcom.com/~derson/index.html: REGARDING MARCHING IN THE GRAND REVIEW IN
WASHINGTON DC

On May 24th, 1865, marched to Washington and took part in the Grand Review, an account of which we quote from Headley's 'History of the Civil War' of the United States:

"As a fitting close to this long and terrible struggle which the country as passed through, a grand review of the two armies of Grant and Sherman tock place in the National Capital on the 23rd and 24th of May, in the presence of the President and Cabinet, and foreign Ministers. As the bronzed and proud veterans marched up Pennsylvania Avenue, the heavens resounded with the acclamations of the multitude, and the air was filled with boquets of flowers that were rained on the noble leaders. The Duke of Wellington said, when 50,000 troops were reviewed in the Champs Elysees, after the occupation of Paris by the Allies, that it was "a sight of a life time;" but here nearly two hundred thousand marched in an apparently endless stream past the Presidential mansion, not conscrips forced into the ranks, but citizens, who had voluntarily taken up arms to defend, not a monarch’s rights, but their own.

"Yet, sublime as was this spectacle, it sunk into insignificance before the grandure of the one presented a few days after, when this army, strong enough to conquer a hemisphere, melted suddenly away into the mass of the people and was seen no more. Its deeds of renown had filled the civilized world, and European statesmen looked on and wondered what disposition could be made of it, and where it would go, or what it would do. It was one of the grandest armies that ever bore on its bayonet points the destinies of a king or a nation - a consolidation and embodiment of power seldom witnessed; and yet, while the gaze of the world was fixed upon it, it disappeared like a vision, and when one looked for it he saw only peaceful citizens engaged in their usual occupations.

"The General whose martial achievements had been repeated in almost every language under the sun, was seen amid his papers in his old law office, which he had left at the call of his country - the brave Colonel, who had led many a gallant charge, was in him coming home, acting as though he had been absent only a few days on business, while the veterans of the rank and file, whose battle shout had rung over many bloody fields, could only be found by name as one bent over his saw and plane, and another swung his sythe in the harvest field, or plied his humble toil along the streets. It was a marvelous sight, the grandest the world ever saw. It had been the peoples war -- the people had carried it on, and having finished their own work, quietly laid aside the instruments with which they had accomplished it, and again took up those of peaceful industry. Never on earth did a government exhibit such stability and assert its superiority over all other forms, as did this republican government of ours, in the way its armies disappeared when the struggles was over," ---http://pw1.netcom.com/~derson/index.html ---end of excerpts about the Grand Review.
[]

LETTER FROM JEAN REID TO RCM
7/20/00

Ron Myers

Thank you for clearing up the death date for Robert Findlay Reid. I am enclosing a copy of his obituary, along with a life sketch written by Eugene for an Oklahoma history project, and a typed transcription of a letter to the first R. F. Reid from his father in Ireland.

You may already have them if you are in contact with Jim.

He stopped here once years ago. He said he had his father’s files, but did not plan to do anything with them, at least until he retired.

My father was John Ralph Reid, the oldest son of Thomas B. He and my mother visited the people at Altus several times on their trips to California, and corresponded, too; but our generations have lost touch. We have often wondered who might be still living and if a descendant is still on the old homestead.

I am gathering my Bradshaw information and will send it soon. Jean Reid ---courtesy of Jean Reid
[]

1924 OBITUARY ROBERT FINDLAY REID, JR
"Pioneer Greer County Settler Died Thursday"
"Robert Findlay Reid, Civil War Veteran of Federal Army Is Dead"

Robert Findlay Reid, age 82, pioneer resident of old Greer county, died at his home six miles northeast of Altus Thursday night. Funeral services will be conducted here by Reverend Robert Hodgson, Sunday.

Mr. Reid is survived by four daughters and three sons, all of whom will be here for the funeral services. The children are Mrs. J. R. Raines, Altus; James G. Reid, Altus; D. O. Reid, Altus; Mrs. Lois Gentry, Lincoln, Neb.; Mrs. Edith Tyner, Ponca City; Thomas B. Reid, Hebbing, Minn.

Marched Through Georgia
The deceased was a verteran of the civil war. he enlisted in the Forty-Fifth illinois infantry and served gallantly at Shiloh, Fort Donaldson, Corinth, the seige of Vicksburg and was with Sherman on his march to the sea.

Mr. Reid was born November 27, 1842, at Indianapolis, Indiana, but moved to Harrisburg, Pa., when a child. He later lived in Rock Island, Illinois, from which place he enlisted in the federal army. He moved to Nemaha county, Kansas, in 1882 and from there to what was then Greer County, Texas, in July 1888. ---end of obit (probably from the Altus Times-Democrat newspaper, Altus, OK, November, 1924)
[]

BIOGRAPHY OF ROBERT FINDLAY REID, JR
FAMILY HISTORY
excerpt from "A Reid Family"
by Eugene Harvey Reid
unpublished

Robert Findlay Reid Jr. was the youngest son of five children of Robert Findlay Reid Sr. and Sarah Ogle Reid of Harrisburg, Pa., and Indianapolis, Ind. He came to Roct Island, Ill.after four years service in the 45th Illinois Regiment of infantry volunteers. He was a Sergeant-Major in "H" company amd was with Grant's command at Vicksburg and with Wm.T. Sherman in his march from Atlanta to the sea.

After the war one of his first acts was to marry his schoolmate sweetheart, Henrietta Bradshaw who had corresponded with him through the four years of army service. He was employed for a time by his older brother, David Ogle Reid, who was in business in Moline, Ill. He also worked at the Government Arsenal on the Island. Later he was elected County treasurer of Rock Island, Ill. and served two terms. Soon after his second term expired in 1882 he moved to a farm in Nemaha County, Kansas near Axtell where he fared for awhile. He became discouraged with trying to pay off a heavy farm mortgage while supporting a large family.

In 1887 hearing of an irrigation project in Colorado, he and his oldest son made a trip to Denver, Colo. The type of work required on irrigated land did not appeal to them. However while there they heard of Greer County, Texas where they were offering land for homesteading along the border of the Indian Territory. They went back to their Kansas farm and the following year he and his second son made the trip to the new land. They found it to their liking and staked out a claim to 640 acres four miles north and one mile east of what is now known as Altus, Okla. (Section 28, Twp 3, north of range 20 west). At that time the PO was Frazier west of the present city of Altus on Bitter Creek. I do not know the exact date of their arrival at the claim but I have a receipt from a store in Vernon for 2 mules, a wagon and a Winchester dated July 24, 1888,

They built what is known to the early settlers as a half-dugout, a well for drinking water and bought a few necessary tools for farming. In the meantime the family in Kansas concluded the sale of the Kansas farm, packed their household belongings for the trip across the prairies of Kansas and the Indian Territory to what was known as Greer County, Texas. The family arrived some time in November of 1888. There were nine children the youngest only nine months old. It must have been quite a shock to see the new home and to remember the two story modern home they had left only a few years before in the city of Rock Island, Ill.

Be that as it may they were young and determined to make the best of conditions as they were. Grandfather Reid started a wheat and cattle raising operation. He did carpenter work in the fall and winter. Grandmother Reid entered the Indian Service at Rainy Mountain School near what now is Roosevelt, Okla. One of the boys went to work assembling grain harvesters at Vernon. They were all able and willing to work and it was not long before their new claim began to look like a comfortable home. They brought in what supplies they needed from Vernon or Quanah forty miles away. Crossing Red River very often was an exciting operation and sometimes a tragic one. The county seat was Mangum some twenty five miles away where the legal operations of the county was carried on. Six healthy, good looking girls in that pioneer country were sought after and it was not long until the Reid family was related to a lot of people in and around Greer County.

A one room school building was erected on the SE corner of John D. Baker's section next to the Robert F. Reid SW quarter section, about 1890, and the younger members of the family attended school there. Mr. E. P. Stuart was the first teacher. Three or four years later the school house was moved a mile north and half mile east on the line between Henry Parchman and George Mitchell. It was generally known as Pleasant Point though at various times it was called Lickskillet or Clabber Flats. About 1915 or 16 a three room school was built one half mile farther east. Shortly thereafter the consolidation fever went the rounds and it was combined with Friendship school. Still later I understand Friendship was combined with the Warren school.

In 1896 the question of ownership of Greer County was settled in the courts in favor of the federal government and the address became Greer Co, Okla. Territory. Frazer PO had been flooded out by Bitter Creek and the south fork of Red River in 1891. The few builings there were moved to higher ground some two miles east and the village of Altus began to rise. Various stores were established so the trips that were necessary to Vernon and Quanah were few and far between. The area prospered and in due time the question of statehood was proposed and separation of Greer county was suggested and pushed rather vigorously. There was a hot election to settle the question of separation of the county seat of each new county. Altus won as county seat of Jackson County against Olustee. In 1907 Okla Territory and Indian Territory became the State of Okla., the 46th state in the union.

Grandfather Reid was a very interesting and well informed person. He had quite a large library for a pioneer and subscribed for a number of papers and magazines. I remember the "Chicago Interocean" and "The Kansas City Star." As he grew older he spent much time smoking his pipe filled with "Prince Albert Tobacco" and reading. He wrote a very nice legible hand and left quite a few records of the early days and a diary of his Civil War experiences. He owned a large windmill, a garden and an orchard that were the equal of any I have seen in that dry country. His wife, Henrietta had always seemed to be cooking some tasty meal. That place was a sort of "round up" for the Reid family on Sunday and many things were discussed and planned there.

They both lived out their time on the old homestead and saw many changes. They are buried in the old section of the Altus Cemetery not far away. Only the two youngest members of the family are living, Margaret Raines, 1210 N. Crain, Altus, Okla, and Mrs. Edna Reid Amend 2112 Arlington Ave, Lawton, Okla. ---(written by Eugene H. Reid in 1974)
[]

REGIMENTAL HISTORY OF THE 45TH ILLINOIS INFANTRY

45th Illinois Infantry

The WASHBURNE LEAD MINE REGIMENT was organized by John F. Smith, of Galena, Illinois, who was commissioned Colonel of Volunteers, July 23, 1861. This Regiment, during its organization rendezvoused at the JoDaviess county fair grounds, near Galena, and the camp was named Camp Washbume, in honor of B. B. Washbume, member of Congress from the Galena district. Seven companies of the Regiment only, were in camp at Galena, but the regimental organization was fully completed and the Regiment armed with the short Enfield rifle.

November 22, 1861, Camp Wasbburne was broken up, and the Regiment ordered into camp, at Camp Douglas, Chicago. Here the full complement of ten companies was made up, and the Regiment, as a Regiment, mustered into the service of the United States, as the Forty-fifth Illinois Regiment, December 25, 1861.

January 12, 1862, the Regiment left Camp Douglas for Cairo, Illinois, where it went into camp on the 15th of January.

Febmary 1, the Forty-fifth was assigned to the Second Brigade, commanded by Colonel W. H. L. Wallace, First Division, commanded by General John A. McClemand

Febnmry 2, the Regiment left Cairo with General Grant's army for the Tennessee River, and on the 4th pitched its tents in the first camp in the field, at Camp Halleck, four miles below Fort Henry. On the evening of the 6th of February, the Regiment marched into Fort Henry, the enemy having moved out the same day.

February I 1, the Forty-fifth, with the division, moved out of camp at Fort Henry at 4 o'clock P.M. and took the direct road for Fort Donelson.

February 13, during the forenoon, it took its position on the right of the line. The afternoon of the 13th, the Forty-fifth was sent to the relief of the Forty-ninth Illinois Infantry, which was engaged close up to the enemy's works, and received its "baptism of fire". It came hot, but brief, and the Regiment emerged benefited by the encounter. The Forty-fifth bore its full share of the three days' fight at Donelson, though its loss was small only 2 killed and 26 wounded

The Regiment remained in camp at Fort Donelson until March 4, when it marched across the country to the mouth of the Big Sandy, and took boats up the Tennessee River to Savannah, arriving on the 11th.

