George Yelverton Peyton (1780) Descendents:Information about George Sutton
Home Page |Surname List |Index of Individuals | |Sources
George Sutton (d. April 12, 1669)George Sutton (son of Joseph Sutton) died April 12, 1669 in Perquimans, NC.He married Sarah Tilden on March 13, 1635/36 in Scituate, MA, daughter of Nathaniel Tilden and Lydia Huckstep.
Notes for George Sutton:
Scituate, MA (part of the Plymouth Colony) was Founded 1623 & Incorporated in 1636.
Scituate is nestled on a gentle curve of coast overlooking the Atlantic Ocean from four cliffs.A picturesque sheltered harbor, guarded by a 19th century lighthouse, is home to the town's fishing fleet (Fishing has been a major industry here since the 1630's - and continues as a livelihood for many contemporary fishermen.) and provides excellent mooring for pleasure craft.Scituate is one of the oldest towns in the New World, settled originally in 1623 by the Men of Kent, who were seeking freedom from the intolerance of the Plymouth settlers.Scituate's past is colorful from Indian wars and heroic participation in the war of 1812 to a long and proud heritage of shipbuilding along the North River.Scituate was originally the home of the Wampanoag Indians who called their land "Satuit" for the "cold brook" that flows into the harbor.
The settlers at Plymouth investigated the area around Plymouth for further settlement. Timothy Hatherly arrived at Plymouth in 1623 on the ship Ann. Hatherly was one of the adventurers who had financed the Plymouth colony. He returned to England in 1625, however he sent his nephew, Edward Foster, to keep him informed of affairs in Plymouth.
The original settlers of Scituate probably came from Kent, England before 1628. Early settlers seem to have been assigned land about 1626, though early records are scant.
In 1632, Hatherly returned to Plymouth and in 1633 the Colony Court ordered that a tract of land be set aside at Satuit that extended from the high water mark of Satuit brook three miles into the woods. The tract was granted to James Shirley, John Beauchamp, Richard Andrews, and Timothy Hatherly in 1637. Before 1646, Hatherly had bought out the others and had formed a stock company who called themselves the "Conihasset Partners".
In 1654 and 1656, other grants were added to the original one, the resulting territory extended to Hanover and Rockland. These grants were known as the Conihasset Grants.
The first village was laid out in 1633 along Kent Street. The houses were built of logs, the roofs being thatched. A meeting house was also built in 1633 on what is known as Meeting-house Lane, leading off Kent Street. By the time Rev. John Lothrop arrived in Septmber of 1633, 9 houses had been built; by 1637 there were a total of 51.
Scituate was a part of the Plymouth Colony and was first mentioned there in William Bradford's writings about 1634; the northern border was part of the dividing line between the Plymouth Colony and the Massachusetts Bay Colony.
More About George Sutton and Sarah Tilden:
Marriage: March 13, 1635/36, Scituate, MA.
Children of George Sutton and Sarah Tilden are:
- +William Sutton, b. Abt. 1641, Scituate, MA, d. April 28, 1718, Piscataway, NJ.