Remained in camp at Savannah until March 25. While at Savanna the Forty-fifth formed part of what was called the "Pin Hook expedition", which was simply a two or three days' scout into the interior towards Pin Hook.

March 25, moved to Pittsburg Landing and went into camp with McClernands Division. The camp of the Forty-fifth was at the junction of the Purdy and Corinth roads, not far from Shiloh church.

April 6, the Regiment had its regular Sunday morning inspection, and left its arms stacked on the color line at the close, to take breakfast. The breakfast call had just sounded, when the "long roll" was beat on the color line, and in three minutes, at most, the men had their arms in their hands, and the officers were in their places. The order was to move to the left and front, "double quick', to support Sherman. The Forty-fifth went into the fight at Shiloh with about 500 men. It was in the front line from first to last of the two days' fight. On Sunday it fought mainly on its "own hook" after the first engagement, under the command of Colonel Smith, and fought back and forth over the same ground a number of times. Late in the day it fell back, liesurely, and took its place with its Brigade and Division, on the right of the line, when the final stand was made. Here the Forty-fifth laid on its arms during the night in the rain, and moved forward on Monday morning at daylight. The second day it was a forward movement nearly all day and after the final charge, Monday, the Regiment stopped almost in its old camp, from which it had so suddenly departed on Sunday monung.

The losses of the Forty-fifth at Shiloh were 26 killed, and 199 wounded and missing. The missing, not wounded, were but few, and they rejoined the Regiment when it went into its old camp, about dark on Monday.

April 24, the Forty-fifth broke camp at Shiloh, and moved forward with the army on its slow approach upon Corinth. During the siege, the Forty-fifth was attached to the First Brigade, Third Division of the Reserve. Its labors in the trenches were severe; its dangers were few.

June 4, 1862, the Forty-fifth was ordered from Corinth to Jackson, Tenn., where it arrived with the Third Brigade on the 5th of June, and went into camp in a beautiful grove just east of town. The summer of 1862 was spent in camp at Jackson, or on railroad guard duty at different points along the line.

August 11, the Regiment was assigned to guard duty south of Jackson, on the line of the
Mississippi Central Railroad. Four companies were stationed at Medon, one company at
Treager's, and five companies at Toon's.

On the 31st of August, Armstrong's rebel cavalry brigade raided within the Union lines, and struck the railroad just north of Toon's, at Treager's and at Medon. Company C, was captured at Treager's. At Medon a sharp fight occurred but the rebels were repulsed. The loss in the Forty-fifth was 3 killed, 13 wounded and 43 taken prisoners.

September 17, the Regiment returned to Jackson.

November 2, moved from Jackson to Lagrange, Tenn. The Regiment did provost guard duty in
Lagrange until November 28, when it moved with the army on the Holly Springs campaign. The
Forty-fifth marched south as far as Spring Dale, where it countermarched for the return trip.

At Spring Dale, Colonel John E Smith received his commission as Brigadier General and took formal leave of the Regiment, though he had been in command of a brigade for some months.

The Forty-fifth moved on the return march December 22, to north of the Tallahatchie River, where it remained until January 1, 1863, when it continued its northern march to Memphis.

In the month of February, the Forty-fdth moved with General Grant's Army on transports down the river from Memphis to take part in the Vicksburg campaign. Stops were made at Lake Providence, Vista Plantation and Milliken's Bend. At Milliken's Bend, volunteers were called for to run the batteries with transports at Vicksburg The entire Regiment, officers and men, volunteered for this duty. The matter was decided by making a detail of the quota assigned to the Forty-fifth. The detail comprised the crew which manned the steamer Anglo Saxon, and took her safely through, loaded with a full cargo of commissary stores. The following composed the detail: Commander, Captain L. B. Fisk, Co. B, Pilots, Privates Charles Evans, Co. D, Joshua Kendall, Co. K, Engineers, Sergeant A. J. Esping, Co. B, Charles Flint, Co. G.; Firemen, Privates J. M Primmer, Co. F, Wm. Tripp, Co. G, Jonny Paul, Co. C.

May 1, 1863, found the Forty-fifth on the east bank of the Mississippi at Bruinsburg, below Vicksburg, and the same day started with General Grant's army on the famous campaign which ended in the capture of Vicksburg. The Regiment participated in all the battles of the campaign forming part of Logan's Division.

The position of the Forty-fifth during the siege of Vicksburg was immediately at the White House, on the Jackson road, in front of the rebel Fort Hill, regarded as the key to the fortress.

The Forty-fifth took part in three charges against the rebel works, on the 19th and 22d of May, and the 25th of June. On the 22d Major Luther H. Cowen was instantly killed. About a month was occupied in running a sap and digging a mine under Fort Hill. June 25, the mine having been charged, the match was applied. The Forty-fifth was selected as the storming party, when the breach should be made. Immediately after the explosion, the Regiment rushed into the crater, but was met with a murderous fire by the enemy, who was still protected by an embankment of about three feet in width, which had been thrown up by the rebels as an inner line in case the outer works should be demolished. The loss to the Forty-fifth in this charge, was 83 officers and men killed and wounded. Among the killed were Melancthon Smith, Lieutenant Colonel, Leander B. Fisk, Major, and a number of non-comnissioned officers and men. Among the wounded was Jasper A. Maltby, Colonel of the Regiment. It was a bloody affair indeed. When the city surrendered, on account of its conspicuous service during the siege, by order of General Grant, the Forty-fifth was given the advance of the Union army when it entered that stronghold, and its flag was raised upon the court house by Colonel Wm. E. Strong, of General McPherson's staff, to denote the possession of the city by the Federal army.

The Forty-fifth was detailed for provost guard duty in Vicksburg on the 4th of July, and continued to do duty until October 14, when it was relieved, to take part in the Canton raid, during which a skirmish occurred with the rebels at Boguechitto, on the 17th.

From November 7, 1863 until February 3, 1864, the Forty-fifth was in camp at Black River, some ten miles east of Vicksburg.

In the months of December and January the Regiment, almost to a man re-enlisted as Veterans.

From February 3 to March 4, the Forty-fifth took part in the "Meridian raid", and was engaged in the skirmish at Chucky Station, where three men of the Regiment were wounded.

March 17, the Forty-fifth left Vicksburg for Cairo, where it was given a thirty days' veteran furlough.

May 4, the Regiment again rendezvoused at Cairo, and rejoined the army, then on the Atlanta campaign, the 7th day of June, at Etowah Bridge, Ga., going by steamer from Cairo to Clifton, Tenn., and thence marching overland, via Pulaski, Tenn, Huntsville and Decatur, Ala, Rome and Kingston, Ga. From this date the Forty-fifth took its share in the Atlanta campaign, before and after the fall of Atlanta, until the beginning of the "march to the sea".

On the "march to the sea" the Forty-fifth was attached to the Seventeenth Army Corps, as it had been during the Vicksburg campaign, and from the first organization of that famous Corps. Left Atlanta November 12 and arrived in Savannah December 21, 1864.

January 4, 1865, the Forty-fifth left Savannah, Ga., by steamer and debarked at Beaufort, S.C., on the 13tb.

January 14, the Forty-fifth was engaged in the attack on Pocataligo, S.C., and suffered a loss of 8 men wounded, before the place was taken.

January 30, the Forty-fifth left Pocataligo to continue the march through the Carolinas, via
Orangeburg, Columbia, Ridgeway and Winsboro to Sugar Loaf Mountain, where, on the 28th of
February, it went into camp, having marched over 300 miles in less than a month.

March 3, moved on by Cheraw, Fayetteville and Bentonville to Goldsboro, N. C., where it arrived March 24, having been in the wilderness over fifty days. At Fayetteville, March 11, the city surrendered to Sherman's "Bummers", and Wm. C. Taylor, then a private, but afterwards Quartermaster of the Forty-fifth received the surrender at the hands of the Mayor.

April 10, the line of march from Goldsboro was continued. The Forty-fifth moved on to Raleigh and Greensboro, and then back again to Raleigh, where it received the news of the surrender of Lee's and Johnston's armies, and saw and heard that the rebellion was a failure and that the war was over.

May 1, 1865, the Forty-fifth, with the rest of the Seventeenth Army Corps, took up its march for Washington, D.C., via Richmond. This was its hardest march of the war. The Fifteenth and Seventeenth Army Corps were engaged in a sort of foot race, to see which would reach Washington first. The Seventeenth Corps in one day made 39 miles; the Fifteenth Corps made in one day 35 miles. It was a hard tussle, but neither Corps won the race. They arrived at Alexandria and went into camp on the same day, May 19,1865.

From May 14, 1864 to May 19, 1865, the Forty-fifth marched 1,750 miles.

The Forty-fifth participated in the Grand Review at Washington, May 23 and 24.

June 6, the Regiment left camp at Washington for Louisville, Ky., by rail, and arrived at the latter city on the 8th.

July 12, 1865, the Regiment was mustered out of service at Louisville, Ky., and arrived in Chicago, July 15, 1865, for final pay and discharge.
[]

>>>>>CONTINUED AT MARRIAGE NOTES FOR ROBERT REID AND HENRIETTA BRADSHAW>>>>>

More About Robert Findlay Reid, Jr:
Burial: 1924, Altus Cemetery, Altus, Jackson County, OK
Census 1: 1860, Peoria County, IL, Peoria
Census 2: 1850, Dauphin County, PA
Census 3: 1870, ?
Census 4: 1880, Rock Island County, IL, Rock Island
Census 5: 1890, N/A
Census 6: 1900, Greer County, OK Territory105
Census 7: 1910, ?
Census 8: 1920, ?
Family Bible: 1842, birth record106
Historical: 24 May 1865, Marched in the Grand Review in Washington after the final Confederate surrender.
Homestead: Aft. Jul 1888, Greer County, TX
Individual Note 1: Apr 1997, subject of the Harvey-Reid Family History at the Jackson County, OK, Historical Society107
Individual Note 2: 01 Jan 1865, Samuel Cains letter to R F Reid, Jr108
Individual Note 3: 13 Apr 1997, subject of newspaper article about Reid-Harvey family history presentation at the Jackson County Historical Soc.109
Migration 1: Jul 1888, Nemaha County, KS, to Greer County, TX (OK)110
Migration 2: Harrisburg, PA, to Peoria, IL/Harrisburg, Dauphin Co., PA110
Migration 3: 1843, Indianapolis, IN, to Harrisburg, PA110
Migration 4: Aft. 1865, Peoria, IL, to Moline and Rock Island, IL110
Migration 5: 1882, Rock Island, IL, to Nemaha County, KS
Military 1: Bet. 1861 - 1865, Civil War - 45th Illinois Infantry, sgt maj, H Co.
Military 2: Bet. 29 Apr - 30 May 1862, Siege of Corinth, MS
Military 3: Feb 1862, Battle of Ft Donelson, KY
Military 4: Bet. 06 - 07 Apr 1862, Battle of Shiloh, near Savannah, TN
Military 5: Feb 1862, Battle of Ft Henry, KY
Military 6: Bet. Dec 1862 - 04 Jul 1863, Served at the Battle of Vicksburg, MS111
Military 7: Bet. Dec 1862 - 04 Jul 1863, Civil War/Vicksburg, MS, in Gen. Grant's command.112
Military 8: Bet. 06 May - 02 Sep 1864, Served at the Georgia Campaign of General Sherman113,114
Occupation 1: Aft. 1865, carpenter115
Occupation 2: Aft. 1865, binder mechanic115
Occupation 3: Aft. 1865, blacksmith115
Occupation 4: Aft. 1865, windmill mechanic115
Occupation 5: Abt. 1866, Rock Island Arsenal
Occupation 6: 1900, farmer116
Political: Bet. 1865 - 1882, 2 terms as Rock Island County, IL, treasurer
Residence 1: Bet. 1882 - 1887, Nemaha County, KS
Residence 2: Bef. 1860, Peoria, IL
Residence 3: Bet. 1865 - 1882, Rock Island, IL
Roll Of Honor: Bet. 1861 - 1865, American Civil War

  Notes for Henrietta Bradshaw:
TEACHER

Taught home economics at the Rainy Mountain Indian School to help support the family farm.
[]


>>>>>CONTINUED FROM NOTES OF ROBERT REID>>>>>

FROM: THE NATIONAL PARK SERVICE, CIVIL WAR SOLDIERS AND SAILORS SYSTEM
http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/soldiers.htm

UNION ILLINOIS VOLUNTEERS
45th Regiment, Illinois Infantry

Organized at Galena, Ill., and mustered in at Camp Douglas, Ill., December 25, 1861. Moved to Cairo, Ill., January 12, 1862, and duty there till February 2. Attached to District of Cairo to February, 1862. 2nd Brigade, 1st Division, District of West Tennessee, and Army of the Tennessee, to March, 1862. 2nd Brigade, 1st Division, Army of the Tennessee, to July, 1862. 2nd Brigade, District of Jackson, to September, 1862. 3rd Brigade, District of Jackson, to November, 1862. 1st Brigade, 3rd Division, Right Wing 13th Army Corps (Old), Department of the Tennessee, to December, 1862. 1st Brigade, 3rd Division, 17th Army Corps, Army of the Tennessee, to July, 1865.

SERVICE.- Operations against Fort Henry, Tenn., February 2-6, 1862. Capture of Fort Henry February 6. Investment and capture of Fort Donelson, Tenn., February 12-16. Duty at Fort Donelson till March 4. Moved to Savannah, Tenn., March 4-11. Expedition to Pin Hook March 18-19. Moved to Pittsburg Landing, Tenn., March 25. Battle of Shiloh, Tenn., April 6-7. Advance on and siege of Corinth, Miss., April 29-May 30. Moved to Bethel, thence to Jackson, Tenn., June 4-8. Guard R. R. there till August 11. Action at Medon August 3. Guard Mississippi Central R. R. August 11 to September 17 (4 companies at Medon, 5 companies at Toon's, Co. "G" at Treager's). Actions with Armstrong at Meadon, Toon's and Treager's August 31 (Co. "G" captured at Treager's). Duty at Jackson, Tenn., till November 2. Grant's Central Mississippi Campaign. Operations on the Mississippi Central R. R. to the Yockna River, Miss., November 2, 1862, to January 10, 1863. Capture of Henderson Station November 25, 1862 (Co. "B"). At Memphis, Tenn., till February, 1863. Moved to Lake Providence, La., February 22-24. Moved to Barry's Landing March 16 and to Milliken's Bend April 19 (a detachment ran batteries on transports April 22, the whole Regiment volunteering). Movement on Bruinsburg and turning Grand Gulf April 25-30. Battle of Thompson's Plantation (or Port Gibson) May 1. North Fork Bayou Pierre May 3. Ingraham's Heights May 3. Battles of Raymond May 12, Jackson May 14,Champion's Hill May 16,Big Black River May 17. Siege of Vicksburg, Miss., May 18-July 4. Assaults on Vicksburg May 19-22 and June 25. Surrender of Vicksburg July 4. Provost duty at Vicksburg till October. Expedition toward Canton October 14-20. Bogue Chitto Creek and Robinson's Mill October 17. At Big Black till February, 1864. Meridian Campaign February 3-March 2. Meridian February 13-14. Chunky Station February 14. Chunkyville Station February 29. Moved to Memphis, Tens., March 17. Veterans on furlough till May. Moved to Cairo, Ill., thence to Clifton, Tenn., April 28-May 5. March to Huntsville, Ala., May 5-23, thence to Ackworth, Ga., via Decatur and Warrenton, Ala., and Rome and Kingston, Ga., May 28-June 8. Atlanta (Ga.) Campaign June 8-September 8. Operations about Marietta and against Kenesaw Mountain June 10-July 2. Assault on Kenesaw June 27. Nickajack Creek July 2-5. Chattahoochie River July 5-17. Howell's Ferry July 5. Leggett's, Bald Hill, July 20-21. Battle of Atlanta July 22. Siege of Atlanta July 22-August 25. Flank movement on Jonesboro August 25-30. Battle of Jonesboro August 31-September 1. Lovejoy Station September 2-6. Operations against Hood in North Georgia and North Alabama September 28-November 3. March to the sea November 15-December 10. Siege of Savannah December 10-21. Campaign of the Carolinas January to April, 1865. Salkehatchie Swamp S.C., February 1-5. Barker's Mills, Whippy Swamp, February 2. South Edisto River February 9. North Edisto River February 11-12. Columbia February 15-17. Fayetteville, N. C., March 13. Battle of Bentonville March 20-21. Occupation of Goldsboro March 24. Advance on Raleigh April 10-14. Occupation of Raleigh April 14. Bennett's House April, 26. Surrender of Johnston and his army. March to Washington, D. C., via Richmond, Va., April 29-May 19. Grand Review May 24. Moved to Louisville, Ky., June 6-8. Mustered out July 12, 1865.
Regiment lost during service 9 Officers and 76 Enlisted men killed and mortally wounded and 2 Officers and 136 Enlisted men by disease. Total 223.

Places Served

Fort Henry
Other Names: None
Location: Stewart County and Henry County, Tennessee, and Calloway County, Kentucky
Campaign: Federal Penetration up the Cumberland and Tennessee Rivers (1862)
Date(s): February 6, 1862
Principal Commanders: Brig. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant and Flag-Officer A.H. Foote [US]; Brig. Gen. Lloyd Tilghman [CS]
Forces Engaged: District of Cairo [US]; Fort Henry Garrison [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 119 total (US 40; CS 79)
Description: By February 1862, Fort Henry, a Confederate earthen fort on the Tennessee River with outdated guns, was partially inundated and the river threatened to flood the rest. On February 4-5, Brig. Gen. U.S. Grant landed his divisions in two different locations, one on the east bank of the Tennessee River to prevent the garrison’s escape and the other to occupy the high ground on the Kentucky side which would insure the fort’s fall; Flag-Officer Andrew H. Foote’s seven gunboats began bombarding the fort. Brig. Gen. Lloyd Tilghman, commander of the fort’s garrison, realized that it was only a matter of time before Fort Henry fell. While leaving artillery in the fort to hold off the Union fleet, he escorted the rest of his force out of the area and sent them safely off on the route to Fort Donelson, 10 miles away. Tilghman then returned to the fort and, soon afterwards, surrendered to the fleet, which had engaged the fort and closed within 400 yards. Fort Henry’s fall opened the Tennessee River to Union gunboats and shipping as far as Muscle Shoals, Alabama. After the fall of Fort Donelson, ten days later, the two major water transportation routes in the Confederate west, bounded by the Appalachians and the Mississippi River, became Union highways for movement of troops and material.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: TN001
Preservation Priority: IV.2 (Class B)

Fort Donelson
Other Names: None
Location: Stewart County
Campaign: Federal Penetration up the Cumberland and Tennessee Rivers (1862)
Date(s): February 11-16, 1862
Principal Commanders: Brig. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant and Flag-Officer A.H. Foote [US]; Brig. Gen. John B. Floyd, Brig. Gen. Gideon Pillow, and Brig. Gen. Simon B. Buckner [CS]
Forces Engaged: Army in the Field [US]; Fort Donelson Garrison [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 17,398 total (US 2,331; CS 15,067)
Description: After capturing Fort Henry on February 6, 1862, Brig. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant advanced cross-country to invest Fort Donelson. On February 16, 1862, after the failure of their all-out attack aimed at breaking through Grant’s investment lines, the fort’s 12,000-man garrison surrendered unconditionally. This was a major victory for Brig. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant and a catastrophe for the South. It ensured that Kentucky would stay in the Union and opened up Tennessee for a Northern advance along the Tennessee and Cumberland rivers. Grant received a promotion to major general for his victory and attained stature in the Western Theater, earning the nom de guerre “Unconditional Surrender.”
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: TN002
Preservation Priority: I.1 (Class A)
National Park Unit: Fort Donelson NB

Shiloh
Other Names: Pittsburg Landing
Location: Hardin County
Campaign: Federal Penetration up the Cumberland and Tennessee Rivers (1862)
Date(s): April 6-7, 1862
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant and Maj. Gen. Don Carlos Buell [US]; Gen. Albert Sidney Johnston and Gen. P.G.T. Beauregard [CS]
Forces Engaged: Army of the Tennessee and Army of the Ohio (65,085) [US]; Army of the Mississippi (44,968) [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 23,746 total (US 13,047; CS 10,699)
Description: As a result of the fall of Forts Henry and Donelson, Confederate Gen. Albert Sidney Johnston, the commander in the area, was forced to fall back, giving up Kentucky and much of West and Middle Tennessee. He chose Corinth, Mississippi, a major transportation center, as the staging area for an offensive against Maj. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant and his Army of the Tennessee before the Army of the Ohio, under Maj. Gen. Don Carlos Buell, could join it. The Confederate retrenchment was a surprise, although a pleasant one, to the Union forces, and it took Grant, with about 40,000 men, some time to mount a southern offensive, along the Tennessee River, toward Pittsburg Landing. Grant received orders to await Buell’s Army of the Ohio at Pittsburg Landing. Grant did not choose to fortify his position; rather, he set about drilling his men many of which were raw recruits. Johnston originally planned to attack Grant on April 4, but delays postponed it until the 6th. Attacking the Union troops on the morning of the 6th, the Confederates surprised them, routing many. Some Federals made determined stands and by afternoon, they had established a battle line at the sunken road, known as the “Hornets Nest.” Repeated Rebel attacks failed to carry the Hornets Nest, but massed artillery helped to turn the tide as Confederates surrounded the Union troops and captured, killed, or wounded most. Johnston had been mortally wounded earlier and his second in command, Gen. P.G.T. Beauregard, took over. The Union troops established another line covering Pittsburg Landing, anchored with artillery and augmented by Buell’s men who began to arrive and take up positions. Fighting continued until after dark, but the Federals held. By the next morning, the combined Federal forces numbered about 40,000, outnumbering Beauregard’s army of less than 30,000. Beauregard was unaware of the arrival of Buell’s army and launched a counterattack in response to a two-mile advance by William Nelson’s division of Buell’s army at 6:00 am, which was, at first, successful. Union troops stiffened and began forcing the Confederates back. Beauregard ordered a counterattack, which stopped the Union advance but did not break its battle line. At this point, Beauregard realized that he could not win and, having suffered too many casualties, he retired from the field and headed back to Corinth. On the 8th, Grant sent Brig. Gen. William T. Sherman, with two brigades, and Brig. Gen. Thomas J. Wood, with his division, in pursuit of Beauregard. They ran into the Rebel rearguard, commanded by Col. Nathan Bedford Forrest, at Fallen Timbers. Forrest’s aggressive tactics, although eventually contained, influenced the Union troops to return to Pittsburg Landing. Grant’s mastery of the Confederate forces continued; he had beaten them once again. The Confederates continued to fall back until launching their mid-August offensive.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: TN003
Preservation Priority: III.1 (Class A)
National Park Unit: Shiloh NMP

Corinth
Other Names: None
Location: Hardin County and McNairy County, Tennessee; Alcorn County and Tishomingo County, Mississippi
Campaign: Federal Penetration up the Cumberland and Tennessee Rivers (1862)
Date(s): April 29-June 10, 1862
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. Henry W. Halleck [US]; Gen. P.G.T. Beauregard [CS]
Forces Engaged: Department of the Mississippi [US]; Department No. 2 [CS]
Estimated Casualties: Unknown
Description: Following the Union victory at Shiloh, the Union armies under Maj. Gen. Henry Halleck advanced on the vital rail center of Corinth. By May 25, 1862, after moving 5 miles in 3 weeks, Halleck was in position to lay siege to the town. The preliminary bombardment began, and Union forces maneuvered for position. On the evening of May 29-30, Confederate commander Gen. P.G.T. Beauregard evacuated Corinth, withdrawing to Tupelo. The Federals had consolidated their position in northern Mississippi.
Result(s): Union victory, although the raid ultimately failed.
CWSAC Reference #: MS016
Preservation Priority: I.3 (Class B)

Port Gibson
Other Names: Thompson’s Hill
Location: Claiborne County
Campaign: Grant’s Operations against Vicksburg (1863)
Date(s): May 1, 1863
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant [US]; Brig. Gen. John S. Bowen [CS]
Forces Engaged: Army of the Tennessee (comprising two corps) [US]; Confederate forces in area (one reinforced division: four brigades) [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 1,648 total (US 861; CS 787)
Description: Maj. Gen. U.S. Grant launched his march on Vicksburg in the Spring of 1863, starting his army south, from Milliken’s Bend, on the west side of the Mississippi River. He intended to cross the river at Grand Gulf, but the Union fleet was unable to silence the Confederate big guns there. Grant then marched farther south and crossed at Bruinsburg on April 30. Union forces came ashore, secured the landing area and, by late afternoon, began marching inland. Advancing on the Rodney Road towards Port Gibson, Grant’s force ran into Rebel outposts after midnight and skirmished with them for around three hours. After 3:00 am, the fighting stopped. Union forces advanced on the Rodney Road and a plantation road at dawn. At 5:30 am, the Confederates engaged the Union advance and the battle ensued. Federals forced the Rebels to fall back. The Confederates established new defensive positions at different times during the day but they could not stop the Union onslaught and left the field in the early evening. This defeat demonstrated that the Confederates were unable to defend the Mississippi River line and the Federals had secured their beachhead. The way to Vicksburg was open.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: MS006
Preservation Priority: I.3 (Class B)

Raymond
Other Names: None
Location: Hinds County
Campaign: Grant’s Operations against Vicksburg (1863)
Date(s): May 12, 1863
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. James B. McPherson [US]; Brig. Gen. John Gregg [CS]
Forces Engaged: XVII Army Corps, Army of the Tennessee [US]; Gregg’s Task Force (equivalent to a brigade) [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 1,011 total (US 442; CS 569)
Description: Ordered by Lt. Gen. John C. Pemberton, Confederate commander at Vicksburg, Brig. Gen. John Gregg led his force from Port Hudson, Louisiana, to Jackson, Mississippi, and out to Raymond to intercept approaching Union troops. Before dawn on May 12, Maj. Gen. James B. McPherson had his XVII Army Corps on the march, and by 10:00 am they were about three miles from Raymond. Gregg decided to dispute the crossing of Fourteen Mile Creek and arrayed his men and artillery accordingly. As the Yankees approached, the Rebels opened fire, initially causing heavy casualties. Some Union troops broke, but Maj. Gen. John A. Logan rallied a force to hold the line. Confederate troops attacked the line but had to retire. More Yankees arrived and the Union force counterattacked. Heavy fighting ensued that continued for six hours, but the overwhelming Union force prevailed. Gregg’s men left the field. Although Gregg’s men lost the battle, they had held up a much superior Union force for a day.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: MS007
Preservation Priority: I.3 (Class B)

Champion Hill
Other Names: Bakers Creek
Location: Hinds County
Campaign: Grant’s Operations against Vicksburg (1863)
Date(s): May 16, 1863
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant [US]; Lt. Gen. John C. Pemberton [CS]
Forces Engaged: Army of the Tennessee (three corps) [US]; Department of Mississippi and East Louisiana [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 6,757 total (US 2,457; CS 4,300)
Description: Following the Union occupation of Jackson, Mississippi, both Confederate and Federal forces made plans for future operations. Gen. Joseph E. Johnston retreated, with most of his army, up the Canton Road, but he ordered Lt. Gen. John C. Pemberton, commanding about 23,000 men, to leave Edwards Station and attack the Federals at Clinton. Pemberton and his generals felt that Johnston’s plan was dangerous and decided instead to attack the Union supply trains moving from Grand Gulf to Raymond. On May 16, though, Pemberton received another order from Johnston repeating his former directions. Pemberton had already started after the supply trains and was on the Raymond-Edwards Road with his rear at the crossroads one-third mile south of the crest of Champion Hill. Thus, when he ordered a countermarch, his rear, including his many supply wagons, became the advance of his force. On May 16, 1863, about 7:00 am, the Union forces engaged the Confederates and the Battle of Champion Hill began. Pemberton’s force drew up into a defensive line along a crest of a ridge overlooking Jackson Creek. Pemberton was unaware that one Union column was moving along the Jackson Road against his unprotected left flank. For protection, Pemberton posted Brig. Gen. Stephen D. Lee's men atop Champion Hill where they could watch for the reported Union column moving to the crossroads. Lee spotted the Union troops and they soon saw him. If this force was not stopped, it would cut the Rebels off from their Vicksburg base. Pemberton received warning of the Union movement and sent troops to his left flank. Union forces at the Champion House moved into action and emplaced artillery to begin firing. When Grant arrived at Champion Hill, around 10:00 am, he ordered the attack to begin. By 11:30 am, Union forces had reached the Confederate main line and about 1:00 pm, they took the crest while the Rebels retired in disorder. The Federals swept forward, capturing the crossroads and closing the Jackson Road escape route. One of Pemberton's divisions (Bowen’s) then counterattacked, pushing the Federals back beyond the Champion Hill crest before their surge came to a halt. Grant then counterattacked, committing forces that had just arrived from Clinton by way of Bolton. Pemberton’s men could not stand up to this assault, so he ordered his men from the field to the one escape route still open: the Raymond Road crossing of Bakers Creek. Brig. Gen. Lloyd Tilghman’s brigade formed the rearguard, and they held at all costs, including the loss of Tilghman. In the late afternoon, Union troops seized the Bakers Creek Bridge, and by midnight, they occupied Edwards. The Confederates were in full retreat towards Vicksburg. If the Union forces caught these Rebels, they would destroy them.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: MS009
Preservation Priority: II.1 (Class A)

Big Black River Bridge
Other Names: Big Black
Location: Hinds County and Warren County
Campaign: Grant’s Operations against Vicksburg (1863)
Date(s): May 17, 1863
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. John A. McClernand [US]; Brig. Gen. John S. Bowen [CS]
Forces Engaged: XIII Army Corps, Army of the Tennessee [US]; Bridgehead Defense Force (three brigades) [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 2,273 total (US 273; CS 2,000)
Description: Reeling from their defeat at Champion Hill, the Confederates reached Big Black River Bridge, the night of May 16-17. Lt. Gen. John C. Pemberton ordered Brig. Gen. John S. Bowen, with three brigades, to man the fortifications on the east bank of the river and impede any Union pursuit. Three divisions of Maj. Gen. John A. McClernand’s XIII Army Corps moved out from Edwards Station on the morning of the 17th. The corps encountered the Confederates behind breastworks and took cover as enemy artillery began firing. Union Brig. Gen. Michael K. Lawler formed his 2nd Brigade, Carr’s Division, which surged out of a meander scar, across the front of the Confederate forces, and into the enemy’s breastworks, held by Vaughn’s East Tennessee Brigade. Confused and panicked, the Rebels began to withdraw across the Big Black on two bridges: the railroad bridge and the steamboat dock moored athwart the river. As soon as they had crossed, the Confederates set fire to the bridges, preventing close Union pursuit. The fleeing Confederates who arrived in Vicksburg later that day were disorganized. The Union forces captured approximately 1,800 troops at Big Black, a loss that the Confederates could ill-afford. This battle sealed Vicksburg’s fate: the Confederate force was
bottled up at Vicksburg.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: MS010
Preservation Priority: II.2 (Class B)

Vicksburg
Other Names: None
Location: Warren County
Campaign: Grant’s Operations against Vicksburg (1863)
Date(s): May 18-July 4, 1863
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant [US]; Lt. Gen. John C. Pemberton [CS]
Forces Engaged: Army of the Tennessee [US]; Army of Vicksburg [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 19,233 total (US 10,142; CS 9,091)
Description: In May and June of 1863, Maj. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant’s armies converged on Vicksburg, investing the city and entrapping a Confederate army under Lt. Gen. John Pemberton. On July 4, Vicksburg surrendered after prolonged siege operations. This was the culmination of one of the most brilliant military campaigns of the war. With the loss of Pemberton’s army and this vital stronghold on the Mississippi, the Confederacy was effectively split in half. Grant's successes in the West boosted his reputation, leading ultimately to his appointment as General-in-Chief of the Union armies.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: MS011
Preservation Priority: I.2 (Class A)
National Park Unit: Vicksburg NMP

Meridian
Other Names: None
Location: Lauderdale County
Campaign: Meridian and Yazoo River Expeditions (1864)
Date(s): February 14-20, 1864
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman [US]; Lt. Gen. Leonidas Polk [CS]
Forces Engaged: Department of the Tennessee [US]; Department of Alabama, Mississippi and East Louisiana [CS]
Estimated Casualties: Unknown
Description: From Vicksburg, Mississippi, Sherman launched a campaign to take the important railroad center at Meridian and, if the situation was favorable, push on to Selma, Alabama, and threaten Mobile. Sherman ordered Brig. Gen. William Sooy Smith to lead a cavalry force of 7,000 men from Memphis, Tennessee, on February 1, 1864, south through Okolona, along the Mobile & Ohio Railroad, and meet the rest of the Union force at Meridian. With the main force of 20,000 men, Sherman set out on the 3rd for Meridian, but made feints toward various other locations. To counter the threat, Confederate President Jefferson Davis ordered troops to the area from other localities. The Confederate commander in the area, Lt. Gen. Leonidas Polk, consolidated a number of commands in and around Mortona, but lost his nerve and retreated rapidly eastward. Cavalry units commanded by Maj. Gen. Stephen D. Lee periodically skirmished with Sherman’s force. As Sherman approached Meridian, he met stiffer resistance from combined forces but steadily moved on. Polk finally realized that he could not stop Sherman and evacuated Meridian on the 14th, removing some railroad rolling stock to McDowell’s Bluff. Sherman’s troops entered Meridian the same day and began destroying railroad track, continuing their work until the 19th. Smith never arrived at Meridian. Sherman left Meridian on the 20th, headed west by way of Canton, looking for Smith and his force. He did not discover what happened to Smith until he arrived back at Vicksburg (see Okolona, #MS013). Sherman had destroyed some important Confederate transportation facilities but had to forget his aspirations for continuing into Alabama.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: MS012
Preservation Priority: IV.2 (Class C)

Kennesaw Mountain
Other Names: None
Location: Cobb County
Campaign: Atlanta Campaign (1864)
Date(s): June 27, 1864
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman [US]; Gen. Joseph E. Johnston [CS]
Forces Engaged: Military Division of the Mississippi [US]; Army of Tennessee [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 4,000 total (US 3,000; CS 1,000)
Description: On the night of June 18-19, Gen. Joseph E. Johnston, fearing envelopment, withdrew his army to a new, previously selected position astride Kennesaw Mountain. This entrenched arc-shaped line, to the north and west of Marietta, protected the Western & Atlantic Railroad, the supply link to Atlanta. Having defeated General John B. Hood troops at Kolb’s Farm on the 22nd, Sherman was sure that Johnston had stretched his line too thin and, therefore, decided on a frontal attack with some diversions on the flanks. On the morning of June 27, Sherman sent his troops forward after an artillery bombardment. At first, they made some headway overrunning Confederate pickets south of the Burnt Hickory Road, but attacking an enemy that was dug in was futile. The fighting ended by noon, and Sherman suffered high casualties.
Result(s): Confederate victory
CWSAC Reference #: GA015
Preservation Priority: I.3 (Class B)

Atlanta
Other Names: None
Location: Fulton County
Campaign: Atlanta Campaign (1864)
Date(s): July 22, 1864
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman [US]; Gen. John Bell Hood [CS]
Forces Engaged: Military Division of the Mississippi [US]; Army of Tennessee [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 12,140 total (US 3,641; CS 8,499)
Description: Following the Battle of Peachtree Creek, Hood determined to attack Maj. Gen. James B. McPherson’s Army of the Tennessee. He withdrew his main army at night from Atlanta’ s outer line to the inner line, enticing Sherman to follow. In the meantime, he sent William J. Hardee with his corps on a fifteen-mile march to hit the unprotected Union left and rear, east of the city. Wheeler’s cavalry was to operate farther out on Sherman’s supply line, and Gen. Frank Cheatham’s corps were to attack the Union front. Hood, however, miscalculated the time necessary to make the march, and Hardee was unable to attack until afternoon. Although Hood had outmaneuvered Sherman for the time being, McPherson was concerned about his left flank and sent his reserves—Grenville Dodge’s XVI Army Corps—to that location. Two of Hood’s divisions ran into this reserve force and were repulsed. The Rebel attack stalled on the Union rear but began to roll up the left flank. Around the same time, a Confederate soldier shot and killed McPherson when he rode out to observe the fighting. Determined attacks continued, but the Union forces held. About 4:00 pm, Cheatham’s corps broke through the Union front at the Hurt House, but Sherman massed twenty artillery pieces on a knoll near his headquarters to shell these Confederates and halt their drive. Maj. Gen. John A. Logan’ s XV Army Corps then led a counterattack that restored the Union line. The Union troops held, and Hood suffered high casualties.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: GA017
Preservation Priority: IV.2 (Class B)

Jonesborough
Other Names: None
Location: Clayton County
Campaign: Atlanta Campaign (1864)
Date(s): August 31–September 1, 1864
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman [US]; Lt. Gen. William J. Hardee [CS]
Forces Engaged: Six corps [US]; two corps [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 3,149 total (US 1,149; CS 2,000)
Description: Sherman had successfully cut Hood’s supply lines in the past by sending out detachments, but the Confederates quickly repaired the damage. In late August, Sherman determined that if he could cut Hood’s supply lines—the Macon & Western and the Atlanta & West Point Railroads—the Rebels would have to evacuate Atlanta. Sherman, therefore, decided to move six of his seven infantry corps against the supply lines. The army began pulling out of its positions on August 25 to hit the Macon & Western Railroad between Rough and Ready and Jonesborough. To counter the move, Hood sent Lt. Gen. William J. Hardee with two corps to halt and possibly rout the Union troops, not realizing Sherman’s army was there in force. On August 31, Hardee attacked two Union corps west of Jonesborough but was easily repulsed. Fearing an attack on Atlanta, Hood withdrew one corps from Hardee’s force that night. The next day, a Union corps broke through Hardee’ s troops which retreated to Lovejoy’s Station, and on the night of September 1, Hood evacuated Atlanta. Sherman did cut Hood’s supply line but failed to destroy Hardee’s command.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: GA022
Preservation Priority: IV.2 (Class A)

>>>>>CONTINUED AT MILITARY NOTES OF ROBERT REID>>>>>

More About Henrietta Bradshaw:
Burial: 1917, Altus Cemetery, Altus, Jackson County, OK117
Cause of Death: pneumonia labor
Census 1: 1850, Tazewell County, IL
Census 2: 1860, Tazewell County, IL
Census 3: 1870, ?
Census 4: 1880, Rock Island County, IL, Rock Island
Census 5: 1890, N/A
Census 6: 1900, Greer County, OK Territory118
Census 7: 1910, ?
Family Bible: 1845, birth119
Occupation: Aft. 1865, teacher, homemaker120

Marriage Notes for Robert Reid and Henrietta Bradshaw:
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index 1763 - 1900

GROOM --- BRIDE --- CNTY --- DATE --- VOL/PAGE --- LIC
REID, ROBERT T --- BRADSHAW, HENRIETTA --- ROCK ISLAND --- 07/04/1866 --- 00C/0072 --- 00005045
[]

ROAD TO PERDITION

The book 'Road to Perdition' is about Irish gangsters and is set in Rock Island, IL.
http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbnInquiry.asp?isbn=0743442245&AR=Y

From the Publisher

Rock Island, Illinois -- 1929. Michael O'Sullivan is a good father and a family man -- and also the chief enforcer for John Looney, the town's Irish Godfather of crime. As Looney's "Angel of Death," O'Sullivan has done the bidding of Chicago gangsters Al Capone and Frank Nitti as well -- but when a gangland execution spells tragedy for the O'Sullivan family, a grieving father and his adolescent son find themselves on a winding road fo treachery, revenge, and revelation.

Writer Max Allan Collins is a two-time winner of the Private Eye Writers of America's Shamus Award for his Nathan Keller historical thrillers True Detective and Stolen Away. Award-winning artist Richard Piers Raynner spent four years working on the artwork for Road to Perdition, a labor of love that has resulted in some of the most stunningly realistic drawings of 1930s Chicago ever seen on printed page.
[]

THE IRISH SETTLEMENT AT ROCK ISLAND ILLINOIS

Rock Island County was the destination for a number of nationalities. The most notable or prominent are Belgian, Swedish, English, Hispanic, Irish and German. I hope to capture the essence of immigration in Rock Island County through appropriate links, histories, societies and recorded experience. If I have left any nationality out or if you can contibute to this subject, please contact the county coordinator to volunteer your help.

http://www.rootsweb.com/~ilrockis/immigra.htm

Irish
Contributed by Laurie McDonald Huffman. She writes...

My father recently passed on to me a copy of a book written in Ireland in 1934 by Rev. T. Kilpatrick, Reverand of the Millisle Presbyterian Church, Down Co, Ireland. It contain this choice little paragraph on page 38: "During these years [1845-1847 potato famine] of hardship and distress many members of the congregation of Millisle emigrated to America. Most of these settled in and around Rock Island, a city of western Illinois, U.S.A., on the Mississippi River. A strong colony of Irish settlers from Ballymacruise, Drumfad, Ballyhaskin, Ballywhicken, and adjoining townlands was established here, and that colony still exists. The descendants of those early emigtants differ in speech from the surrounding farmers and tradespeople and they still like to have news about Millisle from the old folks whose names are so familiar to them." - This is taken from "Millisle and Ballycopeland Presbyterian Church, A SHORT HISTORY", by Rev. T. Kilpatrick, M.A., published at Newtownards: 1934.
[]

ROCK ISLAND ARSENAL
http://www.qctimes.com/answerbook/arsenal.html

Arsenal Island’s military presence goes back to 1816. Arsenal Island is a 946-acre island in the Mississippi River between Iowa and Illinois.

It is home to the Rock Island Arsenal, a military manufacturing operation that employs about 1,200 people, and about 40 other government tenants that employ 4,800 people.

Taken together, the various units on the island employ about 6,000 people, making “the arsenal” the Quad-Cities second-largest employer behind Deere & Co.

Originally called Rock Island, the island was a favorite hunting ground of the Sac and Fox Indians.

The first United States military outpost, Fort Armstrong, was established there in 1816 to protect white settlers moving into the area.

The fort was abandoned in 1836, and most of the original buildings were either destroyed by fire or razed, but the military presence continued during the Civil War when a Confederate prison operated on the island.

The man most responsible for the island’s current look was Gen. Thomas J. Rodman, who assumed command in 1865. Within six short years, Rodman developed plans for a greatly expanded military post, saw his plan approved and funded by Congress and supervised the initial phases of its construction.

His master plan included 10 great stone manufacturing shops along the main street, now called Rodman Avenue, the commander’s residence known as Quarters One, and stone quarters for his top officers. All are built in the Greek Revival architectural style, featuring limestone from Joliet, Ill.

Most of the manufacturing buildings remain in use today, although some have been transformed into modern office space.

The prominent manufacturing buildings are included in the arsenal’s designation today as a National Historic Landmark.
\

http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/facility/rock-island.htm

As the largest government-owned weapons manufacturing arsenal in the western world, the Rock Island Arsenal [RIA] provides manufacturing, logistics, and base support services for the Armed Forces. The Arsenal is an active U.S. Army factory, which manufactures ordnance and equipment for the Armed Forces. Some of the Arsenal's most successful manufactured products include the M198 and M119 Towed Howitzers, and the M1A1 Gun Mount.

Noted for its expertise in the manufacture of weapons and weapon components, every phase of development and production is available from prototype to full-scale production of major items, spare parts, and repair items. Product items range from artillery gun mounts and recoil mechanisms to aircraft weapons sub-systems. Items manufactured at RIA include artillery, gun mounts, recoil mechanisms, small arms, aircraft weapons sub- system, grenade launchers, weapons simulators, and a host of associated components. These include: Gun Mount M178 for M109A1/M109A2 Self-Propelled Howitzer; Gun Mount M182 for M109A5/M109A6 Self-Propelled Howitzer (RCMAS); M119 Towed Howitzer, 105mm; Spare Parts for M198 Towed Howitzer, 155mm; M242 barrel for Bradley vehicles; and 120mm Gun Mount for M1A1 Abrams Tank.

About 250 military and 6,000 civilians work at the RIA. Rock Island Arsenal, known world-wide as a leader in excellence, provides essential production capability for artillery/gun mounts, equipment integration, spare parts, and other equipment for the Armed Forces, as well as the assembly of tools, sets, kits and outfits that support equipment in the field. Through new business avenues, the Arsenal can also partner with some non-military entities to assist and advance manufacturing technologies in the private sector.

RIA's capabilities include tool, die, and gage manufacturing; precision investment castings; foundry; heat treating; prototype; gear manufacturing; forgings; spring manufacture; machining; platte and sheet metal; blasting; rubber and plastic molding; welding; and surface finishing. RIA's laboratory, testing, and inspection capabilities include chemical analysis; a weapons testing complex; coordinate measuring machines; test and measurement equipment calibration; and testing in the areas of vibration, oil and lubrication, radiological, mechanical/metallurgical, nondestructive, environmental chamber, and rubber, plastic, and fibrous materials.

The Arsenal's modern stone buildings are the home to approximately 40 tenant organizations which receive quality facility support services such as general supply purchasing, security, information technology, and building and infrastructure maintenance.

The Arsenal's state-of-the-art facilities house the Department of Defense's only general-purpose metal manufacturing complex. Production can be from raw material to final product, including systems integration and simulated testing. Rock Island Arsenal is also the only domestic producer of the hydro-pneumatic recoil mechanisms used in all modern artillery and gun systems.

The Major Command is the U.S. Army Armament, Munitions and Chemical Command. The mission of this installation is to provide research, development, engineering, maintenance, material management, procurement, and product assurance for assigned weapon systems. The U.S. Army Industrial Operations Command is located on the arsenal. This command directs the activities of 4 arsenals and 28 depots. Most IOC activities are industrial in nature.

The Arsenal's logistics mission includes the primary tool set mission for federal agencies, the application of chemical-protective coatings to combat vehicles, and the construction of storage units for the Army's War Reserve Ships. The tool set mission can be customized, with a lifetime warranty. Sets range in size from carrying case to fully equipped and mobile shelters. Noted products include the New Aircraft Tool System which saved the Department of Defense over $10 million, and the Contact Maintenance Truck Humvee. Capabilities include turn-key operations; prototype; engineering/design; fabrication; assembly/disassembly; laser etching; indoor/outdoor storage; demil; equipment/component acquisition; and fielding support.

The Arsenal has been evaluated and selected as a regional center under regionalization initiatives as part of the Army's effort to consolidate services. Basic services offered include information technology, public works, law enforcement, equal opportunity, community/family activity support, supply, personnel administration, and fire protection which are provided to over 30 tenants on the island. As home to a Post Exchange, Commissary, and Health Clinic, the Arsenal is a regional service center for active and reserve military and 15,000 military retirees who live within 125 miles of the Arsenal. The Arsenal's grounds and facilities include 2.1 million square feet of manufacturing space; 3.8 million square feet of storage space; and 2 million square feet of administration space.

Rock Island Arsenal is one of the largest employers in the area with an estimated economic impact of $1,000,000 daily. Located on the Mississippi River, Arsenal Island is an island of 946 acres, bordered by Iowa and Illinois. There are only 57 housing quarters on Arsenal Island so most people who work here live in the Quad City community. This area is subject to weather ranging from cold dry arctic air masses in the Winter, with occasional snow; to hot humid air from Gulf of Mexico in the Summer. The nearest military hospital is the Great Lakes Naval Base, approximately 195 miles from the RIA. The arsenal is located 175 miles from Chicago.

Historic points of interest on Arsenal Island are: The Rock Island Arsenal Museum; Confederate Cemetery; National Cemetery; the original, 19th century stone workshops; officer's quarters along the river; COL Davenport's House; and the site of the first bridge built across the Mississippi.

The area around Rock Island Arsenal is called the Quad Cities. Including both sides of the river, there are more than 300,000 people living here. There are four major public school districts. The Quad City area is inclusive of the following communities; Rock Island, Moline, and East Moline in Illinois; and Davenport and Bettendorf in Iowa.
\

http://www.qconline.com/showcase/history/arsenal.shtml

the Rock Island Arsenal: Deep Roots in U.S. History

At the end of the War of 1812, the U.S. War Department decided to build forts along the Mississippi River to better assert federal authority. In 1816 troops built a fort on the western tip of Arsenal Island, naming it Fort Armstrong after Secretary of War John Armstrong.

Settlements, which eventually became Davenport and Rock Island, developed across from the fort under its protection. After the Black Hawk War in 1832, and the removal of most Indians in the area, the fort was no longer needed. Troops left in 1836 and the fort gradually fell to ruin.

The Civil War brought renewed federal activity to the island. As Union armies pushed south along the Mississippi River they sent prisoners north. The Quartermaster Department of the Army built a series of prisons at Alton, Quincy, Rock Island, and Fort Douglas outside Chicago.

The Rock Island Barracks were flimsy wooden structures on the north shore of the island near its center.

Headquarters were established in the George Davenport home. From December 1863 to July 1865, Rock Island was home to more than 12,000 military and political prisoners.

After Civil War armies repeatedly overran the federal armory at Harper's Ferry, Congress decided it was too vulnerable and looked westward for a more secure location for arms storage and manufacturing and in 1862 authorized construction of the Rock Island Arsenal.

Construction took from 1866 to 1893 under the direction of Gen. Thomas Jackson Rodman, the famous gun designer.

Through the 1870s and into the 1890s, the Rock Island Arsenal was the major western storehouse of military equipment, supporting the armies on the western plains. Gradually, the Arsenal mission shifted to equipment repairs and light manufacturing.

Production turned to gun carriages in 1894. Since the 1890s, development of an industrial work force has led to manufacturing of sophisticated recoil mechanisms for heavy guns.

From 1919 to 1973, the development and repair of tanks was a major portion of the Arsenal's role, as was development and production of rocket launchers from 1944 to 1962.

The Arsenal has been a major employer in the Quad-Cities area throughout the 20th Century. Peak employment was more than 23,000 during World War II.

When the Ordnance Department decentralized its administration in the mid-1950s, it established the Ordnance Weapons Command headquarters in 1955 at Rock Island. The name has since changed to the Armament, Munitions and Chemical Command. Twice as many people work for Command Headquarters as for the Arsenal.

The Rock Island Arsenal is also home to the Army Management Training College, originally founded on the island in 1940. Since 1900, the Rock Island District Corp of Engineers has been located there.

The Marine Corps has a reserve training center near the west end. The Veterans' Administration has taken over and expanded the cemetery grounds at the eastern end of the island.
[]

IRISH SETTLEMENT AT ROCK ISLAND ILLINOIS

Greenbush Neighborhood

Irish immigrants historically settled this neighborhood and some of that influence is still seen today, particularly in the very beautiful Sacred Heart Catholic Church located at the north end of the neighborhood. Most of the housing in Greenbush is from the early part of the 20th century, with typical 'Victorian' features. Seventh Avenue is lined with impressively sized Queen Anne style homes and duplexes.

Housing values in Greenbush are remarkably stable. There is also a generous mix of housing types, from small homes to near-mansions. Apartments are sprinkled throughout the neighborhood. The following institutions are either in the neighborhood or on the borders: Rock Island Township Hall, Quad City Botanical Center, St. Anthony’s Continuing Care Center, St. Mary of the Angels Convent and Valley Homes.

The east side of the neighborhood (5th to 9th Avenues and 27th to 30th Streets) has one of the most active block clubs in the city. Neighbors here know one another and work together to make their corner of the world the best it can be. To get in touch with this block club, contact the Community Caring Conference at (309) 786-0345, view their website at www.blockclub.homestead.com, or send an e-mail to ccc@qconline.com.
[]

GREER COUNTY RECORDS
Courthouse, Mangum, OK

Grantor: R. F. Reid
Grantee: J. R. Paines
Character of Instrument: Deed
Date of Instrument: Nov 24, 1905
Date of Filing: Nov 28, 1905, 8a.m.
Book 18, page 292
Description of Property: SW 1/2 E 1/4 - 28-322-20
\

Grantee: Flora Reid
Grantor: J. E. Wood
Character of Instrument: Deed
Date of Instrument: Feb 23, 1907
Date of Filing: May 27, 1907, 6p.m.
Book 37, page 565
Description of Property: SW 1/4 32 - 3 - 20
[]

The Irish Experience
A CommUniversity Class at St. Ambrose University
February 2002
Dr. Ryan Dye, Instructor

http://www.iltrails.org/rockisland/irishexperience.html

The link below will take you to notes taken during a 4-session course at CommUniversity on the campus of St. Ambrose University during February 2002. The instructor was Dr. Ryan Dye, a history professor at St. Ambrose.

This class provided much information about the Irish immigrants from 1600 until the present. If you have any Irish blood in you, you will want to read this background information about who the Irish were and how they came to be that way. It includes information on the Scots-Irish as well as the Catholic Famine Irish.

Some Irish immigrants settled in Rock Island County. In the early 1900s St. Joseph Catholic Church created a new parish, Sacred Heart. Most of these parishoners were Irish. St. Joseph's was primarily German.

Since Rock Island was one of four major crossing points for immigrants to cross the Mississippi, many Irish also settled in Davenport, Iowa which still has a large Irish population today.

If you have questions about any of this material please contact Diana Alm, who attended the class and took the notes, or Dr. Ryan Dye, the instructor.
\

Cities of Rock Island County
by Diana Alm

Rock Island County has an unusual shape because it follows the course of two rivers: the Mississippi and the Rock. The Mississippi runs west in Rock Island County, and a number of treacherous rapids along this section of the river have contributed to much of the county's past.

Rock Island County grew rapidly after Illinois became a state in 1818, because these rivers provided an abundant means of transportation and power. Dams and mills were built to harness and use the power provided by these waterways. This was typical of many frontier villages.

Rock Island County was one of four primary locations where settlers heading west crossed the Mississippi.

The following cities and towns are modern-day names. One or more pages are associated with each. Information includes previous names for these towns. Please select the town you wish to read more about. The first page of each city page will include a map of the townships in and near the city.

Andalusia, Barstow, Buffalo Prairie, Carbon Cliff, Coal Valley, Cordova, East Moline, Edgington,
*Ferdinand, Hampton, Hillsdale, Illinois City, Joslin, *Loding, Milan, Moline, *Osborn, Reynolds,
Rock Island, *Sears, *Stewardville, *Silvis, Taylor Ridge, *Zuma Center.
Cities preceded by a * once had a post office but are no longer incorporated.
\

City of Rock Island

The county of Rock Island began on July 10, 1835 when early settlers purchased 61.95 acres from the government to establish a permanent seat of justice. A town was platted between 10th and 17th Streets and one third of the lots were offered for sale. (Today it's part of the Old Chicago addition.) This town was originally called "Davenport" after George Davenport who ran a contract commissary store for the military and a trading post for furs with the Indians from his home at Fort Armstrong (now Arsenal Island).
One lawmaker, Col. James M. Stroude, objected to the name "Davenport" and the name was changed to Stephenson, in honor of Benjamin Stephenson, an early pioneer.

Two years after Stephenson was platted, a "paper city" called Rock Island City was laid out. This city which existed only on paper, was 608 acres of land located north and east of the Rock and Mississippi Rivers from approximately 24th Street to 31st Avenue. This was the area previously inhabited by Blackhawk's people, known as Saukenuk, home of the Sauk and Mesquakie Indians.

As settlers began to move into the area they speculated on how the area would grow. They bought and sold land to local residents and friends back east. Daniel Webster was one speculator who hoped to turn a profit by purchasing sections of Rock Island City. Levi Turner, a New York lawyer, fascilitated many of these sales. Many people thought the area would be populated from people from the east rather than the south, making land on either side of the Rock River, the perfect location for a city.

The plan to develop the Rock River area was fascilitated by the Illinois legislature which had embarked on an ambitious plan to improve the state's transportation by building canals. The canal near VanDruff's Island would bypass the lower Rock River Rapids enabling steamboats to navigate the Rock. In 1839 the state declared bankruptcy and the canal improvement plan was dropped with only 1/4 mile completed. Many investors lost a lot of money.

In 1841, Dr. Silas Reed objected to the name "Stephenson," and persuaded lawmakers to rename Stephenson "Rock Island" and include Farnhamsburg and three other additions. This new city did not include the area that had been called Rock Island City.

See areas of Rock Island below:

Rock Island Township: Broadway, Old Chicago, Parkview, Keystone, Longview, Augustana College, Watch Hill, Carriage Place.

South Rock Island Township: Searstown, Black Hawk State Historic Site, Saukenuk Indian Village, Civilian Conservation Corps.
[]

http://www.geocities.com/grandmashannon/momI33.html

James Morrison
born: 7 Aug 1841, Ballyferis,Co. Down,Ireland
bapt: 22 Sep 1841, Ballywalter,Co. Down,Ireland, at the Presbyterian Church
died: 3 May 1912, North English,Iowa Co.,Iowa
bur.: 5 May 1912, Webster,Keokuk Co.,Iowa, at Sorden Cemetery
occu: farmer
Will: 11 Mar 1911, North English,Iowa Co.,Iowa
spouse: Harriett Ann ``Hattie'' MORGAN
marr: 7 Apr 1872, Sigourney,Keokuk Co.,Iowa, at the Presbyterian Church
born: 27 Feb 1854, near Webster,Keokuk Co.,Iowa, at a farm
died: 5 Feb 1884, Los Angeles,Los Angeles Co.,CA
bur.: Altadena,CA, at Lot 13, Mountain View Cemetery
Children:
infant MORRISON
Edward MORRISON
Jesse Melvin MORRISON
Thomas MORRISON
spouse: Rose Ann ``Rosa'' TROGER
marr: 4 Mar 1886, Keswick,Keokuk Co.,Iowa
born: 16 Dec 1855, Iowa Co.,Iowa
died: 11 Dec 1903, North English,Iowa Co.,Iowa
bur.: Webster,Keokuk Co.,Iowa, at Sorden Cemetery
Children:
Minnie Belle MORRISON
Sarah Jane ``Sadie'' MORRISON
Benjamin Harrison MORRISON
Charles Wesley MORRISON
Morley Lee MORRISON
Albert Raymond ``Bert'' MORRISON
Harry MORRISON
Alice May MORRISON
John Dewey MORRISON
Father: William MORRISON (1805-1879)
Mother: Mary Jane THOMPSON (1807-1879)

Growing up in Ballyferis, Ireland, James' family was very poor. The only work he could find as a young man was in the fishing boats. He did not like this as the salt water made sores on his legs; he had very fine skin. He spoke of taking the things that the women folks had made to Belfast on Saturday morning to get a few cents. They had a big dog chained near the barn and as a boy James used to play with the dog; such play consisted of jumping at the dog and the dog would throw him and pummel him around.

James Morrison came to America from Ballyferis, Ireland in either 1864 or summer, 1863. He lived in Rock Island county, Illinois, for three years before coming to Keokuk County, where he settled in Adams Township.

I believe that statement about living in Rock Island county for three years is an important key to understanding James' immigration. It appears that several of James and his siblings who immigrated came through Rock Island county, probably drawn by a large community of Irish immigrants from the same neighborhood of County Down as our Morrison family. James' sister Jane married John Donnan. I (Dennis Nicklaus) have corresponded on and off with Dean Bollman. Dean's family bought land in Rural Twp of Rock Island Co. from the estate of a James Donnan, Jr. who died in Montezuma, Iowa August 30, 1870. John and Jane Morrison Donnan also moved to Poweshiek Co., Iowa. Rural Township is in the SE corner of Rock Island County. Dean also has copies of records of the founding of the Homestead Presbyterian church in Rural Twp. Three Donnan men, John, James, and James, Jr., were founding members of this Homestead church. They were part of an Irish immigrant community from the Ards peninsula of Co. Down, Ireland who founded the church. Many of the founders of this community in Illinois were from Millisle and Ballycopeland, Co. Down, and surrounding townlands. Millisle is only about 5 miles up the coast (north) from Ballywalter. This is stated in both the records of the Homestead church in Illinois and in a 1934 book of the history of the Millisle and Ballycopeland Presbyterian Church, Co. Down, Ireland.

Another intriguing item is that Dean Bollman's church records contain the names of several Morrisons noted as joining the Homestead church in Rock Island County. The names and years joining include: Robert Morrison (1855), William Morrison and Mary Ann Morrison (1859); Joseph Robert Morrison (1860) Sarah Jane Morrison (1861); William John Morrison (1863); Mary Ann Morrison (1864); Ellen Morrison (1866); and Margaret Morrison (1867). I can't identify any of these names as belonging to our Morrison family, Except that the 1866 Ellen may well be James' sister Ellen who married Alexander Gibson in 1866.

Anyway, my conclusion from all this is that James Morrison came to Rock Island County, Illinois because of this community of Irish (including his sister Jane) from very near his home in Ireland.
[]

Sacred Heart, Rock Island, celebrates centennial July 9: ROCK ISLAND -- A century ago, Sacred Heart Parish was founded to serve primarily one community, the growing Irish population of Rock Island's Green Bush neighborhood.
[]

Household:

Name Relation Marital Status Gender Race Age Birthplace Occupation Father's Birthplace Mother's Birthplace

Robert F. REID Self M Male W 38 IN County Treasure IRE PA
Henrietta REID Wife M Female W 33 IL Keeping House IRE PA
James G. REID Son S Male W 13 IL At Home IN IL
Thomas B. REID Son S Male W 11 IL At Home IN IL
Louisia L. REID Dau S Female W 9 IL IN IL
Minnie M. REID Dau S Female W 7 IL IN IL
Ruth R. REID Dau S Female W 5 IL IN IL
Edith O. REID Dau S Female W 2 IL IN IL

Robert F. REID Household
Male
Other Information:
Birth Year <1842>
Birthplace IN
Age 38
Occupation County Treasure
Marital Status M <Married>
Race W <White>
Head of Household Robert F. REID
Relation Self
Father's Birthplace IRE
Mother's Birthplace PA

Henrietta REID Household
Female
Other Information:
Birth Year <1847>
Birthplace IL
Age 33
Occupation Keeping House
Marital Status M <Married>
Race W <White>
Head of Household Robert F. REID
Relation Wife
Father's Birthplace IRE
Mother's Birthplace PA

Source Information:
Census Place Rock Island, Rock Island, Illinois
Family History Library Film 1254246
NA Film Number T9-0246
Page Number 547D
[]

More About Robert Reid and Henrietta Bradshaw:
Marriage 1: 04 Jul 1866, Rock Island County, IL121
Marriage 2: 04 Jul 1865, Peoria, IL122,123
     
Children of Robert Reid and Henrietta Bradshaw are:
  i.   Robert Findlay More Notes Reid, Jr, died Unknown.
  Notes for Robert Findlay More Notes Reid, Jr:
>>>>>CONTINUED FROM MARRIAGE NOTES OF ROBERT REID & HENRIETTA BRADSHAW>>>>>


Rivers’ Bridge
Other Names: Salkehatchie River, Hickory Hill, Owens’ Crossroads, Lawtonville, Duck Creek
Location: Bamberg County
Campaign: Campaign of the Carolinas (February-April 1865)
Date(s): February 3, 1865
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. Francis P. Blair [US]; Maj. Gen. Lafayette McLaws [CS]
Forces Engaged: Divisions: 6,200 total (US 5,000; CS 1,200)
Estimated Casualties: 262 total (US 92; CS 170)
Description:On February 2, a Confederate force under McLaws held the crossings of the Salkehatchie River against the advance of the right wing of Sherman’s Army. Federal soldiers began building bridges across the swamp to bypass the road block. In the meantime, Union columns worked to get on the Confederates’ flanks and rear. On February 3, two Union brigades waded the swamp downstream and assaulted McLaws’s right. McLaws retreated toward Branchville after stalling Sherman’s advance for only one day.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: SC011
Preservation Priority: III.4 (Class D)

Bentonville
Other Names: Bentonsville
Location: Johnston County
Campaign: Campaign of the Carolinas (February-April 1865)
Date(s): March 19-21, 1865
Principal Commanders: Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman and Maj. Gen. Henry Slocum [US]; Gen. Joseph E. Johnston [CS]
Forces Engaged: Sherman’s Right Wing (XX and XIV Corps) [US]; Johnston's Army [CS]
Estimated Casualties: 4,738 total (US 1,646; CS 3,092)
Description: While Slocum’s advance was stalled at Averasborough by Hardee’s troops, the right wing of Sherman’s army under command of Maj. Gen. O.O. Howard marched toward Goldsborough. On March 19, Slocum encountered the entrenched Confederates of Gen. Joseph E. Johnston who had concentrated to meet his advance at Bentonville. Late afternoon, Johnston attacked, crushing the line of the XIV Corps. Only strong counterattacks and desperate fighting south of the Goldsborough Road blunted the Confederate offensive. Elements of the XX Corps were thrown into the action as they arrived on the field. Five Confederate attacks failed to dislodge the Federal defenders and darkness ended the first day’s fighting. During the night, Johnston contracted his line into a “V” to protect his flanks with Mill Creek to his rear. On March 20, Slocum was heavily reinforced, but fighting was sporadic. Sherman was inclined to let Johnston retreat. On the 21st, however, Johnston remained in position while he removed his wounded. Skirmishing heated up along the entire front. In the afternoon, Maj. Gen. Joseph Mower led his Union division along a narrow trace that carried it across Mill Creek into Johnston’s rear. Confederate counterattacks stopped Mower’s advance, saving the army’s only line of communication and retreat. Mower withdrew, ending fighting for the day. During the night, Johnston retreated across the bridge at Bentonville. Union forces pursued at first light, driving back Wheeler’s rearguard and saving the bridge. Federal pursuit was halted at Hannah’s Creek after a severe skirmish. Sherman, after regrouping at Goldsborough, pursued Johnston toward Raleigh. On April 18, Johnston signed an armistice with Sherman at the Bennett House, and on April 26, formally surrendered his army.
Result(s): Union victory
CWSAC Reference #: NC020
Preservation Priority: I.1 (Class A)
[]

GHOST TOWNS OF NEMAHA COUNTY
http://history.cc.ukans.edu/heritage/werner/gostnmco.html
The Kansas Heritage server would like to thank Morris W. Werner [3014 23rd Ave S., Nashville, TN 37215] for preparing this material.

Settlers were few and far between when Nemaha County was organized in 1855, but in the next five years many enterprising pioneers took up claims and established settlements along the existing emigrant and military trails. Some of these settlements became thriving, prosperous communities, but some never contained more than one or two houses, perhaps one of which housed a store and/or post office. Indeed, some were "paper towns," existing only in the imagination of the promoters and on a survey map. Railroads were constructed through the county between 1867-70, but only those towns fortunate enough to secure rail accommodations were able to survive and continue to grow. Within a few years, stores, hotels, saw mills, blacksmith and wagon shops closed their doors, and the owners moved to towns along the railroad or retired to their farms. A few post offices, schools and churches struggled on for a few years, but Rural Free Delivery closed many post offices in the early 1900s.
At least twelve ghost towns exist in Nemaha County. A few contain buildings surviving from the Territorial period, but most physical evidence consists of abandoned cemeteries, root cellars and wells or springs.

It is difficult to visualize the excitement and vitality these settlements once exhibited. Emigrant caravans, stage coach and pony express arrivals and departures, freight trains bound for Denver City or Utah, and droves of livestock headed for Western ranges were common events. Farmers came to town to sell or barter their produce, collect their mail and discuss politics or the weather. Hotels were filled with land seekers and livery stables did a thriving business. Grist mills and sawmills prospered where water power was available; horse or steam powered mills served in other areas. Liquor was a commodity much in demand by freighters and local "members of the legal profession who practiced at the bar." Wives and families soon joined their husbands on the frontier, and schools and churches made their appearance.

Hot political topics included the slavery question and selection of a county seat. Richmond, located two miles north of Seneca on the South Fork of the Nemaha, was designated the first county seat by the Territorial Legislature. It was founded by Cyrus Dolman and other pro-slavery men, but the majority of settlers in the county were free-state in sentiment. In the elections which followed, Seneca won out over Richmond, Central City, Wheatland, and other contenders.

Several settlements were colonized by Easterners, at least partially motivated by free-state sentiments. These colonies were loosely organized groups of related families and neighbors. Galesburg, Illinois, provided the nucleus of settlers at America City and Centralia. Albany, two miles north of Sabetha, was populated by families from Castle Creek and Painted Post, N.Y. They named their town after the capital of their native state. Some of these colonists were professionally trained in medicine, law and education. A few of the first settlers also found leadership opportunities in the Union Army during the Civil War. When these men returned to their homes at the close of the War, they were accompanied by other veterans seeking homesteads and business opportunities in the new state.

Freighters, stage drivers and pony express riders found Nemaha County attractive, and many retired to farms and hamlets along the routes they had traveled during their working days. Many salvaged stage coaches, harness and weapons and maintained them in mint condition.

Two of the ghost towns profiled below were actually located in the western edge of Brown County. They are included because they were colonized by settlers from Nemaha County.

ALBANY 1857, at center of S35 T1S R14E, on Elwood and Marysville Territorial Road in 1859.
P.O. 1858, John Shumway, postmaster
Hotel 1858, Edwin Miller, prop., bldg. moved to Sabetha 1871.
Store 1860; schoolhouse; an original frame house remains.
Cemetery: USGS Sabetha Quad.
Leadership: Elihu Whittenhall, N. H. Rising, George Graham (Capt. in 7th Kansas Cavalry), J. E. Price (Union Army veteran and medal winner), Samuel and Emma Burke Slosson (Mrs. Slosson was first woman M.D. in Nemaha Co.), John Tyler, Arthur W. Williams (Capt. in 8th Kansas Vol. Infantry).

AMERICA CITY 1857; on Parallel Road from Atchison to Denver, 1859.
P.O. 1859, George Randel, postmaster
Store 1857, Samuel Dickson, prop.
Hotel; schoolhouse; United Brethern Church, "Uncle Dan" Rose, pastor.
Leadership: Dr. N. B. McKay, P. A. Shepherd, Peter Hamilton.
Jacob Jacobia, a freighter on the Plains, drove a hack on the Atchison/Louisville Post Road c1862.
Cemetery: USGS Havensville Quad.

ASH POINT 1857, center of S8 T2S RllE on Ft. Leavenworth and Ft. Laramie Military Road.
P.O. 1858, Horace Bemus, postmaster.
"Uncle John's Grocery," John O'Laughlin, prop. His well remains; a permanent historical marker was dedicated Aug. 1941.

CAPIOMA 1856, center of S23 T3S R14E, on Ft. Leavenworth and Ft. Laramie Military Road. Named for Kickapoo Indian chief.
P.O. 1857, David Magill, postmaster.
Hotel 1857, Walter Gage, prop. (Used as residence in 1916)
Sawmill and Blacksmith shop c1865, William Robinson, prop.
Cemetery: USGS Woodlawn Quad.
Leadership: Dr. J. W. Graham, Union Army veteran, who married Alma, daughter of N. H. Rising; moved to Wetmore c1870, and was Wetmore's first mayor, living in 1930.

CENTRAL CITY 1855, S31 T1S R13E, about 2 m. s.e. of Baker's Ford
P.O. 1858, Hiram H. Lanham, postmaster
Store 1855, Benjamin Shaffer, prop., sold to H. H. Lanham and J. L. Newton.
Baptist Church, Rev. Thomas Newton, pastor.
Founded by William Dodge. J. L. Newton, son of Rev. Newton, was a freighter from Atchison to Ft. Kearny in 1860s.
Eli Williams' family settled 2 m. east in 1855, family cemetery shown on USGS Oneida Quad.
A party of Mormons camped at Murphy Lake in Aug. 1855; perhaps 40 died from cholera and are buried nearby.
FARMINGTON c1856, located 1 m. s.w. of Baker's Ford on St. Joseph and Calif. Road. Rut swales still visible near spring. Store, hotel and blacksmith shop, Rosalvin Perham and J. E. Perley, props.

LINCOLN 1860, crossing of S. Fork Nemaha River at mouth of Illinois Creek
P.O. 1861, Luther Jones, postmaster
Founded by J. E. Hocker. Two stores, sawmill and blacksmith shop.

LOG CHAIN 1860 SW1/4 Sl9 T3S R14E.
P.O. 1864, John Hazzard, postmaster
Pony Express Station 1860 still stands, N. H. Rising, prop. His son, Don, was an Express rider at age 16.
Robert Sewell, alias "Old Bob Ridley" was a popular driver for the Overland Stage Co. He moved to Wetmore c1870.

MOORESTOWN/URBANA 1854 at Baker's Ford, S. Fork Nemaha River.
Urbana P.O. 1855 John Jett, postmaster.
W. W. Moore and Walter Beeles built a toll bridge and felled a large tree at the ford to force use of their bridge. High water carried the tree downstream and destroyed their bridge.

PACIFIC CITY 1856, located at center of S24 T3S R14E.
Hotel, Orrin Gage, prop., torn down 1902. A good well on a high hill was the inspiration for construction of the hotel.

PLEASANT SPRING/GRANADA 1855, NE1/4 S12 T4S R14E
Pleasant Spring P.O. 1856, David Locknane, postmaster
Granada P.O. 1864, William Letson, postmaster
Granada Hotel 1859, N. H. Rising, prop. David Locknane, prop. 1860-.
Store 1856, Manaoh Terrill, prop.
Drugstore, hardware store, schoolhouse, lodge hall and about 10 houses.
William Letson, merchant and farmer, had been a messenger on COC&PP Express and Overland Stage 1859-63. Moved to Horton in 1880s.
Cemetery: USGS Wetmore Quad.

POWHAT(T)AN 1856, center of S32 T5S R15E about 3 m. n.e. of Wetmore.
P.O. 1857, Russell Newell, postmaster
Cemetery: USGS Wetmore Quad.
Post office relocated to Wetmore in 1867; another town of the same name was located about 10 m. n.e. c1887 when the Rock Island Railroad was constructed. A road connected Kennekuk and Powhattan along the south edge of the Kickapoo Reserve.

RICHMOND 1854, located on Ft. Leavenworth and Ft. Laramie Military Road at crossing of S. Fork Nemaha River. First county seat of Nemaha County.
P.O. 1855, James Thompson, postmaster
Store 1855, Albert G. Woodward, prop., who also operated a hotel which was constructed by H. H. Lanham.
Founded by Cyrus Dolman.
A cache of gold was buried near the crossing c1854 by a returning gold seeker who feared robbery by "border ruffians." It has never been recovered.

TYLER'S c1860, located at crossing of Grasshopper (Cedar?) Creek 2 m. s.w. of present Fairview. Perhaps Gilliam Co. campsite, May 25, 1844.
P. O. 1864, John Tyler, postmaster; Tyler family cemetery is shown on USGS Fairview Quad.

SABETHA 1858 located on St. Joseph and California Road.
P.O. 1858, Arthur W. Williams, postmaster.
Hotel 1859, Arthur W. Williams, prop, was a station on the Overland Stage, and provided stable for stage teams.
Store 1859, N. H. Rising and George Lyons, props.

SENECA 1857 located on Ft. Leavenworth/Ft. Laramie Military Road at crossing of S. Fork Nemaha River.
P. O. 1857, John E. Smith, postmaster.
Hotel 1857, John E. Smith, prop., home station for Overland Stage and Pony Express. Hotel demolished c1972.
Store 1857, Finley Lappin, prop.
Hotel c1860, John Doyle, prop.
Blacksmith Shop 1857, Levi Hensel, prop., he contracted services for Overland Stage Co., and was correspondent for New York Times.
Ed "Sandy" Sterling, a driver on the Overland Stage, retired to Seneca in early 1870s and operated a livery stable known as the "Overland Stable" for 25 years.
Hiram Mathews, a freighter on the Plains, retired to Seneca and married a niece of John Doyle.
[]

  ii.   James Gillespie Reid, born 10 Jul 1867 in Groveland Township, Tazewell County, IL124,125; died 04 May 1949 in Altus, Jackson County, OK125; married Flora Amelia Harvey 10 Sep 1893126,127; born 11 Jun 1872 in Boston, MA128,129; died 08 Jun 1937 in Altus, Jackson County, OK129.
  Notes for James Gillespie Reid:

James Reid worked for the Harvey family as a carpenter, helping to build the family house. This was the meeting of the Harvey and Reid families. James proposed to Flora, but, she declined. He traded a quarter of land for a horse and went to Vernon, TX. Later, Flora sent word to James that if he asked her again, her answer might be different.

James was a skilled carpenter. He worked at an implement dealership in Vernon as a binder mechanic. He was also a windmill mechanic and erector and blacksmith.---"A Reid Family"


  More About James Gillespie Reid:
Burial: Unknown, Altus Cemetery, Altus, Jackson County, OK
Census: 1900, Greer County, OK Territory130
Family Bible 1: birth record131
Family Bible 2: death record
Occupation: 1900, farmer132
Property: 1900, farm133

  More About Flora Amelia Harvey:
Burial: Unknown, Altus Cemetery, Altus, Jackson County, OK
Census: 1880, Goliad County, TX
Family Bible 1: birth record
Family Bible 2: death record

  More About James Reid and Flora Harvey:
Marriage: 10 Sep 1893133,134
Marriage Record: family bible

  iii.   Thomas Bradshaw Reid, born 03 Jan 1869 in Rock Island, Rock Island County, IL; died 1956 in Reseda, CA135; married Carrie LaDow; born Abt. 1870; died Unknown.
  Notes for Thomas Bradshaw Reid:
Thomas moved to Iowa c1894 where most of his children were born.


  More About Thomas Bradshaw Reid:
Family Bible: birth record136

  iv.   Lois Lunette Reid, born 09 May 1871 in Rock Island, Rock Island County, IL; died Unknown; married Eugene R. Gentry; born 29 Jun 1863; died 08 Jan 1936.
  More About Lois Lunette Reid:
Family Bible: birth record136

  3 v.   Minnie Mable Reid, born 01 Feb 1873 in Rock Island, Rock Island County, IL; died 09 May 1912 in Altus, Jackson County, OK; married George Freeman Harvey 30 Jan 1895 in Altus, Greer County, TX.
  vi.   Ruth Findlay Reid, born 01 Feb 1875 in Rock Island, Rock Island County, IL; died 30 Nov 1964 in Altus, Jackson County, OK; married Dr James Robert Bryce; died Unknown.
  More About Ruth Findlay Reid:
Burial: Unknown, Altus Cemetery, Altus, Jackson County, OK
Family Bible: birth record136

  vii.   Edith Ogle Reid, born 27 Jul 1878 in Rock Island, Rock Island County, IL; died Unknown; married Louis C. Tyner; died Unknown.
  More About Edith Ogle Reid:
Family Bible: birth record136

  viii.   David Ogle Reid, Sr, born 11 Oct 1880 in Rock Island, Rock Island County, IL; died Unknown; married (1) Kittie C. Baker; born 28 Jan 1887; died 06 Sep 1910 in Altus, Jackson County, OK; married (2) Dora Swindle; died 1917; married (3) Omega Hunter; born 1884 in Texas; died Unknown.
  More About David Ogle Reid, Sr:
Census 1: 1900, Greer County, OK Territory137
Census 2: 1920, Jackson County, OK138
Family Bible: birth record139
Occupation: rural mail carrier, farmer

  More About Kittie C. Baker:
Died 2: cp
Burial: Unknown, Altus Cemetery, Altus, Jackson County, OK

  ix.   Margaret Reid, born 26 Apr 1884 in Marion Township, Nemaha County, KS; died 1980 in Altus, Jackson County, OK; married Jessie R. Raines; died Unknown.
  More About Margaret Reid:
Census: 1900, Greer County, OK Territory140
Family Bible: birth record141

  More About Jessie R. Raines:
Occupation: cowboy, Cole Ford Agency, grocer

  x.   Edna Ogle Reid, born 14 Feb 1888 in Marion Township, Nemaha County, KS; died Unknown; married Frank R. Amend; died Unknown.
  More About Edna Ogle Reid:
Census: 1900, Greer County, OK Territory142




[ Home Page | First Page | Previous Page | Next Page | Last Page ]

Search for Family - Learn About Genealogy - Helpful Web Sites - Message Boards - Guest Book - Home
© Copyright 1996-99, The Learning Company, Inc., and its subsidiaries. All rights reserved.
© Copyright 1995-97 by Matthew L. Helm. All Rights Reserved.